We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Laya Safari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laya Safari
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great place to stay! Brand new hotel, yes it is pricey but well worth it. Not the best food selection but I would surely go there again.
Some improvement is needed in guest services but other attributes surely make up for it.

Room Tip: All of them are ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raji G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    118
    37
    9
    8
See reviews for
137
154
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place is Army owned and I was made to feel like an enlisted man, not a paying guest! Laya was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Sri Lanka and it was the worst. Reason: poor service (though housekeeping made a genuine attempt) and extremely poor management response to issues we faced. These included: water tank flooding our room, bell boy calling at 8:45am to ask when our bags would need picking up (checkout is noon!), no hot water at 9am, and no apology from management for any of the above and no offer from them of any sort of compensation/wine bottle etc. I actually feel as though it is the owners who are to blame - they have put ill trained staff in charge of a luxury property. The hotel location for Yala Park is very good, but it is a 200m walk to the beach - while the beach is empty and striking, it is very rough, steep,has a strong undertow and one cannot swim in the ocean. While the hotel architetcture is modern, vaguely Indonesian, and the view from the pool is sweeping - the desing and concept is not finished. Cold stares and monosyllabic responses were all we got from Management. This place would be worth the money and I would recommend it if service, management attitude and the food were better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Laya is right on the ocean and just 15 mins from the Yala game park. It's an ideal base for a a few days combining lounging by the beach and pool and a game drive.
The rooms are large and comfortable and all have a porch or balcony overlooking the ocean, ideal for relaxing with a cold beer and watching the sun go down. All have AC.

The pool is a good sized infinity pool and is right on the ocean.

The only negative was the over ambitious buffet dinner one night. Before you opt for the buffet, check what they're offering, check the price and insist on looking at the a la carte menu. Service was good and staff were friendly.
The hotel is not full so try to get a lower price when booking. Ceylon Tours claim they can get special rates so try booking through them.

Room Tip: First floor is best - you can just walk out from the back porch onto the beach or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice,beautiful and quiet place
Absolutely friendly staff.
Rooms are clean and very
Comfortable with great view.the food
Was great and delicious.buffet they
Provided was excellent .
Finally I would like to
Say great experience in yala @ Laya

Stayed December 2556
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaminda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nothing is good about this place apart from the deserted beach. Its very new but of a poor standard. It’s amazing what a good photo shoot can produce for the web and advertisements. The room rate we were charged was extremely expensive for what we got. We initially checked in for 3 nights but checked out after the first and left by 9am.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Given its remote location the hotel operates very efficiently.My wife and I stayed three nights and enjoyed it very much. The food was very good and promptly served. The staff were always polite and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshwindbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having stayed at a wide range of 4 and 5 star hotels in Sri Lanka including Maalu Maalu and Hesitance Kandalama we were extremely impressed with our stay at Laya Safari. Arrival was pleasant although more of a fuss could be made of the guest we were then show to our room past the beautiful pool we were in a top cabin which has a room upstairs although we had to ask to use this which was confusing! The room was lovely with a league bathroom and sitting area although could do with an interior designer to improve the soft furnishings they need to also look into minting the glass with the salt spray! All the staff at Laya Safari were extremely helpful especially the restaurant manager who made us feel extra special each night and the pool attendant! Although some of the staff do not speak great English they always were extra helpful an ensured if something was wrong and check with their manager. The hotel is beautiful and the pool is excellent although a bar should be added on the lower floor on the veranda as its a nice shaded area with sofas! The food was excellent although sometimes they tried to offer to much which meant that many things did not go together which was a shame as the chef was excellent! Overall we had an excellent stay at Laya Safari and four weeks on I'm still dreaming about the hotel and would do anything to be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eders96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
7.3 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
11.0 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 3 in Katagamuwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Uga Chena Huts
Uga Chena Huts
#6 of 36 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laya Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laya Safari

Property: Laya Safari
Address: Palatupana, Yala National Park 90329, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laya Safari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the gently undulating sand dunes bordering Yala which is the second largest National Park, and, on the threshold of the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean, Laya Safari beckons you to a memorable stay enjoying mesmerizing vistas all around you. Yala National Park, designated as a wild life sanctuary in 1938, covers a vast area of 979 Sq. Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laya Safari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing