We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our Sri Lanka Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Sri Lanka Trip”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We did a fair share of travelling around Sri Lanka in January. This was the highlight of our trip.
The food was fantastic and the guides / managers were worth every penny we spent. Indyka was our host and he was exceptional. His passion for the wild is second to none. The owners of this campsite are passionate photographers/wildlife enthusiasts as well and showed us some of their pictures which were unbelievable. They were there as well and it was great to meet them.

The tents are big and I was initially worried about camping. My husband convinced me to try this out and I am so glad I did. Big comfortable bed and the loo's were great. That was my biggest concern. It has a flush and unlike the chemical toilets we used when travelling in India, this is an actual toilet. Showers were amazing. Open to the sky with great high pressure.

The fans at night helped us fall asleep and the bonfire was also fantastic. Get them to have it for you if you are going to camp. Its an amazing experience. Great stories over some wine and the tasty snacks before dinner was something we will remember for a lifetime.

I would recommend these guys any day. Their staff at camp went out of their way to do anything we requested and their whole team has a passion that far exceeds any lodge/campsite we have stayed at before.

We saw 2 leopards in our 2 night stay and many elephants, birds, crocodiles, deer, peacock and wild pigs. We even saw some Jackals. It was a great trip and we hope to come back soon to go after the only animal we couldn't see, the bear !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krm194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeopardTrails, Owner at Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is very important to us And we take your comments very seriously in order to improve the experience we provide at Leopard Trails.

We are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay at Leopard Trails and that it was the highlight of your trip to Sri Lanka. We understand that the quality of guiding enhances the experience of any safari and we are happy that Indika was able to exceed your expectations in guiding you.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed and felt comfortable in our spacious tents with flush toilets and al-fresco showers. An industrial fan inside each tent is always a bonus for extra comfort during your nights at Leopard Trails especially during the dry season. Most guests appreciate and give great feedback on their experience around the bon-fire with the guides hosting them at camp after an afternoon safari.

It was a great pleasure hosting you at camp and we look forward in welcoming you to Leopard Trails in the future.

Best Regards
Leopard Trails Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    24
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
112
187
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Amazing.Bettter then the safari camp I stayed at in South africa and much better value.from the cold towel and welcome drink, meals and service was perfect.what really made the difference was Aaron the camp manager we were also lucky to have him as guide in the Park.He had such a knowledge of the wildlife and made it so special.The evening get together was also so special due to his attention to all the guest and made everyone feel special.He is such a credit.I would recommend it to anyone that want to have a special and unique experience.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robc469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassjo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent one night with Another couple in the beginning of Feb. The staff were very proffesional both in the camp and the guides on the safari. The tents and beds were very comfortable. The food were excellent. the highlights for us was the campfire in the night. The only thing we missed was the leopard, bad luck there

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The tents are set up on a scrubby bit of land a long way from Yala National Park. There are houses nearby and in fact a party in one of them kept us awake nearly all night, which was not what we expected. The staff is helpful and sociable and we had a very good time in the evenings round the camp fire. Yala itself is absolutely beautiful and we saw amazing wildlife, including leopards. If the cost of this was $400 a night I would recommend it but at $800 a night I really do feel it was a complete rip off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephineBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeopardTrails, Owner at Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leopard Trails.

The first thing we do when we receive a trip advisor review is to try and establish the name of the client and when they stayed with us. We have had one client from Bristol UK during the month of February but by a different name. We are also confused as to why we did not hear about your apparent dissatisfaction with regards to location or pricing whilst you were at camp. In any case it is important that we respond to this review with relevant facts.

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team takes your feedback very seriously in an attempt to constantly refine and improve the Leopard Trails experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the evenings around the campfire and that you find the guides to be helpful and sociable. This seems to constantly appear in our reviews. We also noted that you rated our service as 5 stars out of 5.

Now to directly address the issues you have mentioned which resulted in the experience being below your expectations.

Location of the camp
Unfortunately camps are not allowed inside of Yala National Park due to a government regulation that has been in place for over a year now and we would be keen to know why you were lead to believe that the camp was located inside the park. In fact all the reviews that Leopard Trails has on this trip advisor page are guests that have stayed outside the park on this very same property with the same equipment and facilities and several excellent reviews state the fact that the camp is located outside. We are based on a lake front property offering the best possible wilderness experience (with no houses within view) on the border of Yala National Park with the rear boundary itself being forest department land and as such you cannot legally get any closer to the national park.

With regards to our pricing, we believe there are four key factors that differentiate us:

1) All inclusive packages
We sell all inclusive packages which include accommodation, all three meals, alcoholic beverages (beer, wine and spirits), two safaris a day in custom Toyota vehicles with trained guides and hosts, drinks at camp (tea, coffee, juices and soft drinks), snacks and drinks on game drives, and all taxes and service charge.

2) Exclusive intimate atmosphere
Our pricing reflects the above and also the fact that we are an exclusive property with just 6 tents and an intimate atmosphere where one can really get to interact with our guides and other guests should you choose to do so. We have a ratio of one guide/host for every two tents.

3) Guiding
We believe that any safari experience is greatly enhanced by top quality guiding. The guides at Leopard Trails are employed for their knowledge of Sri Lanka's jungles and their ability to communicate with people from all over the world. These individuals are both passionate and qualified in their field. Apart from conducting informative game drives, the ranger also acts as a host within camp, discreetly reading the needs of our guests whilst at the same time sharing stories and knowledge. We believe that our game rangers play a massive role in enhancing the guest experience at Leopard Trails and we continue to see this in feedback forms and trip advisor reviews.

4) Tailor-made
Our experience is also tailor made to suit our guests - before arrival all guests are sent a questionnaire to check on their preferences with regards to food, alcoholic beverages, preferred wildlife, interest in wildlife photography, previous camping experience, allergies and several other aspects.

We cannot provide this experience at the price you have stated and we also accept that this experience is not for everyone. At the 400 dollar price point you are better off staying at a large hotel but you will not have an all inclusive package, an intimate atmosphere, nor will you have English speaking guides and hosts in your safari vehicle and other authentic experiences that camping offers.

We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations with regards to the location of the camp and the pricing and we respect your opinion. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Sri Lanka.

Kind Regards,
Leopard Trails team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I visited Leopard Trails in December and I have to say it is one of the most memorable experiences during my holiday in Sri Lanka. The two guides Jermone and Aran, kept us entertained with throughout the night. They are very hospitable and make you feel at home. The Sri Lankan food was very tasty, especially the prawn curry! Aran was quite keen ensure we spotted at least one leopard during our first safari and due to his expert trekking skills we managed to sight two leopard cubs! The tents are very comfortable and the open air shower is a great experience. This place is definitely worth a visit if your are on holiday in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoli_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Arron was our safari guide and was so knowledgeable and passionate. We all had a giggle around the camp fire at night. The few numbers of tents make the dinner and pre dinner drinks feel as if you are with friends rather than just people staying at the same hotel. Tents are huge and comfortable. Piers was a little concerned about bugs but was reassured by Arron and Avi. Whether you are lucky enough or not to see a leopard, this is irrelevant as so much other wildlife is to be seen, and with Arron's enthusiasm infecting us all you are buzzing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sianjones100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeopardTrails, Owner at Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leopard Trails!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team takes your feedback very seriously in an attempt to constantly refine and improve the Leopard Trails experience.

Glad to hear that you appreciated Arran's enthusiasm and knowledge and that you found the tents both comfortable and spacious. Indeed dinner and pre dinner drinks is often the best part of the day at Leopard Trails!

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future.

Cheers
Leopard Trails team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the good. The staff are amazing. Jerome especially, so knowledgable and interesting on the trails. Food really amazing, best food in srilanka. Accomm is nice and clean. I can't fault this place in terms of service and comfort but I think it's really expensive for the standard. No hot water, fairly average cramped trucks. I would suggest no more than 2 nights. Park is fairly bland, so many jeeps all competing for prime position it's really annoying. I loved Yala but surprised that this was luxury. Recommend negotiation because very expensive for standard.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeopardTrails, Owner at Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leopard Trails!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team takes your feedback very seriously in an attempt to constantly refine and improve the Leopard Trails experience.

Glad to hear that you loved the food! This seems to constantly appear in our reviews and we have noted to not change a thing when it comes to the menu! We noted that you found the accommodation to be clean and the service to be good. We believe that any safari experience is greatly enhanced by top quality guiding and we are pleased that Jerome delivered on this front.

We also thank you for your feedback with regards to pricing. We checked up and noted that you were a single traveler. The pricing is not ideal for single travelers but unfortunately we maintain this rate for single travelers due to the small number of rooms/tents that we have available. We appreciate your feedback with regards to hot water. We are currently in the process of installing a hot water system and this will be done on the next available day where we do not have guests. It is unfortunate that the safari vehicle did not meet your expectations. We use brand new Toyota Hilux's for our safaris due to quiet engine noise and the reliability that Toyota trucks are known for. Through our experience and from feedback forms we find this to be one of the best vehicles for safaris.

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Cheers
Leopard Trails team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 3 in Katagamuwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
#4 of 36 in Yala National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yala Safari Camping
Yala Safari Camping
#3 of 36 in Yala National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
10.0 mi away
Laya Safari
Laya Safari
#6 of 36 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka

Property: Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka
Address: Yala National Park | Yala, Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leopard Trails bespoke tented safaris redefine the original tented safari with convenient modern-day amenities, all the while staying true to the romantic ambiance of a by-gone British colonial era filled with adventure. Tented Safaris is the most authentic form of safari, a true immersion into the sights and sounds of the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing