We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice camp but no game!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very nice camp but no game!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I feel sorry to write only an average review. The camp experience, rangers and facilities are great, but the actual game safari is a real let down because of the scarcity of game and it is hard to spot interesting animals.

The tents are large and comfortable. There is a rudimentary bathroom including a shower for each tent ( cold water only though!). The food is really good and well done to the cook who manages to pull this off in the middle of the jungle. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful. Rangers are great, very knowledgeable about the jungle, incredibly nice and helpful. They really went over the top to ensure we would have a good experience. The evenings were fun with a bonfire and nicely presented dinner.
The 4x4 cars are well equipped and there are always drinks on board.

However the reserve itself is very disappointing. It is small with not enough game and there are too many cars driving around. Maybe it was worse because of the Christmas period but still I have never experienced this in Africa. It is very rare to see a leopard, and therefore it is misleading to call it a leopard safari. We saw one once for a few seconds over our two day safari and most people in the camp never saw one. It is possible to see elephants from time to time, and otherwise it is mostly about birds, wild boar, deer, crocodiles and monkeys. There is little diversity. Sometimes we drove for an hour without seeing anything apart from deer and birds.
As soon as one spots something of interest, eg an elephant, you immediately have eight cars speeding to the area and the animal goes away. It was tedious to wake up so early in the morning and see nothing. This is a nature reserve with beautiful birds rather than a game reserve, and the fact that there are too many people allowed at any point in time in the reserve clearly scares away the animals - given the density of trees and plants it is hard to see anything unless animals are close to the road, and they tend to keep away from it, probably because of the constant traffic of cars.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cec55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    24
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
110
186
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

As first time visitors to the Yala National Park, Leopard Trails provided an unforgettable experience. The spacious tents (including en-suite facilities) provided all the luxuries whilst keeping with the concept of outdoor camping. The food was also incredible with each meal offering the best of Sri Lankan cuisine. True to the hotel name, we were fortunate and privileged to view 5 leopards in one sighting (male, female and 3 cubs). Thanks to the knowledge of the Leopard Trails ranger (ask for Arran), we witnessed these amazing creatures for 45 min as they ate and played with each other. The importance of such knowledge cannot be understated since it is a critical element in ensuring you have a truly memorable time at Yala. We highly recommend Leopard Trails for an all-round holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our stay with Leopard Trails in Yala was without doubt the most amazing part of our trip to Sri Lanka.

Upon arrival you are greeted by the team, who are eagre to look after your every desire while at the camp. You are led to your spacious and very nicely acommodated tent, where you will be sleeping during the course of your trip. The tents are beautiful, large canvas structures but furnished with big double beds. It is the perfect combination of luxury and ruggedness, all of your home comforts but you still feel like you are in an outdoor setting.

The safaris were simply incredible, with the range of wildlife striking. On our trips we saw leopards, buffalo, boar, kingfisher, stalks, owls, eagles, crocodiles, lizards and the ubiquitous deer. The safaris are run by the amazing ranger Arran, whose passion for his work and knowledge of the local wildlife is second to none. After the day's safari you can retire to the camp, where the evenings bring a campfire and a mobile bar for those who might like a relaxing gin and tonic at the end of an exciting day.

The food at the camp was also incredible. Your chef Pani will cook a wide range of delicious traditional curries and Sri Lankan meals (although suitably mild for western tastes as appropriate). The food is restaurant quality every meal, and amongst the best we ate in Sri Lanka.

I cannot recommend this experience more highly. I would commend it to families, couples, solo travellers, or anyone with a keen sense of adventure.

Thank you again Leopard Trails for a fantastic time in Yala!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Leopard Trails Camp was a lovely experience with roomy tents including wonderful amenities such as ensuite facilities, powerful fan for making the hot afternoons and warm evenings comfortable, and in-tent 24 hour electrical service. Lots of yummy food included both traditional Sri Lankan and international dishes. Staff was outstanding with excellent service. The Safaris provided a wide range of animal viewing with our knowledgable expert naturalist guide, Aaron. OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeopardTrails, Owner at Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Nancy,

Greetings from Leopard Trails!

Thank you for your kind words and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! It is good to note that you enjoyed the food, service, safaris as well as the facilities. We have conveyed your feedback to Arran as well and he sends his regards! It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Thanking you,
Leopard Trails team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our stay at Leopard trails was an unforgettable experience. Being greeted with refreshing cold towels and fresh fruit juice after every national park visit, the delicious food, the friendly and knowledgeable staff and the comfortable and spacious tents made for a truly luxurious experience in the wild!

One of the highlights of our stay was the open bar by a campfire at leopard trails. Gazing up at the stars, drink in hand, discussing the day’s events with the in house naturalists Indika , Jerome, Aaron and the other guests was a relaxing way to end the day.

We also enjoyed learning from Aaron about the various stars and constellations in the night sky. Jerome’s insight in to tracking of animals and humans was fascinating. Reshan (my huband) particularly enjoyed starting a fire, with Jerome’s help, using nothing but two rocks and some char cloth!

Although we were initially concerned about the heat at mid-day, the thatched roof of the dining area and cold beers together with the amazing fan in the room/tent made it barely noticeable.

Thanks leopard trails for your hospitality and we would love to stay with you again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinushaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

This was the highlight of our trip! From the moment we arrived and got a warm welcome with hand towels and a delicious welcome drink, to the glamping style tents (with king size bed, private toilet and outdoor shower) to the amazing staff. We couldn't have asked for more.

We were lucky enough to stay for 2 nights which gave us 4 safaris over the 2 days (2 in the early morning and 2 in the afternoon), we learnt so much about the wildlife in Sri Lanka. This was, of course, not just because we saw some gorgeous and amazing animals but because of Indiga and Jerome. They are wonderful safari experts, they were so into it and really making their best to spot the ever elusive leopard. Always looking for signs, always in a good mood and always willing to share their wealth of knowledge. We saw 2 leopards, crocodiles, wild boards, jackals, deer, peacocks, jungle fowls, eagles, elephants and even a viper.

The other thing that was awesome (some of the best we had in Sri Lanka!) was the food. The chef, Shanta, was outstanding, huge admiration to him for preparing scrumptious meals in a camping setting- they were restaurant quality. Great breakfasts, great lunches and great dinners.

It was also so nice to wrap up the day of exciting sightings in the evening by the fire, with a nice drink before dinner, talking about the experience.

It seems like everyone in the camp works as a team and it shows. I can't recommend this place enough, if you are an animal lover and want to meet interesting people in your travels, just do it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabycalvehider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeopardTrails, Owner at Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Gaby,

Greetings from Leopard Trails!

"This was the highlight of our trip" - these are the words we love to hear from any guest that comes to Leopard Trails! Thank you for taking the time to leave an extensive well thought out review. Your feedback has been conveyed to Indika, Jerome, and Shantha ! We did hear about your viper sighting - very lucky indeed! It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Cheers
Leopard Trails team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was our first camping experience and it was completely spot on... The Team at Leopard Trails were a blend of thourough professionals and true friends. We discovered Yala through the eyes Indy ( Dr Indiana Jones) , Jerome (Jerry) , it was a beautiful experience and propbably the best sighting of an alfa male leopard for 12-13 mins. Indy and Jerry are not only spotters but also track various species around the park. I would highly recomend Leopard Trails to all those who seek a luxirious camping experience with nature loving people. Folks who are looking for a hollywood angle also have another nature love in the form of Aron ( Leonardo Di Caprio ), he and Ishaan had our 4 year old daughter smiling for entire duration of our stay.... Leopard Trails we will be back for sure !!!!

Room Tip: There are only 4-5 tents, its extremely private so book in advance as they seem to be full prety muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vineet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeopardTrails, Owner at Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write our funniest review to date! We have now started fondly referring to the three gentlemen at camp by the names you have created! We are glad that they guided and hosted you in a professional manner and yet connected with your group as if they were friends. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again sometime in the near future!

Thanking you
Leopard Trails team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 3 in Katagamuwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
#3 of 36 in Yala National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yala Safari Camping
Yala Safari Camping
#4 of 36 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
10.0 mi away
Laya Safari
Laya Safari
#5 of 36 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka

Property: Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka
Address: Yala National Park | Yala, Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leopard Trails bespoke tented safaris redefine the original tented safari with convenient modern-day amenities, all the while staying true to the romantic ambiance of a by-gone British colonial era filled with adventure. Tented Safaris is the most authentic form of safari, a true immersion into the sights and sounds of the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing