We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mighty jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Leapard Trails
A must go place for those who don’t like to camp but like to experience what its like to camp.
Had a wonderful long weekend at the camp but unfortunately only managed to get a glimpse of one leopard and one of the oldest I was told.
The camp itself is very picturesque and the rooms were clean and tidy at all times. Has a very nice lounge set up and had a nice bonfire at night as well.
A definite has to visit if you are planning on going on a safari a wonderful experience.
Food was excellent and a very comfortable stay.
Note if it’s a long weekend suggest you don’t go as there are way too many jeeps in the park and hardly get to see animals as its too noisy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny121983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 447 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at Leopard Trails with some friends last month and it was awesome! The camp was well planned and laid out. You really are in the middle of the jungle and appreciate all the sights and sounds that go along with a camping experience. The tents were very spacious and comfortable and the only campsite I've stayed at where there is a fully functioning toilet inside. The staff were friendly, helpful and always at our service. The food was amazing and was always different and tasty for the 2 days that we stayed there. We also did the safari rounds in the park and managed to spot 'Hamu' (the leopard on the Leopard Trails logo) and various other wildlife on our first round. Leopard Trails is definitely unique in its presentation and delivers on the luxury camping tagline!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gautam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went to Leopard trails with a couple of friends.
Location:-The location is ideal and the cleanliness of the place great. I'm not much of a "roughing out" type so the standard of the rooms was ideal. Additionally we also felt quite "outdoors" because of the excellent location. (Early in the morning you hear all sorts of wildlife)
Food:- The food at the site was excellent. Nice selection and excellent flavor.
Naturalist:- The naturalist at the site was great, excellent knowledge of the park and wildlife in general. His enthusiasm was contagious!

All in all excellent experience! Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sohan_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited Leopard Trails in late January and I'd say it was the highlight of our 2 week Sri Lanka Trip. It was our first safari and were so impressed with with our english speaking guide Aaron who was a wealth of knowledge pointing out all creatures great and small and most importantly finding the leopards!! The luxury camp was nothing short of amazing with the lounge and camp fire a great way to swap photos and stories after the dusk safari. The Sri Lankan food was sensational, but it was Panni's local knowledge on what we were eating and how to eat it that set the experience apart!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at Leopard Trails just after a busy Christmas and New Year Season. The campsite was so relaxing and a great getaway. The food was exceptional at camp and Pani the general manager and his staff did an excellent job to make sure we got everything we wanted. We had a great time exchanging stories around the campfire at night.

The tents were extremely comfortable with fans, carpets and queen size beds. The showers also had great pressure and we had some great sightings while on safari of Leopard, Elephant and lots of various species of birds.

I will return soon to Camp and I would most certainly recommend it to anyone heading to Yala on Safari.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajahn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Leopard trails has been the highlight of our trip in Sri Lanka (I was traveling with two friends). Unfortunately we were only able to stay stay one night, and the weather was a bit rainy, but we did make the most of it.
Besides the safari in itself at Yala Park (we did an evening tour on the first day and an early morning tour on the second day), in which we were lucky enough to spot many leopards, elephants, crocodiles - among others - we mostly enjoyed the very cozy atmosphere in the camp: outstanding accommodation and facilities in the tents, super comfortable common lounge area, delicious food, and amazing standard of the service. Above all, we very much appreciated the very warm welcoming by our hosts (thank you Amrith, Radheesh, and Pani and his team), their company in the camp, and the the good ambience that was created with the rest of the group staying in the camp. We also enjoyed having Radheesh in our jeep during the first safari tour, and his sharing of the knowledge on Yala's wild animals.
I highly recommend staying here to anyone keen on the outdoors, and this this without any doubt the best safari camp you can find within the Yala area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Must admit we were quite apprehensive about staying in a "tent"! But that was all forgotten the moment we arrived at Leopard Trails... amazingly cosy place with all the amenities that you would expect in a star grade hotel. Above all the staff were amazing. They couldn't do more to make our stay comfortable. The GM Pani was very, very helpful and humble.

Food was very, very tasty with mainly locally grown Sri Lankan veg and meat.

We will definitely go back there.

Room Tip: One type but excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,563 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,679 reviews
9.3 mi away
Uga Chena Huts
Uga Chena Huts
#3 of 38 in Yala National Park
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Yala Safari Camping
Yala Safari Camping
#4 of 38 in Yala National Park
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
#6 of 38 in Yala National Park
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 5 in Katagamuwa
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka

Address: Yala National Park | Yala, Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range: $59 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leopard Trails bespoke tented safaris redefine the original tented safari with convenient modern-day amenities, all the while staying true to the romantic ambiance of a by-gone British colonial era filled with adventure. Tented Safaris is the most authentic form of safari, a true immersion into the sights and sounds of the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing