We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Yala Village

Yala Village
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yala Village
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas and enjoyed our stay. We had a bungalow quite far from the main reception area we were warned as it was dark to call if ŵe needed to be guided back to the restaurant, we were stupid and decided we could walk quite well on our own thanks. After setting off and running smack into an elephant we made our way back to our room quickly and called for a guide.
Food was mediocre but the views are spectacular and it's a great base from which to view the park. We were not happy the bars were not open on Christmas Day as it was a full moon or something, but we enjoyed our stay here. Seeing 2 leopards on Christmas Day was the icing on the cake

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobsterlover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great place.Bungalows are lovely.Well fitted out. You can sit out in the day if not to hot,and in the evening if the lights are off or get bitten. The sea is 2 minutes away and Monkeys are on the doorstep. The pool is good with view of water buffalo wallowing. The staff are great and the food is lovely. Once it gets dark you have to phone reception to get someone to walk you to the bar and restaurant and back in case of stray animals!!! Perfect place to start your safari from.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Beautifully designed resort like hotel in the middle of the Yala National Park. Nicely designed swimming pool, independent cottages with sit outs. But the sit outs can not be used for the purpose because of insects, as the place is in the middle of the jungle. The restaurant on the 1st floor is well designed. Lovely view of the surroundings till the point you can see the Indian Ocean from the terrace. The feel of jungle at night if you come out from the cottage, you can see rabbits, wild bores etc. roaming outside your cottage.

Room Tip: A cottage little far from the reception is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hetalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 5 in Katagamuwa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laya Safari
Laya Safari
#5 of 45 in Yala National Park
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uga Chena Huts
Uga Chena Huts
#3 of 45 in Yala National Park
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yala Safari Camping
Yala Safari Camping
#4 of 45 in Yala National Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yala Village

Address: Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range: $264 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Yala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing