We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
Nearby Hotels
Laya Safari(Palatupana)(Great Value!)
$121
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Yala(Palatupana)
$165
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wild Trails - Yala(Yala National Park)
$186
$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cadjan Wild(Yala National Park)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Big Game Camp(Katagamuwa)(Great Value!)
$89
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$655
$636
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yala Safari Camping(Yala National Park)
$639
$473
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ruhunu Safari Camping(Yala National Park)
$680
$506
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka(Yala National Park)
$950
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
226
50
8
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
50
8
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco teammahoora teamsri lankagreat experiencesloth bearnaturalist guidedouble bedstayed for one nighttwo nightsour honeymoongame drivesspot animalstoilet and showersense of humourmorning and eveningfirst morningpark entrance
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 303 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2016

Mahoora offer a fantastic experience at Yala National Park. Our family stayed in an Elite tent and we were treated to wonderful hospitality by the local team. The seven (yes, 7!) course evening meal was delicious, set adjacent to the watering hole and camp fire. Our two safaris into the park enabled us to see a variety of wildlife, topped off nicely when a sloth bear casually wandered in front of our jeep, to the sheer amazement and delight of the children! The camp is located close to the entrance of Block 1, a far less visited part of the Park. This means you will encounter far fewer other jeeps when on your safari. We had a superb overall experience - thanks Mahoora!

Room Tip: Elite Tents have a lounge area with comfortable sofa seating.
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 741martin1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2016

We spend 3 days in tented safari camp sites at Yala and Udawalawa. First day was at Yala super luxury tented safari camp. We were welcomed at the guest tent with a wet towel and a lime juice. It was an unexpected warmly welcome. The camp manager explained about the schedule for the day. That was a sunny day and all were fed up because of the burning sun shine. But camp manager and our naturalist motivated us to be a part of a great safari experience. Our tent was really good and it has unexpected facilities from a camping site. At the first day we went through the Yala national park to Sithulpawwa temple. We had a perfect evening snack at the temple. They were well prepared with food, drinks and cool water at any time. We got a barbecue dinner around a camp fire and it was another surprise for us. Delicious food with excellent hospitality from the staff. The meals were always served in a perfect manner which were similar like in five star hotels. The camp site is a perfect place to observe night sky as well as to relax ourselves. We went on a night safari and naturalists explained us a lot about animals and their natural habitats. We saw a bear and it was the best moment I had during my journey. In the next day we went on an early morning safari. The staff was really punctual and they wanted to show us many animals within a limited time period. Our driver did a great navigating to show us many animals. Even they were focused on footsteps of animals. Naturalists were very knowledgeable about the wildlife. I give a special thanks to Mahoora crew because they always maintain the camp site within a natural environment. That’s the best way to give wild life experience while protecting and without disturbing the natural habitat of wild life. This is the best wild life experience I ever had. I invite others to join with Mahoora and feel the excellent adventure experience as we had and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piumi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

We are very much appreciative that you have taken time and effort to share your experience in length. Your comments on the setting of the camp , the experience of relaxing with the background of the night , the natural wildreness are worth noting.
Thank you for the appreciation shown for the staff and service including our naturalists.
We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

The camp exceeded expectations. Lovely tent with toilet and shower. Meals and hospitality were top notch. But most importantly, the safari itself was extremely good. We had a "dream team" of driver (very skilled at manoevering over the tracks and approaching animals), guide (with a degree in zoology) and park tracker (30 years experience and x-Ray vision!). The guide, Puwar, was great with the kids too. Evening at camp was delightful with a campfire and candles and marshmallow roasting for the little ones. Magical. It all turned out to be the highlight of our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank suitcaseplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

We are really happy reading your review and to know that your experience overall has been wonderful. We see that you had a great game drive that had a"dream team" as described by you! Our team including Puwar are delighted to see your review and convey their gratitude.. We hope to see you back at Mahoora to savour more !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Just had a fantastic couple of days at Yala. The food, setting , service exceeded the expectations I had of a camping experience in the park. The dinner was wonderful by the fire and the staff were just so very very nice. We were lucky to see a large leopard very close up on our first drive together with elephants and crocodiles to name a few. Loved it !

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. Although brief it says many things about your stay and me together with our staff at the Camp site are truly happy to your days at Mahoora exceeded all your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
62
Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in this fabulous camp site. Food was great, tents were fantastic, staff were attentive, friendly and extremely welcoming. The camp manager made sure we were settled and happy and The Naturist Keith was superb, our 2 boys thought he was amazing! The all day safari was truly magnificent. We will definitely be back next year. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Thank you for sharing your days at Mahoora with other like minded travelers. We are really glad to see that all aspects of your experience has been wonderful. The Camp Manager, the Naturalist are delighted to see that their efforts to make your stay unique has been worthwhile.
We are really glad to know that you would be back look forward to having you with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews