We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the animals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The camp is right on the edge of the park, and you really feel part of it. Relaxed friendly service and good viewing of many different animals and birds. Including one of the elusive leopard!
Comfortable tents with ensuite facilities and good food provided. Excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ge0rgia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive response. We are pleased to know that you noticed our friendly staff and that you were happy with the accommodation and facilities we offered.
You were indeed lucky to sight a leopard during your safari and we are glad that you had an amicable time during your safari excursion with Mahoora.
We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Sri Lanka to spend time in the wilderness and you can rely on the same service standard and hospitality from the Mahoora Team every time you are with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Did a 3D2N stay for 2 people here, we had so much fun. The guide, driver, and staff at the camp are all very friendly and warm people. They seem very sincere, and on the first night (after dinner and safari), we went out to the town together to walk the streets and see the festival together. The guide was very protective of us, and were constantly looking out for us when we were out. The few safari drives we had was also awesome, the driver and guides tried their very best to show us all the animals we wanted to see, we actually managed to see the leopard twice and sloth bear once! The guide was also very knowledgeable about the animals, and told us loads of things about the animals that we saw during the drives. Overall, it was a really good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miishann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share feedback on your experience at Mahoora.
We appreciate your compliments on our staff and service. We always make sure that our guests are kept safe during your stay with us irrespective of whether you are inside or outside the campsite.
Leopard sightings are something that most guests look forward to and you are indeed lucky to have spotted them twice. We are glad that you had a good experience with Mahoora and you have positive feedback to share with others.
We wish you all the best and hope you would be back to stay at our campsites in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We did a 3 day 2 night safari and got to see everything we hoped for on our gane drives - including 3 leopards!! The safari was personal for us and the guides really knowledgeable about all the wildlife and national park.
The campsite was lovely with very comfortaBle tents and amazing food. The service was also very attentive - sometimes too much so! There was plenty of time to relax between drives and we enjoyed lots of local cuisine during our stay at the camp.

Room Tip: the luxury tents are luxury
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cbelles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for this brilliant review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your safari and you were indeed lucky to spot leopards during your drive. At Mahoora we always aim to offer a personalized service to our guests and our guides are well versed on the dynamics of the park settings and wild life – we are happy that you recognized this.

We try our best to make our guests feel comfortable at our campsites but sorry if you felt overwhelmed by the attentiveness of our staff but it was all done in good spirits .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Mahoora used to operate within Yala Park but since the Government's decision to ban such operations, they had not long relocated to a spot just outside the Park about 20 mins drive from the Kataragama Gate when we visited in March 2013. It doesn't have the remote feel which a tented camp should though since it is close to farming habitations. The tents are fine (but can get a bit hot), the staff friendly and provide great service, food generally very good and the guiding probably as good as you will get in Sri Lanka (albeit not up to African accredited standards say). The Kataragama entrance is less busy meaning Mahoora jeeps are of the first into the Park so you can enjoy the relative peace before the general swarms of vehicles arrive. We had a lovely dawn sighting of 2 leopards largely I suspect because it was quiet. I wasn't quite convinced about the location though and it does somewhat undermine the offer of a tented camp outside the Park when there are lots of more comfortable hotel options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share feedback on your experience at Mahoora.

We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the location of our campsite in Yala but as you are already aware we are unable to camp within the park due to regulations and it is beyond our control.

At Mahoora we try our best to keep our guests happy and offer them the best safari experience, and we are glad to know that you found our operations and the safari to be satisfactory.

We wish you all the best and hope you would be back to stay at our campsites in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff made the experience. Tent facilities fairly basic/standard. Although the chief was enthusiastic, meals were the one let down. Everything ran on time. Guide for the park especially good in checking if we had enough time for photos etc! Saw lots of animals.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88BA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Mahoora Camp is the best we have seen in a long time and experienced.Stayed for 2 nights in the camp as a part of our family gathering / holiday in Sri Lanka. In these beautiful eventful days we were treated with utmost care. The food at all times of the day was made with excellent quality. A special thanks to the chef Daya and Camp Manager Thilak who went out if their way to please our diverse group. The camp tents are in standard and Elite category. We had made the correct choice to book Elite. These have all the basics that you are looking in a camp.
In the vicinity of the camp, you can take a bush walk with the naturalist. She showed us a lot of interesting plants, animals and great views of the Yala. One of the most beautiful experiences of the safaris in Yala was having bush lunch in the park. Our driver was excellent and after the 2 wonderful days we became good friends. The highlight was the sighting of a leopard with a kill which is hard to find. This camp is in good hands and it feels like a big family. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielk686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The staff at this camp are wonderful and really do their best to make you comfortable. Our guide/naturalist was very passionate and we saw a large variety of animals including 5 leopards, 2 sloth bear and 2 critically endangered black headed storks. The safari side of the stay was great.

Unfortunately the actual camp was a let down. It simply cannot be compared to luxury camps elsewhere we have stayed. The tent was small, the bathroom tiny and the water was without pressure. The camp has been relocated from its original position within the park so Im not sure if the lack of infrastrucure and facilities is due to this or they just havn't got it right. We felt it was terribly overpriced for what it was.

The food and service was lovely, however the management had emailed us asking what beverages we would like and it was not provided. The waiter Sarath was truely wonderful and made such an effort, it was a shame that the facilities were so basic. Given the high price of the camp, I would have expected much, much more.

Room Tip: Do not expect a 'luxury' camping experience, the facilities are very basic.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UndaraUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have given us on your stay at Mahoora. You have rated your satisfaction in many areas and we are truly glad to hear that. Nevertheless we noticed your satisfaction with regard to accommodation units and the campsite were not high. We believe your expectation perhaps was somewhat different. We provide “mobile tented Safari Camping “ , in respect to the concept of mobile Luxury we provide, hot water , ensuite bathroom with toilet and washing facility in the most comfortable manner. However your feedback is much appreciated as they a help us tremendously to uplift our service quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
11.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,546 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,664 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yala Safari Camping
Yala Safari Camping
#4 of 38 in Yala National Park
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 5 in Katagamuwa
227 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
#5 of 38 in Yala National Park
225 reviews
11.3 mi away
Uga Chena Huts
Uga Chena Huts
#3 of 38 in Yala National Park
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala

Address: | bordering Yala National Park,15-20 minute drive to the park’s ticket office, Yala National Park 90714, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range: $441 - $960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahoora is a holistic experience from your arrival to the departure focused on living in the wild and wildlife viewing and not just an accommodation option only.All the Safaris are included in the price. Mahoora safaris include high quality Safari Jeep / all the entrance and permit fees, sumptuous picnic basket and an unlimited supply of chilled beverages and a Mahoora Naturalist to ensure the best animal sightings and interpretations. All of Mahoora elite tents are set-up just prior to your arrival, and are moved out after your departure, thereby minimizing impact on the environment. This "Pack in and Pack out" aspect combined with all other green initiatives; guarantee to make your stay with Mahoora the one of the most environmentally friendly accommodation in Sri Lanka.Mahoora is an all inclusive stay and Tea / coffee, Tropical Fresh Fruit Juices, Beer & Spirits, Wine, and Snacks all are included in to the price. Mahoora's Fine Dining Executive Chefs will prepare tantalizing meals to suit your personal tastes, whilst adding in a few culinary surprises. This is just one aspect of the unique Mahoora adventure which keeps clients returning to the wild, time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahoora Luxury Tented Safari Camp Yala Hotel Yala National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing