We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ABSOLUTELY STUNNING”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of August Beach House

Lounge upstairs looking out to the garden and over the water.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge upstairs looking out to the garden and over the water.
Master bedroom with all bedrooms having their own ensuite. Inside dining for 12 plus an outdoor table for 14 guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Lounge upstairs looking out to the garden and over the water.
Master bedroom with all bedrooms having their own ensuite.
Inside dining for 12 plus an outdoor table for 14 guests.
Sri Lankan living.
Poolside sun lounges.
Our pool has a large child ledge that makes it easier for little ones.
View from the Master over the beach and garden.
Master bathtub overlooking the garden.
Master vanity.
Second bedroom overlooking the upstairs veranda, garden and ocean.
Second bedroom storage.
Second bedroom ensuite.
Cottage bedroom overlooking garden and beach.
Cottage bed overlooking the garden and pool.
Kids room - two singles which can be converted into one King bed.
Kids room looking out to the ocean with private ensuite.
Artwork by Sydney based artist, Christina McLean.
Books, DVDs and kids toys
Lovely local water lillies..
Friendly staff provides breakfast daily
Upstairs deck looking over the ocean.
Master bed - all King sized with lovely linen throughout.
Local ginger plants.
A great learn to surf and safe swimming beach 365 days a year.
The famous Weligama fishing boats.
Our beautiful beach in the afternoon!
Your private beach steps..
Kitchen and fruit at your disposal.
Living room lounging
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Weligama, Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Halbry1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY STUNNING”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

You could not get a better location in Weligama. Being able to walk straight out the back gate into the ocean made it easy to surf multiple times a day. It's a great beach for beginner surfers. It's also a stone's throw from sunset cocktails at the nearby hotels, or you can even just make them at the house.

The house was amazing with rooms and common areas to cater for large groups. Beds were comfy too.

The staff are super friendly and always happy to help. They helped us book a safari tour which turned out great. Our stay for a week flew by, I could have easily stayed longer.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Phillip...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Beach Holiday”
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I travelled to SL in November last year, and had a fantastic time at The Boathouse on Weligama Bay. The house is well designed for an extended family (we had my wife's parents with us who had the private cottage suite), with numerous sitting areas but also spacious, bedrooms and ensuites.
We had planned to do a lot more site seeing around the area, but ended up staying at the house most of the holiday - just what we needed in terms of reconnecting and not having a time agenda. The staff were accommodating and organised dinners for us with short notice, and we sat on the beach or deck for sundowners every day. Perfect.

Thanks again for having us - we really enjoyed this trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W
Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Dream holiday”
Reviewed March 26, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

A beautiful house in a fantastic location. From my initial enquiry through to my departure the team at the Boathouse couldn’t have done any more to make this holiday perfect. Luxury galore! A huge thanks for making everything so easy, fun and memorable. Planning our return already

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brionylil...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Breathtaking house in great location”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2017

My family and I stayed in the boat house for just under two weeks, the house itself was incredibly spacious and I loved the décor! I wasn't sure what to expect before coming about the location but the beach is literally on the door step -which was so special and also incredibly convenient as we spent most of our days on the beach surfing (the waves were actually perfect for my beginner level). Overall there was a really chilled atmosphere and I loved the food! - the staff were lovely and breakfasts were amazing everything so fresh and locally sourced -so much fruit and freshly baked bread and tea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattgencu...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular holiday house”
Reviewed March 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great holiday at The Boathouse. Michelle was very easy to communicate with and the staff were lovely. Location is excellent and we surfed constantly. Alternated between Neeta'S great curries in and dining out. Would highly recommend as a holiday rental location and experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2018
Thanks Matt, we hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirst_9
Somerset, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2017

We have stayed in many villas over the years, preferring the space and ease of self catering with a large family. The Boathouse was unique. A beautiful villa with fantastic staff - Sunny is the most amazing host and really made our holiday. Michelle was brilliant from the start answering all our queries and sending us excellent information about the area. We did struggle with the noise of the road to begin with but very quickly got used to it. Please do not let it put you off! If you want to be truly self catering you may struggle with lack of equipment - my advise to you is not bother and ask the staff to prepare meals for you! They prepared fabulous food very cheaply - even taking into account my son's rather fussy French girlfriend who was really not fond of curry! Very often they prepared 2 dishes to cater for all our needs. Breakfast - I am still missing those....
W15 was an easy walk up the beach in an evening, and an easy stagger back after cocktails! Hangtime Hostel does a fantastic coffee and cake, cheap meals with a brilliant view. The market was brilliant, noisy and chaotic. We took the train to numerous places - ridiculously cheap and definitely an experience! The boys spent a lot of time surfing. Ask the staff to organise a safari trip for you - it is worth getting up especially early (4am in our case) just to miss the traffic. Best advise I can give you is to shut your eyes and think of something else if you are in a car/bus/tuktuk. I think that if there are any rules regarding which side of the road you travel on and at what speed, everyone has forgotten them! Would I go back? Definitely! Early morning walks on the beach, helping the fisherman launch their boats, fabulous weather - even the torrential rain! Lightening storms in the evenings whilst sat on the beach drinking cocktails and eating seafood BBQ. Even the local stray dogs got pampered by my daughter - complete animal lover who ended up giving several shampoos in the sea and bought dog food for a select few! Thank you Michelle. We loved it. Sorry it has taken this long to write a review!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oskarsson...
Varberg, Sweden
1 review
“Wonderful house just at the beach”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a lovely stay in the Boat House, welligama.
10 days of full luxury of having a beautiful house and a really nice garden just to ourself. Just a walk out the gate and we were on the beach. Really nice staff who will take care of you. Great breakfast. One evening we asked the staff to make us a rice and curry, and it was excellent!
Definitely a perfect place to stay when in Sri Lanka!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing