We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
our beautiful beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
our beautiful beach
Front yard and beach
The Boathouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
our beautiful beach
Front yard and beach
The Boathouse
Lovely outdoor bathroom off the 4th bedroom
Kitchen dining room
Dining - seats 12 comfortably
Kitchen with fruit platter
Friendly staff provides breakfast daily
Coffee machine!
Upstairs living room.
Upstairs deck looking over the ocean
King beds with imported linen.
Master with ensuite
Master bathroom ensuite
Bathing with a view..
Second bedroom w ensuite and king size bed
Second bedroom
My attempt at macrame..
Cottage King size bed
Outdoor bathroom with local ginger.
Fourth bedroom - 2 singles or converts to 1 King bed
Fourth bathroom
Lounges on the garden patio
A great learn to surf and safe swimming beach
Covered walkway to the cottage.
Books, DVDs and kids toys
Our very pretty kitchen
The famous Weligama fishing boats.
Soap imported from Noosa Australia!
Our front gates.
Your private beach steps..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Weligama, Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Sam W
Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Dream holiday”
Reviewed March 26, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

A beautiful house in a fantastic location. From my initial enquiry through to my departure the team at the Boathouse couldn’t have done any more to make this holiday perfect. Luxury galore! A huge thanks for making everything so easy, fun and memorable. Planning our return already

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brionylil...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Breathtaking house in great location”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2017

My family and I stayed in the boat house for just under two weeks, the house itself was incredibly spacious and I loved the décor! I wasn't sure what to expect before coming about the location but the beach is literally on the door step -which was so special and also incredibly convenient as we spent most of our days on the beach surfing (the waves were actually perfect for my beginner level). Overall there was a really chilled atmosphere and I loved the food! - the staff were lovely and breakfasts were amazing everything so fresh and locally sourced -so much fruit and freshly baked bread and tea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattgencu...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular holiday house”
Reviewed March 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great holiday at The Boathouse. Michelle was very easy to communicate with and the staff were lovely. Location is excellent and we surfed constantly. Alternated between Neeta'S great curries in and dining out. Would highly recommend as a holiday rental location and experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2018
Thanks Matt, we hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirst_9
Somerset, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2017

We have stayed in many villas over the years, preferring the space and ease of self catering with a large family. The Boathouse was unique. A beautiful villa with fantastic staff - Sunny is the most amazing host and really made our holiday. Michelle was brilliant from the start answering all our queries and sending us excellent information about the area. We did struggle with the noise of the road to begin with but very quickly got used to it. Please do not let it put you off! If you want to be truly self catering you may struggle with lack of equipment - my advise to you is not bother and ask the staff to prepare meals for you! They prepared fabulous food very cheaply - even taking into account my son's rather fussy French girlfriend who was really not fond of curry! Very often they prepared 2 dishes to cater for all our needs. Breakfast - I am still missing those....
W15 was an easy walk up the beach in an evening, and an easy stagger back after cocktails! Hangtime Hostel does a fantastic coffee and cake, cheap meals with a brilliant view. The market was brilliant, noisy and chaotic. We took the train to numerous places - ridiculously cheap and definitely an experience! The boys spent a lot of time surfing. Ask the staff to organise a safari trip for you - it is worth getting up especially early (4am in our case) just to miss the traffic. Best advise I can give you is to shut your eyes and think of something else if you are in a car/bus/tuktuk. I think that if there are any rules regarding which side of the road you travel on and at what speed, everyone has forgotten them! Would I go back? Definitely! Early morning walks on the beach, helping the fisherman launch their boats, fabulous weather - even the torrential rain! Lightening storms in the evenings whilst sat on the beach drinking cocktails and eating seafood BBQ. Even the local stray dogs got pampered by my daughter - complete animal lover who ended up giving several shampoos in the sea and bought dog food for a select few! Thank you Michelle. We loved it. Sorry it has taken this long to write a review!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oskarsson...
Varberg, Sweden
1 review
“Wonderful house just at the beach”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a lovely stay in the Boat House, welligama.
10 days of full luxury of having a beautiful house and a really nice garden just to ourself. Just a walk out the gate and we were on the beach. Really nice staff who will take care of you. Great breakfast. One evening we asked the staff to make us a rice and curry, and it was excellent!
Definitely a perfect place to stay when in Sri Lanka!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonshi...
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Stay”
Reviewed January 11, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We spent four great nights at The Boathouse. Perfect setting for Weligama. Stones throw from the beach, but very private. Captivating architecture.

The onsite team who manage the holiday house are fabulous - warm, accommodating and incredibly helpful.

The Boathouse worked great for a group of seven ranging in age from 5 - 70's.

Highlight was the cooking class with Shehan's family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great holiday spent in Sri Lanka - The Boathouse was perfect!”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

The staff were really friendly and provided a great service. Michelle gave some good recommendations on local attractions. The house had everything we needed and provided a really relaxing holiday for us all!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing