We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Sri Lankan getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Weligama bay resort has to be one of the most Stunning in expensive beach resorts i have stayed in. The Staff are excellent and warm. Always smiling which makes you feel at home. The Room we stayed in was perfect. Bathroom with open air shower was the highlight. Food was Out of this world expect for the fish and chips, didnt work for me.

Tips - The ride from colombo is quiet long so take a sleeping pill or some good music.
At Weligama try out the surfing lessons. Worthwile

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 323 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2010

We booked this hotel on the basis of good reviews on trip advisor. At first glance this hotel is lovely and the rooms are a very high standard. The location is superb and the beach is beautiful.

First impressions were soon ruined due to the construction work that woke us up and the breakfast buffet on the first day. Food was simply rotten. We moved rooms to a garden villa and were joined by 3 giant cockroaches so couldn't use the bathroom the 2nd night. 3rd room we moved to also had cockroaches climbing out the walls in the bathroom but it was the best of a bad bunch.

Breakfast included fruit with ants crawling all over, crispy fat they called bacon, stale bread & stewed tea - they wouldn't even give us a fresh pot at our table. The only thing we ate for breakfast all week was banana on toast, not what we would call 'the best breakfast in Sri Lanka.' Food really was terrible. One day we ordered pizza which came uncooked and they told us íts not pizza country!'fair enough but even the curries were disgusting. The pool looked lovely but wasn't cleaned once over the week we were staying there.

Our 3rd room was sprayed by pest control while we were down at the pool. We were given no warning that it was being sprayed and were not advised to stay out of our room for any length of time afterwards to allow the fumes to disappear. I am pregnant and these fumes can be harmful to an unborn child. This borders on negligence!

If you like to go on holiday to relax, eat nice food and don't like cockroaches do not go here. It is well over priced for what you get. If you get this hotel for a really good price then maybe consider it.

Was glad to leave the hotel and get home!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iaj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBRmanagement, General Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2010

Dear Madam

Thank you for your review. We believe that the main purpose of TripAdvisor is to provide other travellers with objective comments and that is why we want to mention the actions that Hotel Management took to make your stay satisfactory.

I and the Executive Chef were talking to you on a daily basis offering you reasonable solutions for your inconveniences. You were upgraded from Superior Room to Garden Villa where due to heavy rain a cockroach appeared in your bathroom with open air shower. Next day you were moved to luxurious Junior Suite in the main building. As you mentioned, Hotel is arranging pest control regularly, unfortunately due to miscommunication you were not informed.

Our Executive Chef offered you several times fresh meals including seafood, fish, curries and meats, but you were not interested. The only meals you ordered were macaroni tuna salad, sandwiches and pizza and you got a special discount on your meals and beverages. We understand that pregnant women have different sense of taste, however we strongly disagree that the food here is terrible. Anybody is most welcome to see our Executive Chef Mr. Duminda Abeysiriwardena’s fan website with some of the meals that we offer here at Weligama Bay Resort.

As for the last false comment, our swimming pool is cleaned every single day from 7.30am until 8.30am and is controlled by the Pool Boy during all day.

Yours sincerely,

WBR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We only stayed here for one night by accident really.. we went to a hotel further south that we were not happy with so left that hotel and started to travel back to Colombo. We just happened to pull in here with our driver to use the toilet and were pleasantly suprised when we walked in.
The hotel is gorgeous inside and the man on reception was very helpful, we decided to stay here for one night and then travel back the next day... we stayed in a bungalow which was $250.00 a night. The bungalow was contempory, spacious, clean and cosy. The bathroom was big with an open air shower which was a lovely touch.
we had dinner that night which was really nice and breakfast the next day, the manager come over and introduced himself and also the head chef which was really nice.
The next day it was raining so we didnt manage to use the pool or beach but would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing holiday right on the beach, We hope to go back maybe next year and spend a bit lolnger there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We had a wonderful time staying here. The quality was much better than expected, we had impeccable service. The hotel organized all of our excursions, and gave us great service and knowledgeable drivers. It was really surprising too, knowing that it is an emerging country and tourism is new, we were astounded to find such quality people and facilities. the hotel was rustic, in a charming way, with a very comfortable feel. Good linens, always important, and very clean. food was good too, and breakfast, although always the same, was nice and staff would make things special for us and our children, no charge. Can't say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleinQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Comfort beyond imagination - that's what it's all about. Perfect location off the bitten tourist path, on the golden shore, front to the beach. Space. Homelike privacy. Peace. A bed to spend lazy days in (admire of the ocean as I am, I would move from the bed to the balcony, to enjoy a cup of tea, and back to the bed before I get enough of both - the view and inner comfort).
But once you find the heart to break off and step out you get into nets of outer leisure. Good food, with a touch of traditional Singhala meal a la cart, right on the beach break. Poolside next to the restaurant. And lots of fun too!!! A surfing spot right opposite the hotel keeps you fit and re-energized better than SPA.
That's a place to spend a honeymoon rather than a few days, I can tell you. Come and bring your love around with you, to share this very special delight - a piece of Down South for yourself only. Just too much for one. Just too nice.
I do regrette that my friends and me only came over for a weekend to take breath while touring around. But hopefully i'll be back soon. It's a place to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForToAdmireAndToSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We discovered the WBR by chance on the Internet while trying to escape the Coral Sands in Hikkaduwa.
We showed up and were surprised by the friendliness of the place and the beautiful feeling from the hotel.
Rooms were spacious and very clean with all amenities you would need.
Bungalows seem nice (8 of them) and are away from the possible local road noise (the road is there but rooms seem to have good isolation). 
 
Move ahead and reach the beach where, in Weligama, it's the cleanest spot to enjoy the ocean, surf, etc. The hotel team cleans the beach every morning from every stuff the ocean was carrying and rejected.

The other good surprise was the restaurant and the amazing chef there. Eat local food and you won't be disappointed. Not only it's delicious but the chef is very friendly and warm: he spent time with us discussing the local specialities and even did a dinner specialty just for us. And that was delicious.

The entire staff there was friendly and helpful, willing to help.
This was a very nice place where to stay and management was impeccable.
Two thumbs up. Keep up the good work there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We spent a couple of days at Weligama and thoroughly enjoyed it...we made our trip off-peak so the hotel was quiet, which meant we had all the staff to ourselves! The rooms are modern and clean but not intensely luxurious... the open roof showers were a particularly nice touch!

The food was tasty but the menu a little repetitive... the main downside to our stay was that the spa was closed and for the last two days and the hotel couldn't serve alcohol due to licensing issues, though I'm sure they would have sorted that out..

Otherwise, a nice little getaway at very reasonable prices.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank rkiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
0.4 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#9 of 14 in Weligama
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
62 reviews
23.7 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: 254 Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range: $107 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing