We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good services and beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good services and beautiful hotel”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Me and my wife we spend in this small property few days after New Year and we have to say, it was just fantastic, over our expectations.
We have been travelling almost 2 weeks around Srilanka and always choosed the small boutique and luxury hotels, but Weligama Bay Resort was the best choice.
The staff and the Czech Manager made our last days of our holidays very comfortable and beautiful.
Yes, there is a huge construction called Mariott closed to this property, but as we are living in Abu Dhabi, it was not surprising us at all, we know, for the small WBR property, which is providing the best services for the clients and where the cllient is always on the first place, it is the handicap, but with full respect to the service of the property it just not bothered us and we enjoyed the ocean atmosphere.
We think, this is the problem of Srilankan Tourism department, which is allowing such a building in a small bay and really shame for Srilanka country to not respect somebodys business. Even does the Mariott know about this building? as in Abu Dhabi the large hotel chains are building with full respect to the other competitors.
The restaurant is always very busy and very tasty, variety of fresh fish and large variety of breakfast items for the very good prices.
Thank you WBR to make our last days in Srilanka really great, we will for sure come back....

Room Tip: the best are the villas in the Garden directly on the beach site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    83
    34
    22
    11
See reviews for
92
126
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were aiming for a comfortable night's sleep before an early start for whale watching. This is a relatively expensive hotel and looks lovely on the internet, but it's next door to a huge (16+ storey) construction site for a new Marriott Hotel. Construction noise starts at 7 and continues to 6pm - basically daylight hours.
The hotel grounds, which look like a peaceful garden with nice bungalows, are overshadowed by this huge building. You can easily locate the hotel from anywhere in Weligama Bay simply by looking for the crane that towers above it! If you're thinking of escaping onto the beach, the rusting metal hoardings surrounding the site create an eyesore. But anyway, the beach area at the front of this hotel is very small and you'd be pushed to fit your towel onto it unless you lie sideways.
When the builders aren't drilling, the noise of traffic and lorries visiting the site affects the hotel rooms - though the bungalows are largely shielded from the road noise.
To top it off there's also a trainline immediately beyond the road and the train runs 24 hours!
As we were leaving early and breakfast was included, we asked for a boxed breakfast. We received a polystyrene box with one apple, one small banana, one sandwich with unknown contents and one bottle of water. Value locally - about 100 Rupees or 50p. This hotel fails on every criteria except one: the rooms were modern and clean. You won't be able to sleep, but they look good in a photo. The manager of the hotel was just nasty, but all the other staff were polite and helpful. We would pay money not to have to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere - this hotel is disproportionately expensive and not fit for purpose (unless you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina P, General Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear customer,
thank you for your valuable review on Tripadvisor and your visit in our property.
I will forward your comment with the construction point to the Srilankan Ministry of Tourism and Srilankan Tourist Board, they can be properly informed about the way, how the company building the Mariott Spa & Resort is disturbing our business and even our clients.
I am really sorry for this inconvenience, as we are always providing the best service to satisfy the client to make them comfortable and wonderful stay in our property.
I am really sorry, if you felt I am a nasty manager, my target is always to warmly welcome every each client in our property and during the whole stay to be in touch personally with them and make them visit happy and comfortable.
Thank you for your understanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We definitely enjoyed our stay at WBR (X-mas 2013) - but it is also true that all the roses also have some thorns:
Yes, the location is great with the resort being placed directly next to the wonderful (narrow) beach - but you need to develop some kind of tunnel vision to really ignore the HUGE hotel construction right next to the WBR site which literally dwarfs poor little WBR. However it is possible.
And yes, the staff is very friendly - but their service is not very consistent. English is not fully understood by all waiters, and your orders are sometimes misunderstood or much delayed.
The restaurant is not fabulous and the quality of the serving differ from day to day; but it is not bad either. (Generally speaking, food quality is not very high in Weligama at all - try Mirissa or Galle instead for a treat).
The rooms are very nice and very clean. But in the main building some guests may also be annoyed by the road noise (esecially during early morning hours).
The pool/bar area is also very nice.
The (Czech) management is friendly and helpful.
In sum, WBR offers a nice base for exploring the southern parts os Sri Lanka, but it is not cheap (db room starting at 250$/night). Would we choose WGR again ? Maybe not, if good alternatives could be found - but if they can't we would not be unhappy to go back to WBR. Because in spite of all the caveats we did have a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are somewhat exposed to road noise, especially in the early morning h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarstenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in a junior suite.

This property, as other reviews have said, has a great location and wonderful views. Yes, there is some construction going on next door (should be done in 5 months), but it did not bother us - you hear the sounds of the waves more than the construction.

Best part of this hotel are the services and staff. They try their best to really take care of you here and they pay attention to detail. They are professional and friendly. I put this down to excellent management which this hotel clearly has! This was a welcome break from so many other hotels in Sri Lanka which were friendly but greatly lacked good service.

The food is good. Breakfast was great, with more western options. They have excellent Sri Lankan curry for lunch/dinner! They do need to work on making good pasta however.

Weligama is a great beach that is not as busy as Mirissa, and other beaches in the area. Surfers seems to like this beach. There are quite a few bars and other simple-style restaurants to chose from. I'm sure this will increase year by year. Go now! It's a 20-30 min drive to Galle which is great for evening walks and shopping.

I would definitely stay here again !!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Myself, my husband and his parents have just spent 8 days in this wonderful hotel. The rooms are large and well equipped, great views from room balcony, pool is a good size, restaurant has good selection for breakfast and other meals. Hotel is right on the beach and very helpfully have a selection of body boards and surf boards you can borrow.

Room Tip: Middle rooms 4/5/6/7 have best views down middle of garden looking towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyHurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

we spent two days at the resort during our honeymoon and were absolutly pleased with it. The rooms are luxury and beautiful, the breakfast was good, the location was great for those who like to surf or even learning to. We booked the room through agoda and got a cheaper price comparing to the price the hotel offered (150$ for the deluxe room which is the basic room). Just one thing, the nearby hotel is on constraction but we were not annoyed by that. Overall we would recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very nice resort with comfortable villas and direct access to the sea. Personnel was friendly and at very good service. Kitchen was really great. The only con is a construction site of Marriott hotel next door.

Room Tip: If not limited in budget go for the single villas facing to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDaniel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 12 in Weligama
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
123 reviews
14.0 mi away
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Property: Weligama Bay Resort
Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing