We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Affordable Luxury”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent boutique hotel overlooking the Wilgama Bay. The hotel is also located very close to an excellent surf point and it is a great location for armature suffers to learn. On the day of our arrival we arrived very late, after mid night and the kitchen was closed but the staff still prepared us a sandwich because we were hungry, excellent service. The rooms are very good, it has all the amenities you expect from a boutique hotel and they are clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and their service is very efficient. There is a large hotel which is being constructed right next to this hotel and it can be a little disturbing but I guess this temporary and should be over in a few months. Not too many places to go eat/party near the hotel but a short 10 - 20 min drive down the road you can find many seaside bars and restaurants in Unawatuna and Mirrisa. Highly recommended this place if you want to spend some quite time on the beach without spending too much money and enjoy excellent service along with good quality food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    85
    34
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
128
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very pleasant stay ... perfect!

The hotel is really nice ... I think it perfectly fits the category of boutique hotel.
With a good location and easy access.
It is situated in a charming fishing village in Weligama Bay, 10 minutes from the town center and 15 minutes from the island Taprobane.
The rooms are comfortable, clean, modern. At the time we stayed at this hotel the manager offered us an upgrade to a garden village. Superb!
The hotel staff are very friendly and always willing to help.
Housekeeping staff every day left messages on bed, designed with flowers. We love it!
The restaurant staff were amazing ... whenever possible, the food was cooked the way we liked more ..

The food was very good and there was always plenty of fruit.
The only thing less positive was a thing with our bill. They put more extra values in our account .. we only bew aware of this after checkout and leave the hotel!But I believe that was not intentional .. anyway do not do as we did and confer the account.
Regrettably, I think this hotel will not survive long in the market. Right next to the hotel, the Marriot is building a monstrous hotel .. it is indeed a pity. Especially because the Weligama Bay Resort combines much more with the surrounding landscape than the marriot's hotel that is being building there.
I strongly recommend to stay at Weligama Bay Resort ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is truly magnificent. I have chosen Weligama Bay Resort to celebrate my boyfriend’s birthday and couldn’t find better place for this special day. Since the moment we arrived (we came too early but there was no problem at all – gentleman who was welcoming us with big smile announced that we can check –in immediately!) until the last minutes of our stay we felt very welcomed and everybody looked after us so well.

We stayed in one of the chalets which was specious, very comfortable, with many great facilities and huge bathroom equipped with both shower and bathtub. I would highly recommend it for couples as there is plenty of privacy, close to the swimming pool and ocean and you have your private sitting area (terrace).

The beach is just amazing – you can feel like in paradise and sea is safe for swimming.
On top of the above was the staff. Very friendly, very positive, always smiling. They have made my boyfriend’s birthday so special, have prepared lovely decoration in the room, the best table in restaurant with beautiful setting and great surprise – birthday cake!

We had an amazing time and would like to thank all of the staff for their efforts and making our stay so special. I would highly recommend this place to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineR126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good location, with lovely beach frontage and a very pleasant walk to Weligama along the beach, or visit the numerous small fishing communities which are dotted all along the huge bay.. Downside is it is close to the road and there is a major hotel construction taking place next door ( this is more a criticism of Marriot Hotels who are building something completely out of character with the area and locale). However, once in the garden villa or by the pool or on the beach you are completely unaware of these distractions and with the choice of pool or ocean swimming, surfing, walking, eating, just soaking it all up on a lounger or going slightly further afield to watch the stilt fishermen at work it is a great place to spend a few nights.

Room Tip: Do not know about the rooms in the main hotel block, but the garden villas are excellent, with a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The website is more than misleading. There is a huge construction site right next to the hotel. The rooms are ok but the price is excessive in comparison with what you get in return.
There are empty bottles in the garden here and there. The beach in front of the hotel is not even maintained by the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weiniBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina P, General Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear client,
thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and thank you for your visit in our property.
Let me please just to explain you, the construction next to our property has nothing to do with our property, there will be a new Marriott hotel buildt, it is the Srilankan government interest to improve the Tourism in our area. They are running usual working hours from 8.00 am - 17.30 pm, no work during the evening.
Regarding the beach - all beaches in Srilanka are public, our interest is to keep the front beach clean as we do on daily basis as well as the garden.
Thank you for your understanding and hope to welcome you again in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location, lovely beach with volleyball court and good waves for surfing. The buildings are in nice style with wooden floors, air conditioning and really comfortable beds. There is medium size swimming pool and restaurant where they serve amazing fish, steaks and salads. You can also borrow surf from the resort, free of charge. The staff is kind and helpful. Ideal for families with children!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatejC899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is an excellent place - clean and friendly with great food and a nice beach-side bar.
We went there in February 20013.
The only negative was the large number of day-visitors using the pool.
There is building site next door but, as we out most of the day whale- watching, we hardly noticed it.
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are very peaceful - room service do an evening anti-mosquito service as standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Weligama
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 13 in Weligama
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Property: Weligama Bay Resort
Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing