We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst food ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weligama Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worst food ever”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

we booked full board for 3 days but ended cutting our trip to one day because the food was so bad, it was Ala cart menu for lunch , but more like having to select what they wanted us to eat they would keep saying not available only a b c available.Buffet was even worst cz menu was poorly planned salads even tasted foul and no selection at all. location and rooms were v good but if there's nothing to eat and at the price we paid $200 per night the pace is not worth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shifi_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    85
    34
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
129
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sri lanka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic setting; however the rooms in the main hotel building are right alongside a very busy main road. This not only has an awful lot of traffic noise with continuous blaring of horns, particularly from the buses, but also there is a railway line with an unmanned level crossing, thus every train approaching has to sound its klaxon horn to warn of its approach. Unfortunately the trains run from very early in the morning so it is very difficult to get any rest in the room.

Another point is that we had paid for half board, and although breakfast was fine, at dinner we were given a choice of 2 main courses and if we didn’t want or like either the only option was to go a la carte and pay extra. This seems very unfair on people who have prepaid for half board.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank casablancaSriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This hotel has all the chances to be a five star hotel. As it is run today, it i close to four stars. We would give it a three plus.

We´ll start with the good things:

1. Location on the beach is superb.
2. Architechture is superb
3. Staff in the reception, restaurant, poolsida and cleaning are all very nice, willing and smiling.
4. Food is ok but needs variety.

And here´s the bad things that can easily be better:

1. Hotelrooms are close to the road. With no isolation against it, you will here the cars honking their horns.
2. Staff is willing, nice and smiling. Problem is that they get no credit from the management. Not given clear instructions/education on how to run their jobs. (how to take care of a pool, how to serve guests etc etc).
3. Big problem: the management couple on the site have adopted (!) a local dog from the beach to be their own!!! The dog is sometimes on the hotel premises and sometimes with his old friends on the beach. These dogs have major problems with diseases (rabies is not uncommon). They even let "their" dog run around in the restaurant. Never in a leash. This happens even with small children playing around. Every now and then their "adopted" dog takes his friends over to the hotel, sometimes leaving their sh.t behind. Not very nice. Now we are not talking five star anymore, with the dogs we are down to a two star hotel. Maybe.
4. Food ok, for 24 hr stopover. If longer stays, you would appreciate a variety in breakfast, lunch and dinner.
5. Well overprized
7. Management should be proud of their staff. It doesn´t show here. We missed the special tip-box for the staff that most of the other hotels have.
8. Pool is dangerous with with very sharp objects. During our stay at least three guests were hurt by the sharp object. It also needs a good cleanup.

Now, even all this, I would still recomend this very nice hotel. Why? It is good and it can very easy be much better. Restaurant-, cleaning- and frondesk staff are all very nice people.

All the best , see you next year!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gottogo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tårnby
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We have been to many wonderful destinations and had high exportations to this vacation - we got so much more than expected.
We had the best time ever – I have to tell that the staff, the restaurant, the beach, the rooms and the service was top class, and worth every penny.
I think that the staff made the different, they was a great part of big success for our vacation.
And last, but very important for us - the local people are smiling and friendly, and it was a pleasure walking the streets of Weligama.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonniehjort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed in a garden villa which was a great room, very spacious and well laid out. Bathrooms are huge and the shower was great (coming from hotel with low water pressure this was much appreciated). Amenities at the hotel are good and it is great to be right on the beach. Food at dinner was generally very tasty but choice is too limited, would prefer more local dishes. Recommend nearby Samaru hotel for more choice of rice and curry. Breakfast at WBR is mediocre. Staff at front desk are very good, other staff more mixed and overall the level of service does not tally with the price of the resort. Recommend taking a tuk tuk to nearby MIrissa beach as it is very beautiful. Ask driver to drop you at Paradise Beach resort where you can hire loungers and towels for very low price. Whale watching is avaiable at Mirissa harbour for far cheaper price than offered by the Water Sports centre which is used by many hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hols_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We spent our vacation in this resort in the beginning of February 2011. It's a luxury, quiet and family oriented resort. The hotel as well as the bungalows have direct ocean access (about 50 ft - 20m). The hotel offers spacious rooms and bathrooms (see picture). Sand beach without rocks with a smooth entry into the water. The hotel offers excellent service with great attendance and various types of cuisine - we preferred mostly local dishes. We really liked the clean and modern environment, gorgeous lights up in the palms, inside of the pool and the reflection of the sea bringing up a very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJogharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Booked at very last-minute directly with the hotel based on the reviews on the site. Sounded like a great place with such positive reviews. However, not sure whether the reviewers have stayed in international 5 star resorts before because this surely is not at par.

If this place is trying to be an international 5 star resort or be included in the Small Luxury Boutique Hotels of the World, it has a long way to go.

To be fair - there are good and not-so-good points:

Good
1. Rooms are well appointed. Large beds with enough wardrobe space. Good sized bathrooms. Powerful enough Air Conditioner. Nice wooden flooring.
2. Beach is fine - good waves for surfing
3. Some staff are friendly and smiling which is nice.
4. Front desk allowed use of their computer for internet and arranged for spa elsewhere

Not-so-Good (in no particular order)
1. Spa: wanted to have a treatment with my wife. But the lady masseuse was sick. Hopefully she is feeling better. But shouldn't the hotel have a back-up?! Decided to have 2 spa treatment at the wonderful Secret Root spa instead.

2. Food: over-priced, average, same menu every day. Can't believe how expensive the food is for what you get! Food was average at best, same thing every day, nothing special for kids except 3 choices. We stayed at the Hilton in Colombo and had an amazing and filling Japanese meal at the hotel for the same price as what this hotel was charging! And this was in Colombo at one of the best hotels in the country. Beer was cheaper in Colombo and Japanese food was almost the same price. Can't believe how over-priced the food is and how the resort can charge the rates they do for mediocre-at-best food.

3. Pool: dirty. Whilst we did use it, it was not pleasant. The tiles especially along the side of the pool where the steps are are FILTHY! Put your finger against the tile and black soot will come off and you can see the true colour of the tiles appear. Don't think chlorine has ever been used. The pool boys are more interested in other things than taking care of the pool. Bugs and other creatures on the top of the pool.

4. Umbrellas: 4 umbrellas for 27 rooms. On average, say there are 2 people per room. So 4 umbrellas for 54 people. Unacceptable for a "5 star resort". Completely unacceptable.

5. Pool Boys: have never had to drag my own sun lounges from the pool area onto the beach at a "5 star resort" before. On 2 days, dragged 3 lounges. Completely unacceptable. No volunteering of use of body boards or other kids toys. Just not interested.

6. over-priced rooms: This was really upsetting. The rooms are very good sized. The beds are good sized as well. On calling, asked if we could all stay in one room (1 bed and 2 smaller beds). Was told it would be cramped so we opted for 2 garden villas. On check-out, specifically asked if we could have in fact had 2 smalled beds put into one of the rooms and was told "yes". Could not believe this. We over-paid - spent an extra $735 for 3 nights when we didn't have to. Especially when front desk confirmed on check-out that yes, in fact, we could have all stayed in one room. Unbelievable way of making extra money. Some would say deceitful.

7. Location: was told on the phone that it is 3 hours from the airport. Try 5-6 hours. Way way too far for what it is. With the new highway opening in June/July 2011, this should cut the time to about 1.5 hours (total) so makes it more pleasant.

8. Cleanliness: the rooms whilst nice, were not that clean. In one of our rooms (V03), above the wardrobe where the safe is, there was/is fluff and cobwebs. In the bathroom, the wall separating the toilet and shelving area is filthy (the top part). The shelves in the bathroom are dirty. The shower area has a window with wooden frame - this is going to rot very quickly. The fit and finishing in the bathroom is 3/4 star. The shower area again is not nicely finished, the taps and hook holdings are not secured to the wall properly.

9. Staff: in general, pleasant enough but did not see the overly enthusiastic nature that most reviewers have been talking about. IN the restaurant, we were never asked for refills -even though alcohol is the highest margin product in the hotel! We had to ask ourselves. For breakfast, we had to get knives and forks ourselves as we decided to sit inside rather than outside because of the flies. Had to ask for coffee and refills. Unacceptable for supposed 5 star place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanjaysethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 13 in Weligama
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Weligama
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Property: Weligama Bay Resort
Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing