We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly guest home and raja is a really good cook :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raja's Guest Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raja's Guest Home
Ranked #5 of 89 Weligama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very friendly guest home and raja is a really good cook :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

we stayed 6 nights at raja's guest home at the end of our holiday in sri lanka. we enjoyed the days there very much, the rooms are nice and clean. the beach which is perfect to learn surfing is near and the location is in a very calm area. raja is a very friendly host who is willing to help his guests organizing and planning trips. also the whole "team" at the guesthouse is very cheerful and friendly and we met a lot of nice people at the guest home. we felt very welcome at raja's who is moreover an excellent cook!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kerstin86840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    12
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
25
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I can basically just repeat what the other reviews already make obvious. Rajas place is a very welcoming, clean and nice home and he himself is probably the highlight of it. After one night I already felt like a good friend, that's how friendly he is. He will make you feel free and happy and enjoy your holidays. His cooking is great and he has VERY good advice on Sri Lanka. Try to come here early on your trip so he can help you plan the rest of it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trev3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Thanks Raja for your honest service and hard work to make our stay one to remember, we made good friends for life, has some fun nights on the old arrack and ate some simply lush food, devilled prawns are are must! Big love Mark and Sappho - (English)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAustin2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Found this guesthouse by happenstance and it was impossible to leave. Raja was like a father! He truly cares for his guests and does everything he can to make their stay enjoyable. Had many memorable nights drinking Arrack with raja and other travelers. The rooms were clean and decent sized but you'll be spending most of your time on the beach or patio anyway. We stayed 5 days, traveled the rest of Sri Lanka following Raja's recommendation and then came back for another 5 days! Don't forget to order some food, its amazing. Best of luck Raja!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beefjerklie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Raja's place is the hidden gem on the pearl of the Indian ocean. When my friend and I came to Weligama, we were planning to stay one, maybe two nights. We ended up staying for six, and then came back for four more at the end of our trip.
As far as the place goes, the rooms are decent, not perhaps Hilton standards of cleanliness, and the location is great, just a short walk to some excellent surfing.
But what truly sets the place apart is Raja. He is a one of a kind man who will make your stay in Weligama extremely memorable. From giving us surfing recommendations, to sharing arrack in the evening, to giving us a tuk-tuk ride to the train station, Raja is an amazing man.
It truly is a guest home, not a guest house.

Jaya Sri!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLJayaSri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I am still traveling and right now I am in Bali...anyway I still remember your place and miss it.
It was really a pleasure to stay at your lovely guesthouse and spent such a good time with you, your family and guests...Raja's guest home is really the best place where I stayed during my whole trip in Sri Lanka. It is clean, cheap and the surf spot is just a short walk away. To Mirissa it is also very close by..
I have to thank you again for everything. You helped me to plan my trip through Sri Lanka and gave me very good tips where to stay etc..
I had such a good time at your home that I dame twice...after I finished my trip in the mountains I really wanted to see you again and meet some great people at your guest house.
Also I have to mention your excellent cooking skills. My favorite dish is still the creamy coconut prawns... :))
If I am not running out of money I will come back in Mai for another bottle of Arrack :D
Thanks again Raja!!!
Hope you re fine and having a wonderful time with your family and guests.
Best regards,
Nicole (from Germany)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicikmitta1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We would probably have just passed by this place, but fortunately we met Raja, the owner, and after one minute chat we knew that it would be a house to stay for the rest of our holiday in Sri Lanka. Raja is an open-minded, friendly and honest man and together with his staff he makes this place not a guesthouse, but home you don't want to leave. We have learnt so much about lankan life, tradition and cuisine - thanks to Raja we experienced taste of Sri Lanka we would never discover. He was so flexible and enthusiastic even if we ask him to cook us things not included in printed menu, which we found in the food market (like banana flowers or dambala). The atmosphere of this place attracts many interesting people we had pleasure to met and in the evening it was always a good moment for a chat and a glass of old arrack with Raja and other guests.
Weligama itself is not a typical touristic destination - but that's the point, you can meet real people there and for example watch fishermen at their daily work. And still it is one of the best places to surf for beginners.
Anyway, we recommend this place to all budget travellers who seek for a family-like atmosphere to relax and learn Sri Lanka in an extraordinary way. Hope we will be back there soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raffiqvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.7 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hangtime Hostel
Hangtime Hostel
#2 of 94 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel
0.9 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja's Guest Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja's Guest Home

Property: Raja's Guest Home
Address: 248/4 First Lane | Paranakade, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My name is Raja, I was born in Weligama and I have been working in tourism for 32 years. My Guest House was recommended by Lonely Planet, Rough Guide, Footprint and other guidebooks, but the Tsunami destroyed the buildings in 2004. I started to rebuild everything and opened again in 2010. I offer a laid-back atmosphere home for my guests. My place is ideal for budget travellers who are looking for cheap rooms in a friendly and quiet place close to the beach. Facilites: - free wifi - computer use - 24 hours electricity - free bicycle use - laundry service - restaurant We are happy to help you organizing tours (like whale/dolphin watching or a trip to the countryside) and provide you with all the necessary information about Weligama and Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Raja's Guest Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing