We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the beach; stay for the food”
Review of Latheena Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Latheena Resort
Ranked #8 of 99 Weligama B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Come for the beach; stay for the food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I extended my SL tour so I could relax on the beach for a few days before the long trip home. My room (#2 - Jasmine) was basic but immaculate. It could have used a chair but the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning cooled the room down in an instant, or there was a nice cross breeze. There is a large, comfortable public seating area and the wi-fi works well there. The couple that owns the property were extremely nice and always tried to be helpful. The only hiccup I experienced was a failure of the hot water in my shower. (Each room has its own heating unit, as do many SL hotels.) They offered to switch me to a very large suite! There was no swimming pool (at least not an operating pool) but with the beautiful ocean literally right outside the door, I did not miss it.

Go for the SL breakfast, which is excellent. There is also a fine Western breakfast. The coffee was locally grown organic and the best by far I had in the country which proudly claims "Excellent tea, lousy coffee". (So true!) My one dinner (Seafood pasta) was also very good. The chef / owner used to work at the Hard Rock Cafe in Nagoya, which explains the Mexican offerings.

There is a small grocery store immediately opposite the property. Mirissa town is about 200 LKR by tuk tuk (< 5 minutes), which has more nightlife than this far eastern end of Weligama. There are also very frequent buses running right by the property which run between Galle and Matala, with some continuing on directly to Tangalle. Matala is a commercial center which, although not particularly attractive, has a wide variety of services and shops available. It even has a brand new international airport! (By contrast, the trip to Colombo airport by taxi took about 3 1/4 hours.) The bus trip took about 25 minutes to reach the center square, for about 30 US cents.

Galle Fort, which should not be missed, has more high end shopping geared more for visitors, in addition to the stunning architecture. Galle (City) takes about an hour by bus. (The Fort is a 5-10 minute walk from the bus station; you cannot miss it!) I did not use the trains because they are relatively infrequent, compared to the bus service.

All said, a very laid back property right on the beach with very personal service and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UprightAndLocked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Guesthouse is located right next to the beach with a direct access. The owners are very friendly and accommodating, while the husband is also the chef at the restaurant. He is really good, and the meals were consistently delicious. We ate at the restaurant during our entire stay, even during the days when we visited Galle. The room was quite simple but for the asking price, ocean access, and great meals, it was a steal. Even guests from neighboring hotels/guesthouses came here to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNotes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The 2 stars are for the amazing location (right on the beach) and the wonderful lady that works there who was so kind and helpful. Can't comment on the upstairs rooms,but we had a downstairs room that was very dark, lit by a bare bulb hanging from a wire from the ceiling with a truly awful sewer smell coming from the bathroom. The bed frame was broken which meant the mattress sagged in the middle so we had a really bad night's sleep. We were grateful for the mosquito net as the room had more mosquitoes in it than anywhere we've ever stayed. I'm surprised this hotel claims they're luxury as really our room was about as far from luxury it's possible to get.

Room Tip: Definitely not 'Jasmine' room
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suz_h_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at several hotels around Weligama and Mirissa, but Latheena Beach Resort was by far the best place where we have stayed. In this beautiful colonial styled house with several double and family rooms you can definitely have a relaxing holiday. The resort has a very good restaurant, one of the best around Weligama and Mirissa. The very kind family that runs this place is always willing to help you with any questions you have. Thanks to the staff of Latheena Beach Resort, for our wonderful stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We dined at the restaurant 4 nights while we stayed in Merissa. It was without doubt the best place we ate during the entire vacation. They are much faster than the other restaurants (and hotels for that matter) and they speak very good English. We tried a lots of different things from their menu but I would in particular recommend their prawns, crab and lobster, which are also cheap compared to the other restaurants.
Finally we also took a look at the rooms of the guest house/resort(called Latheena) they also run – and we are going to stay there the next time we come to Sri Lanka. Overall a must-go when in Merissa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

i recently came back from Sri Lanka and amongst all the places i traveled to and all the resorts i camped at, Latheena was a little memorable.
its located right across the beach so you can quite literally walk into the Indian Ocean with your tea in hand, surf, stroll or just read a book basking under the sun.
however, i know that there are many such hotels available and so not really a unique thingy...but what really captivated me is the amazing food.
Oh God, trust me, fresh fruit juices, and some finger licking naans along with gravy and daal ?(in case you are a fan of Indian cuisine) is to die for. Whats more, the resort people grow their own vegetables and fruits so you know whatever ur ordering is getting plucked fresh out of the garden :) and also, the hotel is run by a most friendly family...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalfootsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The most charming place to visit, if you are looking for a place to relax with Nice food and a friendly atmosphere.
If you are impatient and looking for an efficient service,This is not a place for you. But we -a family of 4 - came to stay for 4 nights and extended our stay. The food is excellent, and Worth waiting for. The selection of food is large, and shows The families experience from abroad. My teenage sons enjoyed the italian and mexican dishes, while we could choose more local/ or delicious fish courses.
You feel very welcome and is quickly becoming a part of the environment - in a nice way.
I hope to be able to return very soon!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lone1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
379 reviews
1.0 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 10 in Mirissa
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
306 reviews
2.4 mi away
New Bay View Villa
New Bay View Villa
#4 of 114 in Weligama
98 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eraeliya Villas & Gardens
Eraeliya Villas & Gardens
#1 of 114 in Weligama
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latheena Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latheena Resort

Property: Latheena Resort
Address: Matara Rd | near Mirissa Beach, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Latheena Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Latheena Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing