We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Food Food”
Review of Latheena Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Latheena Resort
Ranked #8 of 99 Weligama B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food Food Food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

i recently came back from Sri Lanka and amongst all the places i traveled to and all the resorts i camped at, Latheena was a little memorable.
its located right across the beach so you can quite literally walk into the Indian Ocean with your tea in hand, surf, stroll or just read a book basking under the sun.
however, i know that there are many such hotels available and so not really a unique thingy...but what really captivated me is the amazing food.
Oh God, trust me, fresh fruit juices, and some finger licking naans along with gravy and daal ?(in case you are a fan of Indian cuisine) is to die for. Whats more, the resort people grow their own vegetables and fruits so you know whatever ur ordering is getting plucked fresh out of the garden :) and also, the hotel is run by a most friendly family...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalfootsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The most charming place to visit, if you are looking for a place to relax with Nice food and a friendly atmosphere.
If you are impatient and looking for an efficient service,This is not a place for you. But we -a family of 4 - came to stay for 4 nights and extended our stay. The food is excellent, and Worth waiting for. The selection of food is large, and shows The families experience from abroad. My teenage sons enjoyed the italian and mexican dishes, while we could choose more local/ or delicious fish courses.
You feel very welcome and is quickly becoming a part of the environment - in a nice way.
I hope to be able to return very soon!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lone1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheppey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

From our arrival the proprietors couldn't have been more helpful: not just the welcome tea but also a massage and treatment for my backstrain resulting from the five hr drive from Ella! The location is good if you like laidback and beachfront and probably better placed than Weligama or Mirissa unless it's big surf you're after. Certainly the small messy waves and free use of surf and paddleboard are a plus for beginners. Our standard room was great (#1 Marigold) opening onto the garden and breeze. The proprietors are very friendly and trying hard to make their guests stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfasts were good (fruit and yoghout) and their new beachside restaurant has just opened ... and the fresh fish with ginger & cucumber sauce ... always a good option.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tmjk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This lovely little hotel is run by a very friendly family. The rooms are fastidiously clean. It's undergoing some construction right now so I expect the view would be nice when it's done. the rooms are spacious. The food is delicious here. Rice and curry here could be quite good. You case use the surf boards and paddle board they have lying around. It's also a great value.The family couldn't have been more helpful. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was in Sri Lanka for 9 days and stayed in Latheena for 8 days. It was an brilliant stay with the warmest of the hospitality I have received in my life.
The resort itself is beautiful with plenty of space around it and a secluded beach right in front of the doorsteps. The family of Mr. Priyankara were very nice to us and the food were the best in Sri Lanka. Mr. Priyankara being a trained chef, had us trying his culinary specialties. The rooms are beautiful and very spacious, looking over to the sea.
It was an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend anyone in South to give them a visit for few days.

Room Tip: They have all kinds of rooms to accommodate single traveler to a huge family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mez_bah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

On the (quiet) beach!

The host is so lovely, we didnt found a friendlier person in Sri Lanka.

And dont forget the food, the Mexican food is amazing, good in price and so welcome after all those rice and curries ! (the cook lived in Japan for a while). So cheap and so good! Go there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ingmarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Only stayed 2 nights in this wonderful hotel but had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. I was travelling alone and as a young girl helpful and friendly staff are always appreciated. Great food, AC and very comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Great location right on the beach but nice and quiet at night. Absolutely perfect for solo travelers and families alike. Staff helped me stop the bus on my leaving day and having an onsite computer rather than just wifi is great too. They also organised my entire whale watching trip for me, dropping me off in the morning at the dock and picking me up when I was done. Key thing to note, it's about 15 minutes from the main whale watching area so you need to get a car as sometimes too early for tuktuks. Only have good things to say about this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank katherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
379 reviews
1.0 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 10 in Mirissa
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
306 reviews
2.4 mi away
New Bay View Villa
New Bay View Villa
#4 of 114 in Weligama
98 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eraeliya Villas & Gardens
Eraeliya Villas & Gardens
#1 of 114 in Weligama
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latheena Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latheena Resort

Property: Latheena Resort
Address: Matara Rd | near Mirissa Beach, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Latheena Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Latheena Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing