We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of Latheena Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Latheena Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Weligama B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

the owners of this were just amazing. They have recently acquired the hotel and have great plans but still have a way to go. They were beyond hospitable and the food was amazing. If you need a break from Sri Lankan food the mexican on the menu was sooooo yummy!!!
The sri Lankan breakfast was just delicious
One word of warning, Mirissa has sandflies.. I got attacked by them! Use lots of bug spray when you are on the beach!

Room Tip: The pillows are pretty crap, you might need to ask for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kurst22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Latheena Resort in early April 2013 and absolutely loved it. Our initial plan was to stay for two nights and then move on to somewhere else, but the kids felt so at home that we extended our stay. It's a family run hotel and the owners are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is right on the beach, literally 30 second walk. It's a beautiful beach, private, with palm streets around, and occasionally cows walking across the sand :-) It's a wavy beach, but not rough. My 5 year old (who doesn't know how to swim) and 7 year old felt safe in the waves. We had a lot of fun. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the food is delicious. The kids had spaghetti every night while we had lovely sri lankan curries. We stayed in two different rooms (because we went to yala national park at the end of our 2nd night). Both the Sakura and the Blueberry rooms are spacious, both with AC. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose Latheena based on Trip Advisor reviews and were charmed by the location, cleanliness and family-run attention to guests. We were a group of 4 adults and 3 children and fit beautifully into the 3-bed, A/C suite. This was substantially cheaper than all other places where 2 or 3 rooms were necessary for our group. The beach is not only beautiful, but private and quiet. It was also safe for swimming and our boys were out every day making sand castles and enjoying the waves. Chulika was a charming hostess who helped us make many arrangements for fun side trips - to a snake garden, coconut oil producer, snorkeling in Polhena, and a local batik factory. These were not tourist destinations like in Kandy - they were the real deal. Her husband is a really fine chef and we ate nearly all of our meals there and were never disappointed. Breakfasts were lovely, huge and always timely. We ordered a special Sri Lankan curry meal one evening, requesting as many different and unique dishes as he could think of. It was fabulous and fun to eat things we'd only seen in markets. They also invited us to celebrate the New Year with their family and friends in the yard of the hotel and we were treated to games, great food, and more generosity. We started the day at 7am eating special foods with the owners and their son, lighting the oil lamp, and receiving money and bows of honor. After 3 weeks in Sri Lanka, this hotel tops our list and we hope to stay in touch with this hard-working and honest family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our two week tour of Sri Lanka. The incredible hospitality of the family made this one of if not our favourite place that we stayed. Nothing was too much trouble for them even moving us to an air conditioned room as it was so hot without asking fo extra payment. The food was absolutely lovely and the Sri Lankan breakfast a must.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ChloeB864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chita
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This January, my husband and I were visiting Sri Lanka for 14 days and Latheena Resort was the best place where we were. The hotel keepers Julie and Lalith and their assistants are the main advantage of this place. Very caring and friendly people who tried to help us with any problems. The service was really friendly. We felt like we were at home, as if we were members of this great family. The rooms are cozy, large and VERY clean. We lived on the third floor in a room with a beautiful ocean view.
We tried a lot of food in Sri Lanka, but the food at Latheena Resort was the best, really. It was always fresh and very tasty. Especially we liked the fresh fruit juice and any style cooked fish. Italian food was also very good.
The beach is very clean, no rocks and coral, the ocean is shallow, with average waves. It is suitable for novice surfers. In addition, the large ocean-going turtles swim on this beach and lay their eggs there. We saw a tiny baby turtles and release them into the ocean. It was an amazing experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank Larionova A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Latheena, we originally booked 2 nights but ended up staying for 4. The family were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. My two sons enjoyed playing with their son and the garden was great for them to play football. The food here is lovely too, Chulika's husband used work in Japan in the Hardrock cafe so they have some Mexican items on the menu if you fancy a change from Sri Lankan curry!
The guest house has a great plot right on the beach and our room had a nice view of the sea. Improvements that I'm sure the family will make given time would be air conditioning in all the rooms, as our room was very warm. The garden area needs maintenance and they have plans to change the small empty pools into 1 swimming pool in time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we arrived I was very hot and tired as we had just come from the casa Colombo. This hotel has only been open 3 months. We were greeted by Lionel Pedu who haggled the taxi fare we had just paid from Colombo. He then took us straight to our room to rest after our journey. It became apparent that although the hotel was still In progress of being updated latheena made up For it with the friendliness of all the staff. No request was too big. On choosing food I would recommend the Sri Lankan curry and rice although every dish we ordered was fantastic. Instead of booking a tour, Pedu took his day out to show us around some of the temples. Peace, spirituality and serenity is what you will find here!!! Eating breakfast and looking out to sea was a beautiful treat. The hotel leads directly on to a secluded beach. No. Sellers,no hassle from any one. Pedu also sells some fantastic jewellery at real prices. We stayed for 6 nights and have no complaints at all. Thank you Pedu and family for everything. Good value for money,drinks and very reasonably priced. If they havnt got it just ask. Would return again. March 2013' Anna and Terry from England

Room Tip: Choose room with air con. Don't have expectations on luxury. Book direct as its cheaper than boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bigboy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 10 in Mirissa
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
New Bay View Villa
New Bay View Villa
#4 of 114 in Weligama
98 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eraeliya Villas & Gardens
Eraeliya Villas & Gardens
#1 of 114 in Weligama
158 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castle Bay Resort
Castle Bay Resort
#12 of 98 in Weligama
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latheena Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latheena Resort

Property: Latheena Resort
Address: Matara Rd | near Mirissa Beach, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Latheena Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Latheena Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing