We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Latheena Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Latheena Resort
Ranked #8 of 96 Weligama B&B and Inns
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I and my friends stopped in Latheena-resort hotel in Sri Lanka during our vocation in January this year. We took 4 different rooms at once and gained good impression. The hotel is located on the first line and has its sandy beach. The view is fine, the palms, the sand, the ocean around. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable. The hotel keepers Julie and Lalit also pleased us. They turned out to be modest and sympathetic. Lait is a very skilled cook, he prepared new dishes every day. In general, they were very tasty and not expensive. They prepared barbecue at the beach before our departure, it was unforgettable, playing guitar, singing national songs.
​The hotel renders very convenient services for those, who goes in for sightseeing to the most cult places of Sri Lanka by the hotel’s own bus, one can also rent a scooter right in the hotel and travel accross the nearby beaches. Everything is very available and inexpensive.
​We would like to express special gratitude to the hotel keepers Jukie and Lalit, who are very kind, considerate and sympathetic.
​We will certainly stay only in their hotel during our next visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mihael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Latheena resort is a BB, hotel with six rooms which are clean, efficient and have excellent beds. The hotel is on beautifull Weligama beach and is easy to reach from Galle by bus or private transport. The beach is clean and quiet but if desired Marissa beach is close by for a busier experience. The staff, owners, did all they can to make our holiday unforgettable. The food is in one word outstanding. We wil be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank jcdaBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I travelled to Sri Lanka alone after the death of my fiancee, to find some solace and spiritual healing, I found the right place at the Latheena Resort. It's a familly run guest house who are very friendly and treated me like a familly member.
The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated and the food is excellently cooked by chefs with a vast range of local and international food knowledge which they will cook at any time of the day for you.If there is any food they dont have, they will go out and buy the ingredients and cook it for you.
Food is served inside or outside in the garden, where you can see and hear the ocean just yards away.
The accomodation offers great value for money and I will ceratainly be returning many times in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxelosund, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a first choice hotel! It is clean and elegant. The food is excellent, influated from the japanese and italian kitchens. We felt like familymembers during the days we were staying here. It is close to the beach. The hotel have all facilities you need as wifi and laundry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KarmaPaldjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

A very ambiteous and friendly family has just started this b/b guesthouse in december 2012. The rooms are in good condition, very clean and well equipped - all to be seen in relation to the price of currently app. 4500 lkr / night. The house is located directly on the beach, no street in between. the beach is nice covering the entire bay of Weligama. We came here by scooter looking for an alternative for over-priced so called luxery resorts. We experienced great hospitality, very friendly owners and a great cook. We recommend this place and we are sure that the plot will develop further since the outside of the building (garden etc) will need some improvement.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jagabay Resort
Jagabay Resort
#11 of 13 in Weligama
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 10 in Mirissa
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latheena Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latheena Resort

Property: Latheena Resort
Address: Matara Rd | near Mirissa Beach, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Latheena Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Latheena Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing