We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel with a lovely view of the sea”
Review of Heritage Weligama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Weligama
Ranked #57 of 96 Weligama B&B and Inns
Woking
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with a lovely view of the sea”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a pleasant modern hotel. It is on the main road and there is some traffic noise all night but don't let that put you off. There is a beach on the other side of the road but during our stay the tide always seemed to be so far in that we didn't see much sand. The rooms are huge with excellent bathrooms and working air conditioning and were spotlessly clean. We had a room on the first floor (the floor above the ground floor) which seemed preferable to the rooms on the ground floor which have windows opening into the garden. The hotel is small - only ten rooms - and the restaurant seems understaffed. Meals were OK but took ages to arrive. In the worst case the breakfast ordered for 7.00 am was not ready until 8.00 am. There are flying foxes in their hundreds over the hotel at dusk and purple-faced leaf monkeys in the trees at the back of the garden occasionally.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bracewell skipton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and myself stayed for several nights in january 2014 ..we found it an excellent place to stay, very peaceful and relaxing. We found the staff helpful and polite.. the rooms very clean and the food was good. In all a really nice place to stay.
Thanking you and your staff for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 750michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,859 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This Weligama Rest House (Heritage Weligama) is very conveniently located for anyone looking for a clean, reliable place to stay en route through the town on the southern road between Galle and Matara. It is a traditional building with clean, largish rooms, reasonable quality Sri Lankan food and friendly service. From certain rooms you get good views over the Bay. The Hotel is situated on the inland side of the main road which obviously has to be crossed if you wish to get to the beach. It is far quieter inside than you might expect with its proximity to the road. We have stayed there several times in years past and have recently eaten there. We would return if passing through town in need of a room or meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinoso, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Our driver booked us in to this hotel for the night when something went wrong with our original booking. The room was good - well the telly didn't work, nor the Internet but that has been the same throughout Sri Lanka - but when we went for our evening meal we were reduced to pointing at the menu and guessing as we couldn't get a coherent response from the, ostensibly, English speaking waiters.

The next morning we were off to look for whales (zero, zilch) and the hotel staff at 6am seemed to consist of two security guards whereas most hotels here are a buzz at that time - so no pack up breakfast as arranged.

We were back from the whales around 10am and there was confusion about the bill, about whether we could or couldn't stay another night etc. Whilst things were getting cleared up we asked for tea. It took over half an hour to arrive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Culebronchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We a family of 4 stayed there during the weekend.The place was quiet even though the main galle -matara road is adjacent to it. If you have the a/c on and the doors closed the room is sound proof. The view of the bay from the up stair room is very good.The food was very good as long as it was sri lankan .The freshly caught fish in curry was delicious.We had no issue with the breakfast.But I must say there was no choice in the food at all.Dinner had no sri lankan option

The sea has to be reached by crossing the road but not a big problem as it is not so busy. The beach just opposite is good for a swim though we did not, due to lack of time.
The staff were co-operative especially the one at the restaurant.(couldn't get his name). Could do with more staff in the restaurant. the artificial water fall was irritating due to the noise.

The rooms were nice,clean and spacious.There were a few leeks in the roof over the corridor and at the entrance to the room which we informed to the reception. Hope it will be attended to without delay.rooms had tea making facility which we appreciated.

The garden is spacious and a good place for kids to play. can be a bit boggy during rain.

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor facing road have a good view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shifa_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel has clean big rooms, nice beds, good a/c and big bathroom. Cleaned to a high standard each day. Unfortunately is across a busy road to the beach, this ruins the garden as you are road side and is loud in the bedrooms. The hotel is also rather a long way around the bay which means you can not swim or surf in the beach just across from the hotel. The breakfast was poor, and they need more staff.

Room Tip: The first floor is definitely better than the ground floor but all will suffer from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAA988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
174 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very pleasant location on the Matara road, the waterfall from the roof infront of the open dining area looks very inviting and the huge banner proclaiming internation cusine a further draw.

The menu is quite frankly rather disapointing , same as any beach restaurant along the cost.

The outside dining area is well appointed and maitained very well. Tables are a bit cramped.

Staff are pleasant, helpful but maybe inexperienced.

It was a quite lunchtime being out of season. Sadly what they did not have on the menu was not apparent until half an hour or so after our order was placed.

The adjacent table of four Sri Lankan business men has Rice and Curry which looked fantastic and from the way they tucked in must of been good.

Our simple meal by comparisson was bland, freshly made for sure. Chicken curry looked sad but the sauce was actually very good.

We got what we ordered however a more experienced waiter would of told us we need not order extra rice as it came with rice. Not his fault but obviously a little more traing is needed.

All in all an average meal in pleasant surrounding, the waterfall is quite noisy but fun.

I would go back in the hope it is better when busier.

Hotel looks good and the pictures of the rooms suggest GHF Hotels have given them a face lift. Never saw them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
1.2 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Weligama
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ALOHA Home & Kitchen
ALOHA Home & Kitchen
#19 of 111 in Weligama
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel
0.4 mi away
Samaru Beach House
Samaru Beach House
#11 of 96 in Weligama
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Weligama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Weligama

Property: Heritage Weligama
Address: Weligama, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Heritage Weligama 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Weligama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing