We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend”
Review of Heritage Weligama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Weligama
Ranked #58 of 101 Weligama B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Modern, clean, satellite tv, tea making facilities, complimentary water, toiletries included. Helpful,friendly manager when he was around. Good food, although limited menu, lovely dining area. Triple room included a fold away bed which was really only suitable for a child as it would fold up if sat on in the middle and unstable to sleep on. Staff were forgetful in replacing towels/toiletries/tea etc. and sometimes left our room unlocked. Good location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have been at The Heritage Hotel for a week now, and with frequent trips up and down the coastline, have amassed a reasonable set of understandings of this area. From the outset, the staff at The Heritage have gone out of their way to ensure my stay was warm and friendly, supportive discrete and professional. From cleaning staff to hotel manager, a welcoming smile into Sri Lankan culture is always there at a glance.
Many visitors here are tourists, often coming in small guided tours to afternoon tea in an authentic old colonial building in top condition. However, I measure the success of this place by the local guests who celebrate their own special occasions by staying here. Birthdays, important business meetings but the most memorable being the 'Coming of age ' celebration, over 100 beautifully dressed Sri Lankan guests introducing their special little girl into the next stage of life.
If you come to The Heritage as a tourist to get European food service and culture, you may enjoy a good effort to cater for your needs. I saw a stressed couple want european food immediately and kind of not get what this place is about. If you come to Sri Lanka to immerse yourself in a gentle culture of guest centred service, welcoming advice, sunshine and triumph over adversity ( it's only 9 years since tsunami hit here) then book yourself a few nights, see for yourself and then try to resist every urge not to come back. I will be returning with my family and friends.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robin227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stopped by at the Heritage Weligama on one of our trips down south, for Break-fast.
We were extremely dissapointed at the quality of food that was served & the service of the staff.
We requested for two cups of tea before our break-fast but we never got it.
We requested for a srilankan breakfast without any fish or meat but requested for eggs; but never got the eggs ; I would describe this food which consisted of two curries as tasteless & of very poor quality served on dishes which were chipped (one dish).While having breakfast the tea which we wanted served before breakfast arrived!!
Extemely dissapointed & would not recommend. It's a shame that SriLanka does improve these hotels; housed in a beautiful old building( now renovated) & in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPJ1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Approximately 20 minutes from Galle is the beautiful beach town of Weligama. Across the road is a fabulous colonial hotel that serves a very pleasant tea. The hotel also has accommodation (obvously) and full meal service although we had just had lunch in Galle (Rampart Hotel). One can sit inside, in the patio (where we did under the fans) or in the garden. I cannot comment on the food but this was a terrific place to relax. I shall probably stay there next time overnight as it would serve as a wonderful place to have a base for swimming (Weligama) and exploring (Galle).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank EPGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a find! A gorgeous, renovated old building, sitting outside on our own terrace having dinner, lovely big (clean) rooms, goregeous lawn in front...

Breakfast was surprisingly bad - nothing at all non-curry to eat, other than some limp white bread and processed "jam". Such a shame, as otherwise it was fabulous staying here.

Just across the road from a quiet, calm beach - but as everywhere in Sri Lanka, look closely and you'll find the open sewers pumping out into the water.

Staff were friendly, helpful etc. But a bit slow at times.

This place shouldn't be listed as a B&B - it's a proper hotel - and a lovely one at that. Everywhere else was full when we came through, and so many places had double their proces, but these guys just charged us the normal rate for the 2 nights they could fit ius in for.

Watch this space, it's going to become a winner!

Room Tip: The two rooms in the old building are great, facing the ocean , your own terrace where you can asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jfpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Fyrsten76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Adéla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
1.8 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#7 of 14 in Weligama
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Lion Palace
New Lion Palace
#12 of 137 in Weligama
9 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jagabay Resort
Jagabay Resort
#12 of 14 in Weligama
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Weligama
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Weligama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Weligama

Address: Weligama, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range: $36 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Heritage Weligama 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Weligama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing