We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse at this beautiful bay”
Review of Weligama Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weligama Bay View
Ranked #28 of 96 Weligama B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice guesthouse at this beautiful bay”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Weligama Bay View is a nice guesthouse situated directly at the Weligama bay. From most of the room you have a direct view of the ocean. The service was great, all the staff very helpful and food was always fresh and tasty, although geared towards western tourists. However, if you ask them to cook traditional food for you they are more than happy to do so. Of course, food in town is a bit cheaper.
The room rates are fair, the rooms themselves simple but clean. The water pressure in the shower is a little low (at least in the first floor), but that is really the worst thing I can say. They got rooms for 2-4 people. If you want the rooms cleaned you have to ask for it. Nobody showed up for cleaning within 4 days so we asked and they did it right away.
For the surfers: You got the beachbreak (which is ok for a beachbreak) right in front of your house and within a short TukTuk ride there are several nice reef breaks.

This is not a luxury hotel but a great place to stay if you travel on a budget.

Room Tip: Let you show all the availbale rooms and then decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
5
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We ran away from the guest house we had first booked in Weligama due to filthy rooms, we were desperate to find something clean and relaxed to stay in.

We were lucky enough to walk into this charming colonial style guest house, we asked to view the room before taking it and we were very happy to see that it was immaculately clean (no dust, grime, rust, cobwebs, smell). we took the room straight away. Our initial stay of 4 nights got extended to 6 and we had the most relaxing and pleasant weeks ever

The owner and his family live in the house which means that he always has an eye on operations and his staff, there is an army of staff working around the clock to make guests as comfortable as possible. Although the owner (Berty a very nice man) and his family live in the house you will barely notice them as they are discrete and occupy quarters completly separated/secluded from the rented out rooms.
The house has an allocated Tuctuc driver (employed by the guest house) who proved to be a great guide for both Weligama and the full south west coast (from Matara to Galle).

Food is great, we ate breakfast and dinner at the house (try Srilankan omlette for breakfast and any of the curries for dinner. Ask them not to add chili). We were usually out during the day and to be honest breakfast was so big that we weren't hungry till evening.

The beach is not so great for swimming but excellent for beginner and intermediate surfing (we were in Weligama for the surf).

Everyone was friendly, helpful and always smiling, an We were even gifted with a lovely bag of tea on departure (they noted that I ordered at least 1 pot of tea per day). They also arranged for our airport transport when leaving, a new big comfortable van and an efficient driver who got us to the airport on time.

We had an amazing holiday and stayed within budget, if we ever visit Weligama again Bay View is where we will be staying

Room Tip: They have both twin and double bed rooms, we didn't know but got moved to a new room when we fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meli z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The team at bay view were fantastic! They were friendly and helpful without being pushy and the waiters worked really hard to keep everyone happy.
The food was tasty and fresh and both the room and food were great value for money! The only let down was the poor water pressure in our shower.
The beach in front of the hotel was kept really clean and it was great to have surfboard rental and lessons available every day.
The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed, it felt very safe and the locking cupboards in the rooms were a nice touch so you could avoid having to take all your valuables down to the beach.
We had a stunning view from our balcony, the air con helped us sleep well at night and the candlelit tables in the evenings were really atmospheric.
The local village has a pharmacy, bank with ATM, post office etc and the boat restaurant 2 mins walk from bay view has the best tiger prawns I have ever tasted!
I would definitely stay at the bay view again! We were sad to say goodbye! X

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliegater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was a chance find on the internet.... on our way from Kandy. It was a very good find. The rooms where large with a good wet room.... our shower was not that powerful but not to bad! We looked straight out on to the beach and all the surfers. I made the most of the surf school and had a lesson and then hired a board a few times. This was a great place with lovely vegetable curries, and good breakfasts. A great place to chill out and enjoy the sun. We stayed for 7 nights and practically eat every meal there as it was so tasty!
Worth a visit and not to touristy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights, found the staff very friendly they do an excellent job of making you feel welcome! Food was exellant, soo good we ate our 3 meals a day there! Excellent value for money specialy if your backpacking or on a budget!

I would defiantly visit again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninnybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Basic guesthouse directly on the beautiful Weligama bay beach, only 5-10 mins walk from busy Weligama village. Has its own surfboard-rental and surf instructor.

We spent 2 nights there in a double room, half-board, for 77 Dollars per night , including taxes (January 2012). A triple room was let for 90 Dollars. As always in Sri Lanka, ask for total price before renting & try to barter. Double-check the bill at check-out.

The rooms are very basic, but functional. They forgot to clean our room - didn't matter because of the short stay. For pictures of the rooms and hotel, go to:
www.bayviewlk.com/weligama_picture.htm

Breakfast (menu) and dinner (buffet) are nothing special, but Weligama village with some restaurants, supermarket and local cafés is nearby. In the evening they have a small bar, open as required. Guests were surfers throughout, approximately 60% Russian, 40% mixed nationalities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.0 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Bay View Villa
New Bay View Villa
#4 of 111 in Weligama
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samaru Beach House
Samaru Beach House
#11 of 96 in Weligama
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weligama Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay View

Property: Weligama Bay View
Address: New Sea Road, Pelana, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weligama Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing