We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best surf place on the south coast”
Review of The Green Rooms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weligama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Rooms
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best surf place on the south coast”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

In our first week in Sri Lanka we had to stay in multiple places since all was booked. The Green Rooms were only available for 2 nights for us, which was a real bummer since they are awesome...

The surf at Weligama Bay was really good especially for us intermediate beginners with a pretty soft beach break and we usually had really good waves.

The place is in a way very casual. It felt a bit like a summer camp for grown ups. A lot of nice people stayed there chilling and surfing. The guys working there are part of the atmosphere with the kids hanging out there as well. It feels a bit like visiting a family. But this family can do proper food. Mum's curry is the best curry we had in Sri Lanka, better than in some super expensive boutique hotels!

The surf coaches were very chilled as well, with less of a surf coaching program that i had in some other locations (with video and theory lessons...) but it was cool we could be spontaneous go into the water often by ourselves but when required get another lesson. Jens & Sophie are really good teachers and i made huge progress at the Spot there.

We only stayed 2 days in the green rooms as mentioned before, but we came back every day that week for surfing and eating and hanging out with the people we met. The rest of the week we stayed in the number one which just didn't have that atmosphere although it was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Upstair Rooms provide a better view over the area & beach, but are more open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didigoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    14
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
35
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A very nice spot for surfers holidays. Lovely bungalows at the beach, away enough from the main road, not too touristic and managed by friendly locals.

Just call to Ajith (aka AJ) to double-check booking, surf lessons and pick-up service. He is owner and manager of the location (the man!). He cares about everything. Perfect english speaking. Very kind and very busy.

Surf lessons at 07:30 AM and 04:00 PM were very funny and very helpful (Thanks Jens, Sophie and Upul). 20-30 surfboards available. Level of waves are for beginner until medium. Waves Maximum 4m.

The service guys are mostly young local fishermen but with european sense of cleanliness and hygiene (Thanks Sanjeewa). Food is sooo good. Fresh fruits and fish. Big breakfasts, delicious dinners and the boys serve from 09:00 AM to 21:00 PM everything is on the menu. Only pizza and pasta was nothing for me but I'm italian:) You have to order curry until 3:00 PM for the dinner, but you will be very happy about your meal. If you stay long enough you'll be able to know this lovely family and drink with them a beer and play carambol.

The rooms could be cleaned and the sheet changed every 3 days and the crows some times are a little bit loud, but except of that it was just perfect.


Thank you guys for the wonderful experience. Hope to see you again one day!

Room Tip: Just double check your room with the manager. There are only 5 rooms with sea view. The others are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iValenghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great bunch of guys - the food is really good too. Fresh fish etc caught that day - even will take you to the market to choose and then BBQ on the beach for you. The place had a nice relaxed atmosphere and they know where to find the best surf too. We had a great time and would certainly come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JossDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Myself and 2 friends just returned from spending a week at the Green Rooms. We had a great time and would recommend people to stay here of you're taking a trip to Weligama. There are only 5 huts/ rooms so there is a very family atmosphere amongst the staff and other guests. We spent most meals dining together. Ajay is in charge and is a very jovial and accommodating host. Along with his brother we took several boat trips out to a reef where the waves were better than the beach break in front. Cost was 1000 rupees per trip. From time to time Ajay would produce a large fresh fish or a lobster caught by the fisherman next door and offer it to us for lunch or dinner. Food was very good. My favorite was the Mums veg curry and the vanilla shake. We've stayed at two other places in the area and this is our favorite. Next time we're coming back with wives and girlfriends so will hire a villa but if we come back for a long weekend surfing on our own we'll stay here. It's basic but food is good, people lovely and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Green Rooms is a great place to chill out and relax. Nice atmosphere and staff. Good surf spot for beginners. It is possible to hire a surfboard and take a surfing lesson.
Thanks Aijth!
Greetings from Poland!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Wxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Greeen Rooms for one night to do some surfing. The staff were super helpful and friendly. Room was real beach hut with open air shower, really nice. Food was good and the atmosphere was very relaxed, which was exactly what we wanted after Mirissa. Good surfboards to rent out. Only four rooms so not too crowded at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna_180213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed at the Green Rooms twice already. Enticed by its beautiful looking website we booked and stayed there the first time in November 2011 and then again in Nov 2012.

in a nutshell: we loved it there.
But there are a few things you have to know and be OK with so you can really appreciate it:

- the Cabanas are beautiful. Wooden, carved, private, clean and simply perfect. Sleeping on the comfy beds after three surf sessions a day with the windows open and the sea breeze blowing through is like a dream. But they are open, so if you don't like nature, don't stay there. Coz nature doesn't differentiate between "outside the Cabana" and "inside the Cabana". There will be the occasional cockroach, spider, mouse etc. But you should be fairly safe underneath your mosquito net :)

- there is no hot water. Which - in all fairness - YOU DON'T NEED IN SRI LANKA! for goodness sake, it's almost 30degrees year round and humid. who the hell wants a hot shower in this climate!?

- the shower pressure is not exactly Western standard. But again, you're on holidays in Sri Lanka, so get over it!

- you will need to let them know in the morning if you fancy something special for dinner. They need to go buy the fish/lobster/prawns etc. If you only decide you want lobster around 5pm, it's too late. Again, pretty simple, no?

- Weligama is NOT a beautiful, picture-perfect beach with white sand and lovely palm trees. Actually, it's rather dirty and defo not one where you can sunbath the whole day (well, at least not where The Green Rooms are located - if you walk 5min, it's OK). But again: people stay there because the surf in front of the Guesthouse is really good. If you're a "i waste my entire day laying at the beach getting fried"-type of person, you'll want to go somewhere else.

- Fishermen: they drag their boats onto the beach right in front of the Green Rooms. The occasional fish smell is unavoidable. Also the occasional gasoline smell when they refill their motors. Well, after all Weligama is a fishermen village so again, suck it up.

Ajith and his boys do all they can to make your stay perfect - but if you can't get over not having a sealed-off, air-conditioned high-standard lodge then this place may not be for you.
If you're an easy-going world traveller/surfer who can adapt to or even appreciates the simplicity of below-Western standard, you will love this place.

We loved it and will go back there again for sure.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the Cabana set a little back (the one with Ensuite bathroom) is the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank julia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 13 in Weligama
45 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Weligama
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Rooms

Property: The Green Rooms
Address: Pelebandara Watta, Pelena, Weligama, Matara SL1, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Weligama
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Rooms is a beautiful surf lodge, right on the beach of Weligama. Each en-suite room is handcrafted in sustainable mango wood, 3 having showers open to the stars. We offer B&B and a surf camp package. Our beach restaurant serves fresh seafood, authentic curries and western dishes. You can join us on a boat trip, fishing tour or come whale watching, all right on your doorstep; a real Sri Lankan experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing