We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Niiice place!”
Review of The Green Rooms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weligama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Rooms
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Green Rooms is a great place to chill out and relax. Nice atmosphere and staff. Good surf spot for beginners. It is possible to hire a surfboard and take a surfing lesson.
Thanks Aijth!
Greetings from Poland!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Wxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for The Green Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Greeen Rooms for one night to do some surfing. The staff were super helpful and friendly. Room was real beach hut with open air shower, really nice. Food was good and the atmosphere was very relaxed, which was exactly what we wanted after Mirissa. Good surfboards to rent out. Only four rooms so not too crowded at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed at the Green Rooms twice already. Enticed by its beautiful looking website we booked and stayed there the first time in November 2011 and then again in Nov 2012.

in a nutshell: we loved it there.
But there are a few things you have to know and be OK with so you can really appreciate it:

- the Cabanas are beautiful. Wooden, carved, private, clean and simply perfect. Sleeping on the comfy beds after three surf sessions a day with the windows open and the sea breeze blowing through is like a dream. But they are open, so if you don't like nature, don't stay there. Coz nature doesn't differentiate between "outside the Cabana" and "inside the Cabana". There will be the occasional cockroach, spider, mouse etc. But you should be fairly safe underneath your mosquito net :)

- there is no hot water. Which - in all fairness - YOU DON'T NEED IN SRI LANKA! for goodness sake, it's almost 30degrees year round and humid. who the hell wants a hot shower in this climate!?

- the shower pressure is not exactly Western standard. But again, you're on holidays in Sri Lanka, so get over it!

- you will need to let them know in the morning if you fancy something special for dinner. They need to go buy the fish/lobster/prawns etc. If you only decide you want lobster around 5pm, it's too late. Again, pretty simple, no?

- Weligama is NOT a beautiful, picture-perfect beach with white sand and lovely palm trees. Actually, it's rather dirty and defo not one where you can sunbath the whole day (well, at least not where The Green Rooms are located - if you walk 5min, it's OK). But again: people stay there because the surf in front of the Guesthouse is really good. If you're a "i waste my entire day laying at the beach getting fried"-type of person, you'll want to go somewhere else.

- Fishermen: they drag their boats onto the beach right in front of the Green Rooms. The occasional fish smell is unavoidable. Also the occasional gasoline smell when they refill their motors. Well, after all Weligama is a fishermen village so again, suck it up.

Ajith and his boys do all they can to make your stay perfect - but if you can't get over not having a sealed-off, air-conditioned high-standard lodge then this place may not be for you.
If you're an easy-going world traveller/surfer who can adapt to or even appreciates the simplicity of below-Western standard, you will love this place.

We loved it and will go back there again for sure.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the Cabana set a little back (the one with Ensuite bathroom) is the best one
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank julia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Weligama is a beautiful fishin town and the Green Room's is even more beautiful, with the added bonus that Ajith, the owner is ecologically minded and trying his hardest to make a change to the only negative thing I can think of saying about the country - it's rubbish issues! The Cabanas are built ecologically, Ajith and the staff clean the litter off the beach very morning, are trying their hardest to recycle and they even use Eco friendly toilet paper!!

If you are going there to learn to surf the beach is perfect as there is no sharp reef, just sand and relatively gentle and fun waves. Perfect for beginners or long boarders. There is also a really good left hander tight outside that breaks rarely and a whole heap of good reef breaks nearby for the more intermediate surfer.

In summary, if you're thinking of heading to Sri Lanka for a laid back surfing holiday with some culture. Head to the Green Rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max_Hepworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

we did not stay here, but we hung out here to eat something and drink something...and hang out with other surfers. i recommend the place - you will be comfortable. they are involved in a variety of good works, and if interested, you should ask how you could get involved or contribute in some way.........food is good. staff is fun. position is great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We came for a day visit to do some surfing....and were tremendously impressed with the beautiful cabanas, the general layout, the helpful staff and the great food... oh and there's the perfect beach with the forgiving sandy bottom!!

We were introduced to The Green Rooms by Bara of Elite Tours Sri Lanka

All the local content, the giving back to the community make this the kind of place I would have booked if I'd have known about it earlier. So next time.......

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Jill_AbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were recommended the green rooms as a surfing stop for our honeymoon and it didn't disappoint! If anything the website doesn't do it justice...

The cabanas were beautiful, so simple but really comfortable. We loved the outside showers, warm water definitely not needed here! Rooms cleaned and new towels when needed. They are switched on to the local environment, recycling, organising beach clean ups and looking after local wildlife. Food was amazing, locally sourced and freshly cooked in clean, open kitchens.

Surf was brilliant, we went on guided trips to the reef each morning and surfed the beach outside the green rooms each day which was idyllic. They had a good range of boards, though had lost a lot to damage (but were waiting on a big shipment.)

The staff were so lovely, really helpful organising trips and anything you wanted really. The dogs were great and there is a beautiful view over the beach which was 30 m from your room. Loved how intimate the grounds were, you can be private or social but essentially a chilled out and excellent surf break.

Can't wait to go back one day soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Jen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#2 of 14 in Weligama
267 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 14 in Weligama
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Rooms

Address: Pelebandara Watta, Pelena, Weligama, Matara SL1, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Rooms is a beautiful surf lodge, right on the beach of Weligama. Each en-suite room is handcrafted in sustainable mango wood, 3 having showers open to the stars. We offer B&B and a surf camp package. Our beach restaurant serves fresh seafood, authentic curries and western dishes. You can join us on a boat trip, fishing tour or come whale watching, all right on your doorstep; a real Sri Lankan experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing