We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of Jagabay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jagabay Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we too read our guide book which said it was good quality/price value. But we don't agree. it was very expensive for a place that was dirty the curtains the only method of privacy did not meet in the middle and were falling off ! the a/c didn't work! and when signalled the owner didn't really seem bothered about providing the service paid for and advertised; he seems to get enough clients so doesn't need to bother! teh beach was beautiful bu there were strong waves. a tuk tuk is necessary to get to Mirissa or Welligama.

Room Tip: maybe the bungalows were better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahdeharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We came here having read our guidebook that said Weligama was the place to be and Mirissa was still quiet. I guess we has an old guidebook as the opposite was true and we moved to Mirissa pretty quickly.
Having said that the beach at Jagabay is deserted so if you're looking for a quiet spot with a gorgeous beach then this is a great place to be. The staff are very helpful too but we just preferred the slightly livelier atmosphere and choice of beachside restaurants in Mirissa.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We just ended our fourth stay at Jagabay and it was fab as always! Gorgeous beach, great people, and stellar food. If you're staying, do try the grilled tuna...amazing! As always, Jagath and his staff do everything to make your stay special.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jperera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel is not very modern , but very nice with the very good restaurant . For the money we paid absolutely excellent . Owner is very friendly helping in every moment . As of location it is close to the harbor which is nice if you would like to visit fish market or have trip to for the whales .
We Stephen 3 days with the children , and they enjoy very much beach with the not so big waves , just perfect for fist surfing lessons for 7 and 10 years child's

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Piotr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in this quiet resort, beautiful beach not crowded, delicious food, very kind staff, pleasant garden, good price value, no problem to reach Weligama centre by tuk-tuk. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This resort was a real discovery for us! It is located on a peaceful corner of a beautiful sandy beach, a little apart from the crowds of the center! The food was exquisite (esp. fish and curries!!) and the owner (who speaks also English and German fluently) is one of the kindest persons we ever met and has been always extremely friendly and very helpful. We organized a couple of trips with him and we were more than satisfied! Thank you Jagath for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Private P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

A large hotel located on a part of the bay that is virtually deserted. It was like having a private beach. The rooms are very clean and have good standard but the whole place seems like it has seen better days. The garden is very nice and they have a small pool. The restaurant is very good and it is good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
1 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
75 reviews
1 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Weligama
169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagabay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagabay Resort

Address: Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Price Range: $44 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jagabay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jagabay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing