We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Tissa on the south coast og Sri Lanka - a hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Tissa Beach Resort
Ranked #46 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Weligama
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We found this very small hotel by accident – and what a lovely place. If nightlife and bars and citylife is a must for you, do not go here. But if you like unspoilt and beautiful beaches, quiet surroundings and many birds it is another question!
We started our round trip I Colombo, the capital. And there you should choose the old colonial Hotel Galle Face. If you long for country life after some days of city life, go to Villa Tissa in Weligama.
When it is time to go on, the National Park of Yala is not far away.

Room Tip: Choose one of the room that face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ole78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 27 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

We were supposed to stay for three nights but only stayed for one. It feels like you are staying with friends in their beautiful, beach-front villa and the staff are really friendly and try hard but unfortunately this hotel hasn't quite got it right. There are no windows, only slatted wooden bar-type things, which means creepy crawlies can freely get in and the room is full of mossies (quite annoying), fireflies (quite beautiful) and all other manner of insects at night. It was very quiet when we were there, us and two other guests. The Sri Lankan owner was visiting from Belgium and he was very nice and helpful. They don't serve alcohol as they don't have a licence but you can bring your own to have with dinner. Dinner was light (small portions) and there was no choice (no menu) but we were treated to beautifully seasoned and cooked seer fish, cooked with love. The pool was a highlight. The hotel is in quite a remote location and there is nowhere to go without a tuk tuk. The beach is utterly stunning and deserted - we felt like Robinson Crusoe but unfortunately that didn't make up for the strange "ghost town" feeling at the hotel (the staff leave at night).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Having stayed at various 'boutique' hotels around the world, this property does not meet the comfort and luxury afforded by a 'boutique hotel'. Rooms are rather basic and, quite frankly, disappointing. Despite the overpriced rates, there is no TV nor AC in the rooms, the toliet and bathroom needs upgrading and the room is constantly filled with mosquitos and insects. The hotel is not close to any shops and the nearest town (Weligama) is a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away. Rooms are sold on a half board basis only (breakfast and dinner) and the meals served here leaves a lot to be desired. Portions served up for dinner is very very small so be prepared to go hungry. The owner is not present at the hotel and every time a customer wants to complain about the hotel/service (which happened a few times during our short stay), one of the staff needs to get on the phone.
Whilst the hotel leaves a lot to be desired, most of the staff that work here are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mils_londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Was there in Oktober 2010 for 3 weeks. Stayed 2 weeks in the villa and did a one week trip which was organised by the hotel. Everthing was really nice. A very quiet place. Good for realaxing. We had the Villa to ourselves. Super food, and the fuits.... hmmmm
The 6 day trip was organised perfectly. The driver Manju was super nice, like all Srilankan people, he spoke german and english fluently.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyvecetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank fritzi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: demander les chambres du nouveau batiment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maellie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: piani alti migliori
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
0.0 mi away
Villa Naomi Beach
Villa Naomi Beach
#15 of 129 in Weligama
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lion's Rest
Lion's Rest
#1 of 100 in Weligama
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Surf Inn
Coconut Surf Inn
#18 of 34 in Midigama
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dew Drop Villa
Dew Drop Villa
#6 of 129 in Weligama
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#7 of 129 in Weligama
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wave Surf Inn
The Wave Surf Inn
#16 of 34 in Midigama
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tissa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tissa Beach Resort

Address: No 64 Kadabeddagama, Gurubebila | ., Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Weligama
Price Range: $20 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Tissa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Tissa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tissa Beach Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing