We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last impressions”
Review of Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #67 of 98 Weligama B&B and Inns
london
1 review
“First and last impressions”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I arrived for the duration of the Galle Test, and had no pre-conceived ideas of what to expect. It was apparently not the Hotel's fault that the brochure stated there was a lift, when in fact there never has been one. I was allotted a top (4th) floor room and, as an arthritis sufferer, I was not amused at having to scale a few flights of stairs so often. That inconvenience was quickly outweighed by the friendly, helpful and welcoming staff.
The seaview from the balcony was beautiful - especially at sunrise and sunset. The quality, variety and presentation of food was excellent, and the service impeccable - and there was an endless supply of free refreshment from 10am till 11pm. What more should one want?
The Hotel certainly needs some refurbishment, and the management is aware of this. However, whenever a fault was reported, it was acted on immediately, and generally rectified.
Perhaps not the ideal location for a family holiday, because there's not much of interest within walking distance; but as a resting place for the main purpose of our visit - to watch cricket - it was just fine.

Room Tip: Inspect before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
8
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We visited Bay Beach in February having read previous reports and seen pictures we were not totally surprised by the run down hotel. All what is said in the reviews is true, packs of wild dogs roaming but they never bothered you, the swimming pool was clean and there seemed to be enough sun beds to go around for the amount of people there. Rooms were ok and the food was a bit hit and miss, but what makes this hotel is the staff and the postion of it. You are not far from a beautiful beach in Mirrsa, a short 25 minute into Weligama, bus stop at end of road. We loved this holiday and made some great friends. Would we go back to this hotel again probably not until it was renovated

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirty_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weligama hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at the Bay Beach Hotel so that we could go and watch the cricket test match at Gaul and, after reading some of the other entries concerning this hotel, felt I should add some balance.
Whilst I can see that for those who had only read the official hotel web site description it may have been a disappointment as it is very shabby round the edges. However, we did not go with particularly high hopes and were pleasantly surprised.
Our room was spacious, clean, had comfortable beds, efficient air conditioning, good shower, hot water at any time and a beautiful view through the patio doors of the picturesque bay with the pretty fishing boats. The room was cleaned thoroughly each day and clean towels provided. The tea and coffee making facilities in the room were fine, with teabags, coffee sachets replaced daily, along with two bottles of water each day.
We had a hanging rail and not a wardrobe, but I did not have any problem with that – so long as I had somewhere to hang clothes it did not matter if it was behind doors or not!!
Regarding previous comments about the bar, we found this a particularly pleasant place to be. The drinks were not lined up on the shelves as they were kept in the fridges. There was certainly never any shortage of beer, soft drinks, spirits. It had a good atmosphere and it was lovely to sit out on the terrace watching the sea, and the fishing boats coming and going.
There were also previous comments about the dogs. I don’t know why so much was made of that, they are all over the country, (part of the scenery), not just near the hotel. There were some wandering about the beach and the road, but we did not see any on the hotel grounds during our stay. They were not in any way aggressive, they generally just ignored us as we passed, or sometimes would wag a tail! Although they occasionally got into a group howl, it all died down again after half a minute. Certainly nothing to keep anyone awake at night.
The swimming pool must have been cleaned up since the previous bad reports as it was perfectly clean when we were there and we were happy to swim in it.
The food we found more than adequate. I have to confess that we did have some better, excellent meals out – but would not have had a problem if we were only able to eat at the hotel. They tried hard with some special themed nights – the Sri Lankan night was the best in my opinion. As a non meat eater I never had any problem finding plenty to eat.
All in all bearing in mind that it is only 3 star, in an area which is far from affluent, where they have suffered the effects of the terrible tsunami, not to mention cyclone damage last November, I think they should be given more credit and I would be happy to return and stay there again.

Room Tip: I think I would not choose a ground floor room there. We were on the second floor in re-furbished r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallorca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked this last minute after a change of plan to our travel schedule without having any information about the place appart from the misleading website.It probably once was a good hotel but 30 years later without any maintenance it has turned it into a dump. We stayed approximately 30 minutes, enough to see the dirty, tired broken rooms,the filthy beach , stray dogs and their excrement everywhere and everywhere we looked in the hotel there was disrepair from the gardens to the restaurant and bar. The other reviews sum it up....just don't stay here , there are so many better places nearby!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ojmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Lancs
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Managed to escape this hotel after 3 hours. A demolition site best describes this hotel with all the broken windows, rooms gutted, no fronts on them, with broken sun beds stored in them.
The pool advertised as "sapphire blue" was the coluor and density of pea soup, water from a huge hole in the grounds being pumped into it.
The sandy cove was full of wild, dogs and their excrement.
Found it impossible to stay. The manager came to try and convince us there were not any problems!! When I pointed out the hotel was supposed to have been renovated his reply was it is also supposed to have a lift but it hasn't!!
Stay clear of this hotel it is the hotel from hell.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank olive064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton On Sea
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We booked a 6 weeks holiday of a lifetime retirement present, which turned out to be a holiday from hell. The hotel beach looked a dream in the brochure but it was actually the beach on the next bay. Every amenity which it states in the brochure just wasn't there. The beach was filthy with dogs mess, fishing boats, rubbish everywhere. Couldn't swim in the sea, sea full of diesel oil. Broken glass in the window frames which was reported and very dangerous but nothing was done about it. Hotel looked more like a prison camp than a holiday tourist hotel. Pack of 12 - 14 dogs on the beach, howling day and night like wolves. Hotel was supposed to be all inclusive but had very limited choice of food and drink. Staff knew the problems and agreed with us, we felt sorry for them, they were all very nice and done as much as possible under the circumstances but their hands were tied. It took us 17 days to be moved to a decent hotel. Do not go to this hotel!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter Devon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

we have used Mercury direct 3 times before and have stayed in such a shambolic hotel and have also visited Sri Lanka x2 before so this was our third visit
the statement of recently renovated is a total misrepresentation of this hotel, we managed to escape after 1 week to another slightly better hotel.
There was a steady stream of visitors leaving this hotel to move to the nest one
.• The sea was not approachable as oil and diesel from the fishing boats floated on the sea and then human and dog’s excrement floating across the bay.
• There was also a sewage overflow creating a stench from the cesspit which when it rained flowed down over the beach.
• Up to 10 wild diseased dogs covered with mange wandered over the grounds and the so called beach area they were defecating, urinating and yes actually mating [tied) on the beach, we were kept awake from the constant howling at night. The dogs were seen wandering the grounds, stairs and corridors this was their patch!!!! Holidaymakers were not welcomed. See the pictures.
• The pool was not useable it looked like a pea soup and look at the photos they show you why!?
• In the grounds/ gardens there were a total of 10 sunbeds, 4 by the pool and 6 others they were an attraction due to the rarity but as to where we could go with them well this was a problem.
• There appeared to be concrete section capped to a drainage run omitting raw sewage onto the lawn near a window outside a room (Mosquito Heaven!!)
We are in the process of seeking compensation for the disastrous holiday

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouiseexeterDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.0 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
374 reviews
1.5 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#8 of 114 in Weligama
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Bay View Villa
New Bay View Villa
#4 of 114 in Weligama
98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beach Hotel

Property: Bay Beach Hotel
Address: Kapparatota, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing