We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but can survive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed one day without prior research about this place. Can't say its great place to hang out but it was Ok place. You get a normal room with OK bathrooms but service is bit slow. Don't expect lot when you go there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 200 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped here for one night without having done any prior research, what a mistake! The room was dirty, the decor was ok in the lobby and on the outside but terrible in the rooms. No air con, the fan wobbled and was not over the bed, so it was boiling in the room. The curtains were apparently 'being washed' so there was nothing to block out the light in the morning. We had to request a mosquito net, which was full of holes and we got bitten more than anywhere else on our trip. The shower was pathetic and this was the most expensive place we had stayed at $35. They kept trying to sell us their 'cabanas' on the beach for a reduced $50. They looked OK on the outside but didn't have wifi and the interiors stank as well as having a rusty fridge in the corner that was suppose to be a the 'mini bar'. Overpriced and terrible quality. I would recommend staying next door at Samaru beach house, where you can get ac for the same price and there is a much better vibe there. Alternatively you can stay in Mirissa, which is much prettier and head to Weligama in a tuk tuk if you want to surf. We stayed at the Central Beach Inn during our time in Mirissa and this is a great spot and half the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenfingers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for five days and it was awesome...the owner was really friendly and had many times gae me treats during my stay, eg cardamonn tea n bananas from her garden. Their rooms are spotless with really high ceiling.

I havent eaten in their restaurant as i dine mainly in a local family shop nearby. Thus, cant comment on their food...

Their neighbours like samaru or weligama bay resrt always seemed packed...but i guess the reason is they are listed in travel guides more than anything else. Stay here, ...its more laid-back as its more of a hiddem gem. ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben_qb_teng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been travelling throughout Sri Lanka for 1 month and, although on a tight budget, decided to opt for a couple of days of luxury before hitting the road again. From all accounts this resort is the best value for money option in the region and it has not disappointed.

Fantastic staff, right on the beach, tasty food, clean rooms and great service. Pretty unheard of in Sri Lanka to have all of these together! Very impressive.

Matt- Australia

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

nice hotel with a good view of the weligama bay. The rooms were clean. It is a great place to relax, because they have a great beach front area and you can just rest for hours even by looking at the sea. There aren't much of a crowd on the beach, so you wont be disturbed. The staff was very helpful to us.
When it comes to food, we felt that the quantity was not enough for the money paid. Nevertheless, the food was tasty and we loved the deviled chicken. Overall we had an awesome relaxing time in weligama and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: if you want a sea view, then go for a A/C cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanithJayawardana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice hotel with well kept a garden and clean rooms (with hot water).
But thats it. The hotel is close to a well used high road, that is a huge problem for you cant get a decent rest if you are staying in a room which is on the street side.
The food is average, the service poor.
For the price i payed they do not deserve two stars.
The owner or manager were unfriendly and not dedicated.
The room itself was okay, clean but no decoration and the fan was not above the bed so it was useless
The place itself is very good but for that amount of money you can find much more batter places than this.

Room Tip: Better go for one at the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Neptune resort is one of the best in waligama, Sri Lanka.. Its a great place to relax.. The food is great and service is quick... Also the staff is very friendly, Perfect location, nice beach an best place to go surfing..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malinga U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Mr. Malinga,

thank you very much for the kind review on Trip Advisor, it is our ultimate goal to satisfy our customers and make their holidays memorable. Weligama is still an off the beaten track and we are proud to say that it’s one of the best surfing spots in down south. We hope that you enjoyed your surfing lessons and invite you to be our guest whenever you are in Weligama, if you are interested in surfing lessons, don’t hesitate to contact us, we’ll be glad to assist you. Thank you once again for the kind review.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
434 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Weligama
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)

Address: 484, New Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Weligama
Price Range: $66 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Story Hotel is located in the south of the island, right on the beach in the village of "Weligama." This is one of the best places in the world for learning to surf. Sandy bottom and not fast waves provide security for beginners. Its also popular among longboarders for long right and lelt rides . In a 10-minute drive away there are good reef spots such as Mirissa, Matara, Cabalana, Plantation and Lazy Left. The variety of waves suitable for both beginners and advanced surfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing