We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach front & beautiful, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Weligama
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beach front & beautiful, but expensive”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I slept so well here so why the average rating?

I stayed in 1 of the Cabanas. It's spotless clean. A/C worked well but the hot water wasn't all there and that's usually not a problem but the Cabana did cost $89 per night!
For that money in Sri Lanka, you'd expect things to be perfect.
The breakfast was basic at best. A fried egg, burnt toast, butter and jam.
The location is amazing but for the money you can find something better elsewhere.

Overall a well located, clean and organized resort but for the money you can do much better.

Room Tip: Although the surf boards are only 300 rupees, you're better off renting next door for 400 becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fajer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Neptune Resort, currently we are offering 4 different type of rooms to cater to all pockets, not only the high end visitors, that’s what we believe helps to gain a competitive advantage.

Before renting the Cabana rooms we are giving instructions how to operate the water heater, 5 minutes before taking a shower it should be switched on and switched off after taking a shower, to ensure hot water.

If you are visiting Weligama again, we are inviting you to be our guest, we’d like to show you the basic rooms, which are comfortable, yet affordable.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    33
    19
    15
    22
See reviews for
16
71
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tours, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This resort is too expensive according to the quality of the room/bungallow, no charm or nice decoration...nothing special...food average....But the staffs is very nice, managment very nice too and location is perfect, more far than the other one from the road so no noise and perfect beach, specialy for surfing !!! Could be good to think about decoration and confort in bungallow and at the beach terrasse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djukbaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teena_St, Manager at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for rating our property on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our service. The Weligama Bay is still an off the beaten track, where you can enjoy the good weather and water sport activities throughout the whole year or simply enjoy a fresh fruit juice while relaxing on the beach.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the interior, we will definitely consider your request and try to change it in the future. We hope to welcome you at the Neptune Resort once again, kindly note that we are offering a 10% discount for our loyal guests.

Kind regards,
Your Neptune Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location, well kept grounds, food good but not great.
Rooms compact for 3 persons - as with most accommodation in SL no hot water & water pressure low. We did have A/c & fan but we had to move the single bed to feel the air from the fan.
Family run & attractive bungalows - however altho' enjoyed stay, not worth the $99.00 per night. (triple room) $50.00 would probably more appropriate.
But there is not much 3 star accomm. in the area so they can afford to "overcharge".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Ok. This place is picture perfect. Manicured gardens. Best beginner surf spot straight out the front. Also fun waves for experienced surfers. The rooms are clean & fresh. The bungalows again ... Picture perfect. BUT. do yourself a favour and read EVERY review before staying here ( including those in ALL the 'more reviews tabs ) We were actually stoked for the first 2 days. Lovely room, met some lovely people, fun surfing. Must say though we could not believe why Neptune was close to empty and next door was packed. A new friend had a good sum money and travellers cheques stolen out of his room. We know this can happen anywhere but he did have it hidden and the management did stress they had a one key policy. He was leaving the key with the manager while he was surfing when the incident happened. Next was a surfboard hire incident with another couple. Management claimed a fin was missing from the surf board they had returned however being a witness to this incident, there was definitely no fins missing when the board was returned . We have now discovered this incident in another review. If they had read the reviews in the 'more reviews' tab they could have realised that this was a scam. They paid money to have the board repaired. I know it this may not seem much but it made us take notice of the general vibe of the place. We found Neptune to be deceiving. The management were tricky. Nice enough on the outside but something was not quite right. We left after 4 days. We had paid upfront for seven. This was the only place in Sri Lanka in which we felt like we could get ripped off. One thing I must mention is that when we were traveling around, & a local would ask us where we stayed, when we mentioned Neptune Weligama they would ALWAYS have something negative to say. 'Very bad man' was the most common. This place was known to locals from Galle to Tissa. Don't be fooled. Stay at ANY other place in Weligama. We stayed in Sri Lanka for one month. When people at home ask us 'what was the highlight?' Without hesitation the answer is 'The people'. Always smiling and welcoming. I cannot wait to return. But we will never return to Neptune Weligama

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANDYJULIELESLIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

If the room didn't cost $40 a night I'd proabably give the place 3 stars.. Let me explain. The room didn't have AC which is fine for a budget beach bungalow, also the fan wasn't above the bed so it was completely useless. We tried to move the bed but had to lose mosquito net in the process.
The staff was friendly, the food was terrible and expensive. I'm no culinary expert but the blood in my chicken (which was also pink) had me eating white rice for dinner.
Finally the worst part was the construction next door. They stopped at 11pm and started at 7am. Stopping at 11pm was no problem for us as we go to sleep late, just be aware its loud until then.
Neptune was our least favorite hotel in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Look out the window when you check the room. Check if you are facing the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my wife spent one week at the Neptune Resort, since we prefer less crowded places to relax an enjoy our holidays. Earlier we were staying at a hotel in Colombo and decided to go to the south to see more of Sri Lankas lovely beaches. In the Neptune Resort, we found what we searched for. The bungalow rooms are furnished with beautiful canopy beds, compared to several places, we must say that the bathrooms were very clean. If we wanted to get the rooms cleaned we had to inform the front officer and got it done immediately. The food, which we enjoyed at the beach restaurant with a breathtaking sea view was delicious and prepared by the owner itself. The hotel staff maintains the garden and beach very well. We've read the negative comments posted by others and can not believe that they were referring to the same place. The rates are acceptable and the menu offers a big choice. We can only recommend this place. We'll be back soon again with our family and friends. Thank you Yamuna for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the bungalows with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Relaxed verblijf aan het strand, goede kamers, heel leuke en vriendelijke staf, manager Asanka,Mala ,the Cook and miss Yamuna thanks to make our 5 days
so nice.
Moreover we like to thank the local fisherman (rightside beach) for their
patience to help us out with their habits etc. Do not forget them with a sigaret.

For the Cook is nothing to much to meet your wishes.

If you want to understand Sri Lanka people talk to and with the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bripeet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 13 in Weligama
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Weligama
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 13 in Weligama
138 reviews
5.8 mi away
Turtle Eco Beach
Turtle Eco Beach
#7 of 19 in Matara
144 reviews
3.1 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)

Property: GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Address: 484, New Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Story Hotel is located in the south of the island, right on the beach in the village of "Weligama." This is one of the best places in the world for learning to surf. Sandy bottom and not fast waves provide security for beginners. Its also popular among longboarders for long right and lelt rides . In a 10-minute drive away there are good reef spots such as Mirissa, Matara, Cabalana, Plantation and Lazy Left. The variety of waves suitable for both beginners and advanced surfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing