We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samaru Beach House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Samaru Beach House
Ranked #12 of 88 Weligama B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We spent the last four days of our two week holiday here to relax by the beach and couldn't fault the place. The staff are friendly, the manager is knowledgable and helped organise our transport back to the airport (for a lot cheaper than other places on the bay) and tuk-tuks when needed. Definitely the best place to eat in the bay, we know this from talking to other people staying in the area who came to Samaru every day specifically for the excellent food (if you go you must try the fresh lobster, amazing!). Consider this place to be very good value for money, spacious rooms, clean and was quiet for the duration of our stay. Our guide book described this place as a top budget option and if you want a friendly, relaxed, sociable guest house to stay then this is the place. Much more character than other so-called 'top end' accommodation in Weligama.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    14
    5
    12
See reviews for
9
33
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

You won't find better. Great food, super-friendly family-run guesthouse. Nothing is too much trouble for Aruna, Chaminder and Sam. Great staff, good price, excellent fish restaurant with a great cook. You can rent boards or bring your own. Sept - April super clean 1-m surf every morning and evening. Will suit all levels. Sandy bottom, clean beach, great outdoor shower under the shady palms after a surf. Aruna can arrange tuktuk travel all around. Lovely guests in general. Good vibe - Weligama town itself is a good place to visit - plenty happening. Pharmacy, doctor, local shops nearby - I could have spent months here. If you surf, a longboard or standup paddleboard is fine - bigger days, bring your shortboard as there are two nice peaks, both with long lefts and rights. Very clean rooms, great view, lovely garden, wonderful people - can't say more and I would recommend this place to anyone - much better than the expensive and inferior boutique hotel next door. If you surf, you'll love the place, and if you don't, you'll also love the place as my wife did as it's very charming and endearing. Go and enjoy it,

Adam

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drenglandSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

First of all Aruna and his brother are such great hosts, they make you feel like you are at home at Samaru. The rooms are very clean and nice, best I found at the price range of about USD 25-30. The food is awesome- especially the dal curry! They have a variety of surf boards to rent and are great surf teachers! I was standing up in just 2 days and loving it! The beach is so private, lot's of surfers in the morning and evening, but during the day you have the beach literally to yourself. No locals harassing you at all. In the evening everyone sat up on the deck watching the sunset and enjoying either tea or a beer. I highly recommend Samaru and will definitely stay there on any trips back to Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipsahoy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

We moved to Welligama after a few days in Hikkaduwa - which like most places in SL (and the rest of the world) was full of beach sellers and found Samaru. Its located just east of the main town on a perfect stretch of beach with a simple beach break perfect to learning to surf. The very friendly owners welcomed us and we had a great room on the first floor with great views of the beach. Welligama is a very quiet place - perfect to relax, read a few books, learn to surf without annoying anybody (or being laughed at) and eat some great seafood and drink a few beers!. Everyone who stayed here did not seem to want to leave again and many came back after trying the more well known beaches!

The owner can arrange trips - with a very (safe) friendly driver and the place is generally very traveler friendly - and the owner will even pop into town for a few carlsberg sif your tired of lion.... or ever a bottle of wine to go with the lobster (when available...).

The beach is just perfect for kids - with little or no undercurrent - just give them a body board and point to the sea and many families come for day trips from Mirissa (as the beach there is not very safe for the very young),

We stayed almost 10 days in the end - with day trips to Galle and beyond and would highly recommend a few days at least!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venezia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed there for three days, and even if the position is perfect close to the beach and the surf, the people at Samaru really disappointed me.The price of the rooms compared to the level of comfort and the standard of services is really a swindle,i've been really disatisfied.Don't go there if you like a quite place,and you want to spent less and get a better place to stay,weligama has plenty of gesthouses and residence to choose.I'm really sorry to say that because singalese people are lovely and nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank federiccone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamaruBeachHouse, Owner at Samaru Beach House, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Samaru Beach House is sorry that we weren't able to reach your expectations during your stay and we thank you kindly for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Some friends had advised us to stay at Samaru Beach House, Weligama so we went there and ended up staying there much longer than expected. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The guys working there are very friendly and they have a very good cook. There are many things to do and see around.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageuse014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, COrnwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

A wonderful guest house, very friendly, helpful staff who will solve any problem, and organise any trip, from collection at the airport and back, into Weligama, and all over Sri Lanka - where ever you want to go.
Lovely, clean rooms, with great views, either over the sea or garden.
Best food in Weligama, and a very relaxing atmosphere to eat, sleep, and chill out.

Would definately recommend Samaru to anyone going to Sri Lanka

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.7 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
0.1 mi away
Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel
0.2 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaru Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaru Beach House

Property: Samaru Beach House
Address: 544 New Bypass Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samaru Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaru Beach House Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing