We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location - great for surfing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samaru Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaru Beach House
Ranked #11 of 88 Weligama B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best location - great for surfing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Samaru is right on the beach in Weligama in front of extremely reliable surf. We stayed for four nights - three nights in an upstairs room and one in a downstairs room. The upstairs room was really nice with a comforable bed, huge mosquito net and lovely place to sit on the veranda outside. The downstairs room was more basic but still had a veranda to sit on and a rack to dry clothes and towels. Samaru also has an elevated deck that all guests can hang out on, eat, drink and watch the surf, which is cooled by the sea-breeze even when the weather is very hot and sticky. We paid 5500 Rs+ the usual 10% service charge a night for half-board, which we thought was very good value considering the great location right on the beach, the spacious rooms and that dinner and breakfast were included (and it was peak season).

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frochel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    14
    5
    12
See reviews for
9
33
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Nice rooms, nice friendly staff. Indee took us the whole day to some attractions in the neighbourhood (white tea factory, turtle hatchery, steltfishers, rope factory (from coconuts), temple, batik factory, gem factory). It was low season so were the only ones staying there for 1 night. Nice place for surfing also (we didn't do that). If we would have some more time we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Excellent. Went to sri Lanka for a 10 day surf trip with my girlfriend. Contacted Samaru beforehand and they arranged an airport pick up for us. The location is fantastic, right in front of good surf. The rooms are basic but exactly what we were looking for (AC, Hot water). Food was fantastic, service was very good. What really makes this place are the peopl. Chaminda, Mereil and the boys made us feel super welcome and were really friendly happy people. In fact we played cricket on the beach with them most nights. Location is a short Tuk Tuk rife to Mirissa and Unawatuna . We went to Udu Walawe from here, which they sorted out for us entirely. In short this place was a real find and we cant wait to go back. Thanks for a great stay fellas.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apointinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Me and my wife came her to surf, chill out on the beach and eat lunch. The food was great but the boards were in very bad condition. We rented a board for my wife but it was a bit to small so i only helped her paddle into one tiny wave (shes a beginner). We switched the board and she surfed the new board for an hour. After that I went for a surf and suddenly my wife came out to me in the water and told me that the manager accused us of breaking off one of the side fins of her first board, which was plain lie. When we gave the board back it was not broken but the manager threatened us with "if you dont pay 2000 rupies trouble will happen" so we didnt dear not to not pay. The manager was not friendly in the first place but threatening us in order to pay for fixing a board (that was in really bad in the first place and no insurence offered) that we are certain that we didnt damage is just awful. We and 3 other people who overheard our conversation with the manager boycotted this place for the rest of the week.

Room Tip: Dont rent it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbcarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed at the guest house for 3 weeks and everyone there made me feel very welcome and cared for. As a solo female traveller this was important. The room was comfortable and cleaned whenever I asked. The food was good, especially the breakfast but not everything on the menu was always available in the evening though. The food was cooked at my convenience which was great. The guest house is family owned and I found Chaminda especially helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.The beach is lovely and mostly deserted except for surfers who were fun to watch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

The Samaru Guesthouse is a nice place to stay. The beach is directly in the front and there are good waves for surfing if you want. The Guesthouse rents surfboards as well. We probably were a little bit unlucky with the Guesthouse, because we actually had a booking for a room for Rs. 1500 but when we arrived there they showed us a room for Rs.5500 with breakfast. Their excuse was that the people who are now in the cheap room didn’t leave as they said. So it was a really stupid situation for us, because the room for Rs. 5500 was way too expensive for us. Lucky we, they did a discount and we could stay for Rs.3500 in the expensive room, but still actually it was not what we wanted. They promised that we can change after two nights in the cheap room. In addition we thought that they were really pushy about eating in their restaurant and if they saw that you didn’t eat there then they got a little bit upset. And if you leave make sure that the bill is correct…because our drinks and the food, which we ate and drank was on the final bill more expensive then it was actually written in their menu.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicoleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We booked this hotel for three days after reading the reviews on this site. The hotel is nicely situated right at the surf spot on the beach. The restaurant is located on stilts above the beach and you can sit there for hours looking at the surfers an enjoying the sun and wind. The staff was helpful and very friendly. We experienced the food as moderate and pricey. The hotel had definitely the worst beds we slept on in Sri Lanka. We were surprised it is rated as the number one place in Weligama. There are probably much better places to stay for the same amount of money in Weligama or nearby Mirissa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel
0.2 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surasa Beach Resort
Surasa Beach Resort
#60 of 88 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaru Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaru Beach House

Property: Samaru Beach House
Address: 544 New Bypass Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samaru Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaru Beach House Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing