We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time in sri lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Marawila
somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Third time in sri lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

we went back to sri lanka for the third time in the 12th of october untill the 31st,
we stayed at club palm bay as we have the last two years, club palm bay is an excellent hotel.
The staff are realy welcoming , it was nice to go back and the staff remember you, which you wouldnt find any where alse than sri lanka , everything you need is there , the food is great , we had room service , which was excellent ,
club palm bay is a very pretty place the views from our room if fantastic , we had a lagoon side room , so pieceful , when we sat out on the patio, i can recommand this hotel , you can have a quiet holiday or you can explore the island which is fantastic ....


TOURS

WE went on many tours this year it was more an adventure hoilday . we went WHITE WATER RAFTING , CANOEING ,CLUMBED ADAMS PEAK , which was over 5000 steps, it was hard , but with the help of our guide , i did it ,THEN we went BARE BACK ELEPHANT RIDING , with a local family , that was such fun ,after that we clumbed LION ROCK WHICH AFTER CLIMBING ADAMS PEAK WAS EASY,we also went FISHING ,in the lagoon and the sea ,
IT WAS AN AMASING EXPERERNCE , we would like to thank our tour guide which never falls to make our holiday specail with taylor mad tours , SLIMLINE TOURS,


LOCAL PEOPLE

WE have got to know the local people very well over the last 3 years , a family that are amasing , always made us feel welcome , we had some amasing nights out ,great fun to be with (,the pereras ) also a very good frind that used to work near club palm bay , they are amasing , always smiling , They make your holiday , REALY SPECAIL

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLIMGIRL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    324
    104
    51
    29
See reviews for
206
428
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

This was the second stay at club palm bay ,we also stayed last year, we love the hotel and marawila , the hotel is lovely and relaxing the food and service are very good the staff are very friendly and pleasent,the rooms could do with updating but are of a nice size clean and comfortable the grounds are very well kept neat and tidy ,
the people in the nearby villages are brilliant some of the most friendly warm people we have ever met and we have travelled all round the world
we would recommend sumudu at slimline travel for all your tours we wouldnt use anyone else he is friendly honest and reliable ,we had the most fantastic tour staying at hibiscus garden hotel going to gale to see the stilt fishermen ,yala national park the highlight there was seeing 4 leopard and lots more thank you sumudu your driver who was excellent throughout the whole 3 days and the guide we will look forward to seeing and booking with you on our next visit

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

Travelled with Mercury Direct but no one told us there was extensive building work being carried out to the ballroom for the period of our stay. You have to pay for diet coke as its imported and most of the leisure facillites such as gym, tennis courts, squash courts, and golf area were poorly maintained. I have to say the service from the general staff especially in the bar and dining hall was excellent.
Rooms are spacious but are starting to look dated with a slight damp smell about them, the gounds are immaculate and the pool great. The spa facillities are tiny.

We booked our excursions with Fernado outside the camp gate as he was cheaper and much more flexible than the hotel reps. The customer comes first, on our 2 day tour he personally purchased medicine when 1 friend was sick, brought my husband a cook book about Sri Lankan culnery arts and gave us total freedom on excusions to stop where we wanted as many times as we wanted as well as giving us excellent service on the schedulled visits. We also used his crew for local trips and were as equally well looked after. Some of the other reps dont even go with their customers on tours and are timed to the minute.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pif1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

well where to start not one of the best i have ever been to .
when we arrived it seemed like we were just dumped and told to go up there .
once we got to reception we were ignored and then once seen told wait no other information was given . when we did get into our room it was a very long walk and the gardens were in a very bad condition . once in our room felt it was OK put on air con the noise was just unbearable so contacted reception to inform i must be fair some one did come very quickly to deal with it took a while to sort . it was just the filter needed cleaning . the man who came to sort it was amazed that it was still working as it looked like it had never been done .
we went down to dinner on our first night and we were very happy with the standard and selection , its amazing how quick things can change as it was the next day when things got worse when we got up in the morning our bathroom was alive with bugs and my wife had been bitten quite a few times we then found out that there was no mossie killer in our room so we tried to get one sorted . what a fuss that was
we went to breakfast wasn't to bad service seemed a bit poor all the staff seemed to be milling around doing nothing when one of them did come to see you it took an age to get anything . but hay ho these things happen we went and got a spot by the pool which i must add is a very nice pool plenty of shade if required and then waited for the poolside service to come . we waited and waited no one came so went to the bar to be told to go and wait some one would come and they did it was a pool attendant that said you had to get your own drinks as pool bar was closed . so off we went when you get to bar staff standing round talking you could then order your drinks which were very limited one type of beer not a very nice one flat machine coke or cordial type drinks which the bar staff taste with a spoon i don't mind that so much but at least clean the spoon once its been licked not just mix the next drink with it . lunch and dinner were no better slow staff when they could be bothered food selection was non existent as it seems that the first night it was good due to a local wedding having been done at hotel . once or twice when ask staff questions was told weddings are more important to deal with .
we thought we would grin and bear it by day three it had become a nightmare , service got to the point where was asked by three members off staff what we would like to drink and then had to hunt it down ourselves as staff all disappeared . then at lunch food ran out and was not replenished so it was a case of take it or go without . dinner fared no better had had enough by now contacted our rep told him my problems and complaints and said i would like to be moved as this was nothing like it should have been .
it would appear i was not the only one who had complained and asked for a move . i must say it was all dealt with on day four we were moved to a same star hotel which in comparison was by far superior . so in conclusion i would like to say if you don't want a good quality of service and don't mind getting there barman's cold then this is the place for you . me i will never use this hotel again . waisted four days of my holiday in that place and had a massive taxi bill to boot but was worth it just to get out of there .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ade668690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Just arrived back home after staying for 2 weeks in Club Palm Bay (10/10/10 to 24/10/10).
Overall we had a lovely holiday in Sri Lanka as this is our 4th visit to this lovely country.
Hotel was set in super grounds, with plenty of space to sunbath and wonder around. Food was very good and of a good quality. Rooms were kept very clean with linen changed daily. Pool towels provided fresh every day. Bar area very clean & comfortable. Swimming pool is large and nicely set out. Overall we had a lovely holiday & added to this was the fact that all the staff were very friendly and a credit to this hotel. Nightly entertainment was based on an organ playing or a live band (very low key ). Would also like to thank Phil & Trish who we met on arrival and also made our holiday special too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatton02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

This our second visit to the club palm bay. We also stayed here in October 2009. The hotel is a real nice place to stay. Staff are really professional, polite and friendly and will all ways make you welcome. Food is of a really good standard properly cooked a good variety and constantly replenished. We are quite impressed that the hotel management always eat the same food as the guest's in the restaurant. The rooms are in need of updating. Hotel grounds are beautiful with the lagoon most of the way round. As a bird watcher naturalist and photographer the hotel is a great place to stay, birds butterflies lizards everywhere.
Step out of the hotel gates ignore the beach boys trying to sell you trips. Walk right and you can walk miles as we have many times meeting the most friendly people in the fishing villages. Join them on the beach's as they tend there boats. Talk to the children play cricket with them, have a bag of toffees and you've got friend's for life.
Turn left on leaving the hotel ignoring the beach boys again, crossing the bottom of the lagoon enter the village. Here you will find the tour company Slim Line tours. We used Slim Line tours twice in 2009 for bird watching tours. Sumudu the owner took us to a bird watchers paradise 1 hour away. I contacted Sumudu by e-mail slimlineholidays.com before our 2010 holiday regarding a tour of the south of the Island.
We visited Gale the stilt fishermen and Yala national park. Sumudu arranged a expert tracker and guide and jeep driver that new the park well. We had fantastic close up views of 4 LEOPARD. Countless bird spices and animals.
Visit the village near sumudus office at 08-30 on a morning to watch the fishermen bring in the boats and sell the fish.
Another fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka Thanks to Club Palm bay and slimline travel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickWPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Wonderful relaxing break in lovely surroundings. A good variety of food served at all mealtimes by friendly, helpful staff. Hotel grounds were very well tended and the large pool was very clean and well staffed. Services was excellent and the whole experience resulted in a fantastic holiday which was excellent value for money.

If you are planning to book any trips locally we can highly recommend Slimline Tours whose office is close to the hotel. Sumudu the owner is very knowledgeable and is a fully registered guide. Because he has an office we were able to check and view the hotel and sights before we booked and the trip more than lived up to our expectations. The cost of the trip was considerably cheaper than any other quotes we were given.
We discovered that some of the guides who wait outside the hotel gate are not always who they say they are.

Sumudu certainly helped to make our trip to Sri Lanka very special.

Mick & Sandra, Cambridge

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geranium147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marawila
9.8 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanmali Beach Hotel
Sanmali Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Marawila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
14.4 mi away
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw
10.4 mi away
Horathapola Estate
Horathapola Estate
#1 of 5 in Marawila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Bay Hotel

Property: Club Palm Bay Hotel
Address: Thoduwawa, Marawila 61224, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Marawila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Marawila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Palm Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Palm Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palm Bay
Resort All Inclusive Palm Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing