We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“danjor44”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Marawila
Reviewed February 22, 2013

had a very good holiday only down side was the very bad manners of the eastern block people
there was a dress code for dinner but was not enforced by management it is not very nice to see
swimming trunks or bare mens chests at the tables . i was told the hotel is building a seperate
dinning room for them .day trips can be purchased out side the hotel there are 3 very good companys samanthas. slimline and fernandos . we had a 2 day trip with our own driver which was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danjor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Club Palm Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 923 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We arrived tired after our flight and transfer. The wecome was great once it came but the geograghy of th entrance is such that guests like us may have to wait or seek help in order to find reception and assistance with baggage. The staff are friendly and any problems such as the kettle plug not matching the only practical socket, were sorted out immediately regardless of it being day or night.
The pool was really good and clean as were the pool towels. Rooms were spacious, well furnished and really clean.
We were only on B&B , unlike most guest who were A.I. The food at night varried in quality from exceptional to just accetable. The breakfasts were good and the service good.
This is a place we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lagoon.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel filled all the criteria we needed for a relaxing break. Huge swimming pool with aqua robics every morning. Spent the most of our time under the shade of trees watching the little squirrels playing. Our large room was at the lagoon where we could spend our afternoons watching the birds etc at play. Food was plentiful,tasty, good choices especially the sweets. When we arrived the normal road in had been washed away but by next day was back in place, Only local village to walk to but fishermen very friendly, however possible to take trips further afield if desired. Try Ngombo lagoon as not too far.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lagoon view as can sit on patio and enjoy the peace.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margaretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have just got back from Club Palm Bay where I have been fortunate enough to be able to stay at this Hotel on and off for the past nine years.But this will probably be my last.For no other reason than the fact it doesnt suit my criteria anymore in other words the hotel has quite rightly so moved on with the times and is becoming one of the busiest hotels in that area and the largest .The Hotel now has a large Russian Intake and caters for the local people and weddings which makes it most enjoyable.The Hotel is only 45minutes from the Airport which makes it ideal for the beginning of your Holiday or resting up at the end before you fly home. Food is good, accomodation a little tired in some of the bungalows but they are doing something about this.Housekeeping very good linen changed every day.Service in both the bar and the dining room good nothing is to much trouble if they have the time they will get it for you.The Hotel is in a peaceful setting but is no longer the very peaceful haven it used to be, but never the less I am sure you will enjoy your Holiday at Club Palm Bay.

Room Tip: If you like a view of the Lagoon instead of the Garden all lagoon view room have even numbers
Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our second time at Club Palm Bay, spending 12 nights there. In many years of travelling we have never returned to the same hotel twice until now. We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a fabulous location with about half of the rooms having a lagoon view. We requested this when we booked the holiday but were given a garden view instead. However as soon as we mentioned this the staff made a phone call and we were moved to a different room. The rooms themselves are very spacious and clean, with tea/coffee facilities and a table with comfy chairs to relax in. The grounds are well maintained and its a pleasure to walk from your room to the restaurant/bar/swimming pool area.
As mentioned by another reviewer, the staff are the hotel's greatest asset. They are always pleasant and helpful. The food is very good and there is plenty of choice. The pool is huge and clean despite the efforts of the crows bathing in it late afternoon. The beach is poor and if you want a beach holiday look elsewhere (though the large Russian contingent didn't seem to be put off by the less than pristine conditions). The area both sides of the hotel stretching along the beach are fishing villages so some rubbish inevitably accumulates.
Anyone who wants a relaxing holiday will love this hotel, we hope to go again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sri Lanka is an amazing place with kind gentle people that cant do enough for you!Trips are easy to arrange and elephants are a real MUST!Journeys can be long and bumpy as some roads are poor but if time allows all forms are good fun! Old train tracks carry ancient trains,tickets are cheap,Dutch canal boat trips,excellent for wild life;Tuk Tuks great fun in the daytime,and of course the elephant treks-all add to a wonderful stay!Food is very varied tasty and to suit all tastes ,especially vegetarians.Perhaps not a holiday with a young family though.Club Palm Bay is so friendly, waiters super efficiant and desserts to die for.The restaurant standard is 5 star due to the chefs imagination and wonderful staff,who nothing is too much trouble for.!

Room Tip: A bungalow off the main path to the restaurant is good,165 is quiet near the lagoon (without the gna...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 740Lynne740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My roots are in Sri Lanka and we holiday there every 2 years. We enjoy trying new hotels and new areas of the country to stay. We decided to have a change and not go south last year but to head to Mariwilla,as my sister was joining us from Australia and we wanted to concentrate our holiday in the North. The one thing she had always told her husband was that SriLanka has the best beaches in the world, which is true, so from seeing the pictures in the brochure we had no reason to believe Mariwilla was any different. Until we got there........ Nothing like the brochure, covered in silt, and rubbish which has been washed up, certainly couldnt lie out there. Other guests were asking to be moved . I feel very strongly that brochure pictures of this hotel are still showing pristeen beeches, nothing pristeen about it. the hotel itself is lovely with very attentive staff, clean rooms and lovely food.thats why i have given it a 4 star rating, However, something drastic needs to be done to bring the beach at Club Palm Bay upto the standard of those in the South.and tour companies are giving false advertising showing powder fine sand at this particular destination.. Beware

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank manel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marawila
9.8 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,195 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
1.2 mi away
Sanmali Beach Hotel
Sanmali Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Marawila
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,050 reviews
14.4 mi away
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw
9.4 mi away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Bay Hotel

Address: Thoduwawa, Marawila 61210, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Marawila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Marawila
Price Range: $80 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Palm Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Palm Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palm Bay
Resort All Inclusive Palm Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing