We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, pleasant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanmali Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marawila
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is situated on the beach in a reasonably quiet area. Food was OK, room was very. basic but adequate. As Adam P comments about geckos in rooms, this is the case everywhere, they don't hurt anyone. Pool looked nice but didn't use it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lepidoptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Sanmali Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 94 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel is in a nice location fronting a beach and the food was OK. Our room was clean but the air conditioning was very noisy and there was no hot water in the shower. Watch out for gekkos in the rooms. It is a good idea to close your suitcase before you retire for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hotel is located directly on the beach, every room have a terrace with sea view. Hotel is presenting itself like a welness, offering ajurvead massages. In order to show russian tourists (which are the majority in here), shower have light in it, which means hose is lighted but water is almost not flowing. Room had a fridge, which is very nice, sat TV and quiet AC. Wifi only at the reception. Staff very cold and not likeable. Great selection on breakfast.
At the time of our visit, the beach was being reconstructed, which means each morning from 9AM, there were trucks riding everywhere, and you could not lay on the beach, nor at the swimming pool, which is a cornerstone when living in Hotel like this.
Price for accomodation was roughly about 50% higher than for the same quality on the rest of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

First the good thinghs: quite position, new building in clean enviroment and good food.
The bad part: the tiny slice glass door of our room was just in front the lobby entrance and parking (are all in one).
means no sleep during the night because there's a continuos check in and check out for the night flights or because somebody decide it is time for chat or eat.
We fixed in advance our pick up at airport for 3500 RS. After arrive in hotel the price increase at 4000 Rs. without any reason, not a big deal but not so nice for a welcome.
So altough the potential of this hotel not a positive experience for the 2 nights spent here

Room Tip: Ask the room face the garden suppose more quite than the one we stayed
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Positive: Nice setting by the beach, good size room with the balcony overlooking the beach.
Negative: where to start? The room is old and needs updating. All furniture is covered in thick layer of dust, and the floor is covered in dead bugs. Bathroom is basic and DIRTTY. The toiletries provided: shower cap x 2 and tiny soap bar x 1 (for two people staying). We have asked reception for shampoo and after 2 hours and numerous reminders were given a tiny sachet and were told to go to the shop if needed more. The towels that started white at some point were ash grey and of questionable cleanliness.
The staff at the hotel grumpy. The staff at reception included young cheerful gentlemen, who did try to help and smiled and a bossy women who would talk to you without looking at you. Dinner as part of our half board included set menu that started with lukewarm vegetable soup (not nice) followed by fried chicken with French fries and coleslaw (not bad), and for desert choice of ice cream or fruits.
The best thing about this hotel was that we only had to stay for 13 hours, we have not risked breakfast and have left as soon as our car arrived. The one night horror experience with the half board was 110 USD.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ukrmiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmali, Owner at Sanmali Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

The hotel room referred to, was pending to be cleaned. It was mistakenly given to the reviewer as a cleaned room.

There has never been a harsher criticism about our rooms prior to this. This is the very first time we received a one star rating. The pictures accompanying the review were very damaging, offensive and unfair.

I request the review to be deleted, at least in part. I especially request the pictures to be deleted.

Thank you,
Dr. Neville Fernando (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

cosy, clean and comfortable hotel on the beach of Indian ocean, all rooms have sea view and it really takes just a minute to reach ocean. i had a wonderful peaceful vacation, exactly what i wanted, im gratefull to staff so much, they all are helpfull, polite and i never face a problem during my stay. perfect relaxation without noisy bars and discos, so beautiful nature, i already miss

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbulavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 as the first night of an Exodus tour of Sri Lanka. The room was clean, the air conditioning fierce! The evening meal was the first buffet of many in Sri Lanka and was fine. There was a cricket match on the tv in the lounge and we enjoyed discussing the state of play with the staff as they passed by. It was just a few steps to the beach.

As we didn't choose the hotel ourselves, and therefore did no research as to the best place to stay, I can't comment on the alternatives in this area. If we were to visit the area again we would certainly consider staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marawila
9.4 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
8.7 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Club Palm Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Marawila
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw
0.2 mi away
Amagi Beach Hotel
Amagi Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Marawila
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Viana
Villa Viana
#2 of 15 in Marawila
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanmali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanmali Beach Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Marawila 0000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Marawila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marawila
Price Range: $34 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanmali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanmali Beach Hotel is a quaint 20 room hotel with a boutique- like atmosphere. All rooms have private balconies and full ocean views. The hotel is on a stretch of natural, palm-lined sandy beach.It has a well manicured spacious garden and a swimmng pool with a rocky water fall. An open restaurant overlooking the ocean, beach pavilion and a beach-hut are present.Relax and rejuvenate at our full service Ayurveda Spa. Our staff is very friendly and attentive. Enjoy beach volleyball, fishing and boating. Fresh seafood and spirits always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanmali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing