We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing accommodation, beautiful sunsets”
other traveler has booked this property
The view from the veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the veranda
Living room panoramic The living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The view from the veranda
Living room panoramic
The living room
The living room
The bedroom entrance
Antique doors and king size bed
One of the two bedrooms
The ensuite bathroom
The living room
Afternoon light in the living room
Afternoon light in the living room
Afternoon light in the living room
The veranda
The veranda
The veranda
The veranda
The kitchen corner
Sunset in the living room
Sunset on the veranda
Sunset on pool
The coconut trees bunch
The pool and the beach
View from the pool
Sunset on pool
Temple flowers on the veranda
Breakfast
The beach in front
Beach panoramic in front
The beach at sunset
The wave
The catamaran
Turtle on the beach in front
Baby turtles first dip
Bathing in the ocean in front
On the laguna
On the laguna
On the laguna
The fishermen in front of the house
The beach
Ambalangoda market
At the temple behind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ambalangoda, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Sam12097
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation, beautiful sunsets ”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Absolutely fantastic stay. We couldn't fault the villa at all, everything was absolutely perfect.
We went to sri-lanka for two weeks, stopping the first week in Mirrisa and for our final week we decided to stop at Ambalangoda and stumbled across this luxury villa on ownersdirect.
There are staff on site that couldn't have been any more helpful. The young man who did all the cooking (cant remember his name) was fluent in English and cooked beautiful meals every day throughout our stay.
The food was absolutely gorgeous, plenty of meals to choose from and not expensive at all. We didn't eat out at all as the food was so lovely and we enjoyed having a drink on the terrace watching the beautiful sunsets.
I recommend having the barbecue if you get the chance, was the perfect end to our holiday.
The villa is quite remote - a short tuk-tuk ride to the nearest town or slightly further to the resort of Hikkaduwa. There's not much around but if you want a beach, pool, good food, and peace and quiet, then this villa is perfect. We didn't want to go home. There are also a few atm's in the nearest town and a large supermarket.

We stayed in sri-lanka in early September. We were abit worried about the weather as there were conflicting reviews on trip advisor, some saying the weather was fine, some saying it was rainy at this time of year. We probably had 4 days out of the whole 2 weeks holiday where it rained (but this was only for a few hours) the sea was very choppy so wouldn't recommend for weak swimmers or children. A few trips were not avaliable due to the season but over all for the price I would definitely recommend going in September. The beech is very remote often no-one around so it's pretty much a private beech.

The staff will arrange any trips for you. Taxis or tuk-tuks are available at short notice just by asking the staff.
Would recommend doing the river safari but make sure you go early morning due to the heat, best time to see the monkeys and other wildlife.

Thankyou for such a amazing holiday.
Hopefully one day we will return.
Samantha and Adam

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1trave...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Villananda is a Paradise!”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I spent three nights with my family at this wonderful house right at the beach. We booked the house to celebrate my mom’s 50th birthday after having had a fascinating trip through Sri Lanka. The owners Bruno and Nicole (they come regularly from France to Sri Lanka to look after their place), the manager of the house and the outstanding cook made sure that it was a truly unforgettable day. They arranged flowers and a Sri Lankan birthday cake, they organized a great tour in the area, where we saw lovely temples, a cinnamon and spice factory, a turtle hatchery and a mask museum, and in the evening we had a delicious BBQ and fireworks.

The house itself is very large and perfect to accommodate four people. The breakfast, which is included in the price, was delicious and we could choose the breakfast time. It was always prepared on time outside with a stunning beach view. Lunches and dinners are freshly prepared by the cook for affordable prices for under 10 USD per meal. The house was very clean and something special for design enthusiasts as shelves and benches were made out of concrete. The pool is truly refreshing, large and always kept clean by the staff. The neighboring beach was not too inviting, given that dogs were strolling around. But this is not really a problem with the nice pool.

The booking process is hassle-free as both of them respond very quickly. Bank transfer can be made for free for those coming from Europe. We immediately received a confirmation.

We were lucky to meet Bruno and Nicole as they were in Sri Lanka. They invited us over to their house for some beers - we had a great time!!

All in all, it was the highlight of our 16-day trip through Sri Lanka! Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cooking Service
Liked least: Beach View
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natajacks
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Sri Lankan Tranquility”
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Once you've decided to explore Sri Lanka you couldn't choose a better place to stay. The villa is situated on a quiet beach, it faces west and so enjoys magnificent sunsets. It borders onto the busy Galle Road but you don't hear that much because the high wall and staff accommodation act as barrier. But what makes this property so special are the staff. Their mission in life is to ensure you have the very best experience. Chanaka The Manager is available 24 hours a day, his passion is to ensure you get to the places you want to see without getting ripped off with only the best guides and transport. If anything needs to be arranged he will take care of it quickly and without fuss. It's equivalent to having your own PA. There is a mobile in the villa has numbers of the staff and drivers stored. If you need a 'Tuk Tuk' you ring and a 'trusted' driver will be at the door in 5 minutes. The driver sometimes stays with you at attractions which means you get looked after and are not overcharged. Tuk Tuk is a great way to travel locally you can see & smell everything, it's best described as being in a roller coaster without rails! Rumesh & Chilan work in the house and again are available 24 / 7 they are both very friendly, discreet & efficient. House keeping, including you laundry is done daily. The guys cook a delicious breakfast with fruit each day which is included. You can choose from an extensive menu of local dishes for lunch and evening meal. The food is outstanding. We only are out once the food was so good. Why would you? You have a beach view, amazing food and attentive staff. Rumesh and Chilan took us on a 'Boat Safari' on a local river we saw a number of exotic creatures and went by boat to a remote Buddist Temple where we met curious monks who were very welcoming. Another fantastic impromptu moment was helping the local fishermen land their catch together with 30 locals pulling the nets in, not staged for tourists, but authentic. Bruno & Nicole the owners have designed and furnished the villa to the highest standard as in there own villa. They were invaluable when booking for advice, even arranging private Yoga lessons. They are great hosts. There aren't many places in The World where you get looked after so well, everyone at the villas aim is to ensure you get the very best of Sri Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Staff
Liked least: Sri Lankan bus drivers. There mission is to get you !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasLei...
Leipzig
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream house in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first trip to Sri Lanka. We really enjoyed our stay in that villa. The house ist as it is shown in the pictures. It is quite spacious. The sea view was perfect.
The house is situated behind a big wall at a busy road. Like everywhere in Sri Lanka it was a bit noisy, even in the bedroom the street noise could be heard clearly.
We were there in July/August. By this time the sea was a bit rough, so we could not swim in. But we loved the clean swimming pool in front of the house.
There is very nice staff in the villa.
Samera, who cared after us, is the manager. We could always call him and ask for something to do or to eat. If we wanted somewhere to go or something to visit, he organized a Tuk-Tuk or a taxi for us. We would recommend a visit of Galle, some temples, a turtle-farm, may be the mask museum.
Samera planned a round trip for us to Ella and Kandy with our own driver. That tour was very beautiful and unforgettable, especially the train ride with the third class wagon with open windows along the huge tea plantations, and the interesting visit to the tea factory. The tooth temple in Kandy was a very busy place. Also the safari at the Udawalawe National Park was great.
In the house was also a cook and housekeeper to our disposal. Kasun prepared the breakfast and dinner if we asked for ist. We enjoyed the cooking and the delicious food from the sea and especially the barbeque on our very last day.
All the time there was also a security guard at the front door. We felt very safe.
We recommend this villa for those who love to have a very individual, nevertheless comfortable vacation trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin j
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa and pool, great staff, great location”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelled to Sri Lanka for the first time with 16 and 19 yr old girls. Villa was beautiful within meters of a "bounty" beach and with a lovely pool which was kept immaculately. Sea out of bounds as too rough at this time of year.WiFi was excellent. Also 24/7 security guard but never really felt it was needed . The cook/cleaner/helper Kasun provided breakfast and at a small extra cost, good quality lunch and dinner from a fairly extensive menu. He also did our washing and cleaning and kept the villa and gardens clean and tidy. We were able to cook some simple food for ourselves but with no oven, only gas rings and microwave, that was limited. There is a good s'mkt within 10 mins of the villa for all basics. The manager Sameer was available daily and by phone 24/7 to arrange trips, tuktuks and advice. A totally different kind of holiday on a beautiful and friendly island. The owners responded to emails promptly before we left and all was ready and in place eg transfers. Lots to see locally via train (fun and cheap) and tuktuks(fun and cheap) and longer trips to e.g. hills and elephants great value and arranged by Sameer. Weather always hot, humid, mostly bright and/or sunny but with some brief rain and storms. A/c in bedrooms excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location of villa
Liked least: nothing to put here
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diyananda
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Beautiful villa by the beach”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I traveled with a group of friends to the Villananda in June 2015 to celebrate my 30th birthday. The villa was absolutely stunning. It looks exactly like the pictures posted online. The rooms are big and airy with huge four poster beds. We spent most of our time around the pool and the outside dining table which had amazing views of the beach which was completely empty. The pool is really wonderful. The villa is done up very simply and beautifully with very comfortable furniture.

The sea is a bit rough to swim in - though we were told that it is swimmable during season. We traveled to jungle beach and unawatuna to swim in the sea.

The breakfast at the villa was great. One morning they made us a Sri Lankan breakfast which was also very good. The best part was the BBQ dinner they made us on the last night there. Could not recommend it enough! It was absolutely delicious and even after overeating like crazy we could not finish all the food they made!

We did pick up groceries including water since the villa isn't stocked though they can send someone to buy things. The houseboys were really sweet about cooking up what we bought and served it with the breakfast. Would recommend picking up groceries and alcohol on your way to the villa.

There a few flies buzzing around the tables but management has said that they will increase their pest control efforts.

Do keep in mind that they do not have driver accommodation on the premises so you will need to pay for the driver's stay elsewhere. The manager Sameera helped get our driver accommodation in a nearby guesthouse so it was not an issue.

The service was really good. Sameera, Manoj and Leru were very helpful!

I would definitely want to go back and wish we had stayed for longer!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertb55
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fabulous villa”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent our honeymoon at Villananda in July 2014,what a terrific place in a wonderful setting.The villa was just perfect and the swimming pool a real bonus!We had the pleasure of meeting the owners Nicole and Bruno and spending a lovely evening with them at the villa on the lagoon,you couldnt meet nicer more welcoming people.Sudath and the other villa staff were great and the home made curries were just delicious.If you are considering staying at Villananda think no longer as you could not stay in a better place.Thank you all for making our stay very special.We hope to return someday and maybe stay at the lagoon villa next time! Robert & Carly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and staff
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing