We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Six Degrees North
Nearby Hotels
R Degrees(Ambalangoda)
$98
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lagoon Villa(Ambalangoda)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Italia(Ambalangoda)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rasika Beach Hotel(Ambalangoda)(Great Value!)
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Beach Inn(Ambalangoda)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Italia Beach Hotel(Ambalangoda)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piya Nivasa Guest House(Ambalangoda)(Great Value!)
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Sumudu Guest House(Ambalangoda)(Great Value!)
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lagoonvilla Hotel(Ambalangoda)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
55
5
1
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
5
1
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownersri lankadaily excursionscar serviceseafood platterrelaxed atmospherewonderful viewhis teamsecluded beachlike royaltyperfect locationa wonderful holidaylocated rightsuzanneairportdriverwaves
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 66 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a special experience because of the wonderful staff who are such happy people dedicated to making your stay perfect.
The owner Suzanne was there at the time and she is so lucky to have these fantastic Sri Lankan people there led by Udith, the gentle giant who must be the most hospitable man I've ever met.
Six Degrees North is extending to the property next door which will also have fantastic ocean views,.
The location is perfect - close to Galle with lots of cute beachfront cafes on the way, and south of Colombo along the pretty coastline.
Galle is also a wonderful place to visit with the historic fort, lots of colonial buildings and local characters including the English artist who told us all about her fascinating art collection for sale in one of the lovely hotels.
Thanks Suzanne for your relaxed, happy attitude to life and for creating such a wonderful place that will live long in my memory.

Room Tip: All are set out beautifully
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whereisjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

6 Degrees North is quite simply the perfect holiday experience. We spent 10 days there at the beginning of April and had a fantastic time. Our party consisted of two families, four adults and four children. The villa itself is wonderful, located right on the beach with the Indian Ocean a stone's throw away. The villa mixes traditional Sri Lanka with the more modern luxuries that we would expect at a 5* hotel. The garden is superb and impeccably maintained. As wonderful as 6 Degrees North is, it is only half of the experience. What really made our holiday so perfect was the team at 6 Degrees North. This started with Suzanne, the owner, who patiently answered the seemingly endless stream of random questions I asked over email! Then from the moment we arrived in Sri Lanka to be greeted at the airport by our smiling driver, Dumby (apologies for any names incorrectly spelt!). This would go on to be a feature of the holiday as Dumby took us around the beautiful island of Sri Lanka. At the villa, Inoka and Kalyane kept everything in order, including the children! Again, always with beaming smiles that lit up the whole place and with a discretion that meant we did not even notice that everything was being done for us until it was finished! Muna and Daya kept us safe at night, keeping a watchful eye over us...and Kalum, our amazing chef. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, all superb and eaten in the world's finest dining room, overlooking the Indian Ocean, for perfect sunset views and at least 400 photos to remember them by! Last but by no means least was Udi, the villa manager, who can pretty much sort anything and everything. Just from sitting around and chatting, Udi will know what you want to do and will suggest trips out based on what you tell him. Thank you, sir. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you. We took a few trips out to Kandy, the elephant sanctuary and orphanage, the turtle hatchery, Galle and the local children's orphanage. We were so well looked after both inside and outside the villa and I'm still struggling with the return to 'normality' two weeks after arriving home! I think it's safe to say we would love to return one day. I cannot recommend 6 Degrees North highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missy88sydney, Owner at Six Degrees North, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely comments. Inokas beautiful face lit up when we showed her what you had written, Kalum and Dambi and Monni were thrilled and of course Udith was as well. You were all just delightful and we sincerely hope that you will come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This review is well overdue. We stayed at 6 degrees north about 6 months ago and it was totally amazing. The staff are just lovely- so sweet and gentle.....and the food was just unreal - breakfast and especially dinner! Udi is a fantastic character,who is very knowledgable and can organise anything. We were 2 families and there was plenty of space in this gorgeous villa. I would highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovettravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

6 degrees north what can I say charming..wonderful..paradise..perfect, why.....from Udith the house manager, Danby the driver,Mr Muna the night watchman(god bless you sir) Enoka the house maid,Calon the chef and all the staff who made our family reunion a memorable fortnight all I can say is thank you ....you are all perfection.
The food amazing.the house paradise.the garden and beach wonderful .
I can not praise or describe our experience here as anything other than outstanding.
Outstanding in every way including value for money this is a 7 star experience at 2 star prices ...to Suzanne thank you thank you

Regards

David Brewer one very happy and content man from Halifax England who visited on the the 1st to the 15th of Feb 2013 and will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Called me confused but I also have stayed at 6 degrees North and my experience couldn't be more different from the previous review.... Going on an overseas holiday with three children is always a production. So you can imagine my delight and relief when the lovely Udith picked us up from the airport and drove us directly to the beach front property. The house itself is absolutely amazing. It is a perfect mix of traditional Sri Lankan craftsmanship with modern touches and luxuries. It is a pretty special trip when a very active 9 year old boy was occupied everyday, a 8 year old girl felt like a princess and a 5 month old baby was spoilt with smiles and cuddles all day long. Myself and my husband actually got the chance to read, swim and relax. The food was delicious, wonderful flavours and service. My family are going back with our extended family at the end of the year and we all can't wait. I would recommend this property and holiday location to anybody..

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trentparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews