We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great staff!”
Review of Max Wadiya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambalangoda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Max Wadiya
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a retreat! Such a great hotel and very family friendly. The staff is so helpful and friendly and the food is soooo good! Our family occupied the entire property, with eight adults and nine kids ranging in age from 1 to 17. It was a great place for everyone. The locals were out fishing every morning and we all helped them pull in the nets. The only drawback is that the train is across the street, but it stops running around 10. This is a great place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We (a family of 4 adults and 4 children) spent 6 nights at the wonderful Max Wadiya Boutique Hotel for the Christmas holiday. It came highly recommended by friends and it certainly met our expectations. Ruth was wonderful too work with prior to our arrival and Ranjan ensured that our stay was perfect. The entire staff was professional and courteous. Ranjan took care of all our needs including organizing various day trips (Galle, whale watching, snorkeling, lagoon trip in the Madugana River, and the Turtle Hatchery-which was the best part of the vacation for all four children).

The warmth and hospitality of the entire staff certainly made this vacation a memorable one. The food was outstanding and they easily accommodated for both the adults taste and the children’s taste. The beach was pristine and the pool excellent. We spent a lot of time in both places. The dog, Ginger, was loved by all and he liked going to the beach with us. The worst part about Max Wadiya was leaving. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was fun filled and relaxing. It was an excellent experience that we would highly recommend and hope to repeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteSwez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Max Wadiya was the first stop on our honeymoon and in our eyes it could not have been better. We were treated like royalty by Ranjan and his team from the moment we arrived till the day we left and this hotel experience was without doubt the best of our trip.

We were staying in the blue suite, which had everything we needed, a comfy big four poster bed, our own sitting room area, kitchen facilities, a stereo that connected to our iPod, digital tv (which had a channel showing the Ashes!), and a balcony which overlooked the beautiful gardens and breaking ocean waves.

Our days were spent mainly sunning ourselves by the pool, snoozing in the comfy hammocks, strolling along the deserted beach, and generally relaxing in the tropical paradise presented to us. We also took advantage of some of the excursions offered such as blue whale watching in Marissa, Safari at Uda Wala national park, and a visit to the Unesco heritage site of Galle Fort, which were all amazing experiences. The lasting memory, however, will be the amazing food on offer, which was hands down the best we experienced on our trip. Each night Ranjan and his team lovingly prepared the most delectable local dishes, which will never be forgotten!

All in all our stay at Max Wadiya was perfect and we couldn't recommend it highly enough for those considering a hotel in Sri Lanka. We just hope that one day we will be lucky enough to return!

Room Tip: If you are going all out then you have to choose the blue suite, it seemed to be the most secluded a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLeandro83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in the Tangerine Suite, the ground floor suite of the two built alongside the original three-bedroomed villa. Upstairs, the Blue Suite is just as lovely and spacious inside, but with a slightly more enclosed-feeling balcony where the Tangerine has a terrace onto the lawn. Also, the Tangerine is the only one that has two showers in the bathroom - one 'normal' tiled one, and one semi-outdoor with stone floor and trough of tropical plants. The normal one was good and powerful, the other less so. Both use solar heated water (with electric heating backup for cloudy periods). Both have good, king-sized four-poster beds with very pretty laced mosquito nets round them. We came to Max Wadiya for a few days of unwinding and reading at the start of out holiday, and it was just great. if I were pushed to make one suggestion, it would be to consider some softer, more 'lounging' seating in the suite. I found myself borrowing extra cushions from other seats to soften the wicker chairs.

The Wadiya isn't selling itself as a 'gourmet' destination - but it could! We kept feeling we were having the very best examples of fine, traditional Srilankan food, even as they managed to ring the changes and offer us something different every day for eight days. At the start of the visit we were shown their extensive menu of breakfast, lunch and dinner menus, including various European and Indian options, as well as many Srilankan ones, but quickly gave up on trying to choose and quickly came to trust Ranjan to put something together for us based on vague directions such as 'Maybe if there are prawns in the market today?' or 'We liked that 'seven vegetable' curry'. He (and his inestimable chef, of course - but on our last night it was himself cooking as chef had to be elsewhere) never let us down. We had great French toast one day for breakfast, an amazing crab curry, coconut about 30 different ways, tasty tandoori chicken, a special banana-leaf parcel of aromatic deliciousness, and sweet, creamy, caramelly puddings of various sorts. Oh, as we had options to eat in our suite, on the terrace, in a pavilion on the lawn, in the main villa, on the sun deck just above the beach, and even on the sand of the beach (I think, we didn't try that one!). Truly, come to Max Wadiya for the food!

We spent the days variously swimming in the sea (and/or playing in the surf) on the immaculately clean stretch of beach just at the bottom of the garden (a public beach but with very few people on or near it - until the first day of the school holidays, when we were joined by a gang of local boys for a little while), pootling up and down the modest but lovely seawater pool, and moving between sun loungers, hammocks, and chairs in various places to quietly read our books. In addition, we tried some of the wide range of Ayurvedic treatments on offer and found them beautifully done, and amazingly reasonably priced (although it's worth mentioning that the Ayurvedic centre is right beside the pool, so may not be that peaceful if you or other residents have kids splashing and larking around just beside you!). The Wadiya offers a range of 5 and 7 day Ayurvedic programmes for wellness, weight loss, etc which you could ask about, or they could usefully put details of on their website, to enable a little bit of planning before arrival.

About the only thing we weren't quite expecting, having read their website and Tripadvisor reviews extensively before we arrived, was to find the Wadiya was right beside the main road, with the train track just beyond. But DON'T WORRY, it's no big deal! The road is not as busy as it once was, now there's a new highway elsewhere taking the trucks south, and the trains are not very frequent. Both quieten down significantly in the early evening, and the nights are quiet and undisturbed. OK, so the trains start up again quite early and do sound their horns a lot, but somehow it didn't prevent us from sleeping well and generally relaxing. I mention it here so that a) you won't be as surprised as I was, and b) because if you really want to get away from all the hustle-bustle sounds of normal life, then maybe I'd regretfully suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Blue Suite - upstairs and private. Tangerine Suite - ground floor and opens onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattAlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Took me a few days to sit down and write this review - I had not realized how difficult it is to describe perfection!

Without doubt our five night stay at the Max Wadiya has been our best holiday experience to date. We had very high expectations having read the fabulous reviews on Tripadvisor, but our stay at the Max Wadiya far exceeded our expectations.

First let me start with the email interaction with Ruth to firm up our booking. Her responses were quick, extremely clear and her attention to detail was amazing. I knew right then that we were in good hands.

Next the location of Max Wadiya. I can't imagine a nicer setting. You walk from your suite to the verandah, and from there on to the lawn, and from there on to the beach and into the sea. The beach is pristine, very safe and best of all, you have it all to yourself!

We stayed at the Tangerine suite - which was very spacious and elegantly furnished. It has a very convenient kitchenette for making tea/coffee and a fridge for keeping the wine and beer cold.

And how can I forget the food! Every meal was a delight. Every meal had a different menu and every dish was delicious! Even the way the food was laid out and presented was outstanding. I can't remember the last time I have eaten so much.

But in the end what made our stay at the Max Wadiya truly exceptional was the warmth and hospitality extended to us by Ranjan and his team. We felt at home the moment we walked in. They quietly and efficiently took care of our every need. Ranjan organized a whale watching trip for us - with a picnic breakfast included. The next day my wife and I had perhaps our best massage experience ever at the Max Wadiya. On Christmas eve, we were treated to a traditional Sri Lankan dance performance that was truly magical.

Very clearly the team at Max Wadiya love their job and genuinely care for their guests. It is very rare to see this level of dedication and motivation - and I guess the credit for this should go to Ruth for her superb organizational skills.

In summary, our stay at the Max Wadiya was outstanding in every aspect - the location, the comfort, the food and the hospitality. We are definitely going back to the Max Wadiya as soon as we can!

Room Tip: The Tangerine suite is on the ground floor, is airy and has lots of natural light. Ideal if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The owners, Ruth and Arthur Max, have created a paradise; the setting of this small, boutique hotel is just gorgeous, and could compete as a romantic idyll in any movie script.
The entire building and grounds are aesthetically furnished and decorated, and no stone has been left unturned to ensure guests’ total enjoyment and relaxation.
The staff were superb ably headed by Ranjan, who ensured that our every request was fulfilled. I have no doubt that the experience would have been vastly different without his input, assistance and presence. He is a great asset.
The meals were varied and delicious, especially as I am a great lover of curry myself. They were always beautifully presented and interesting.
It is no surprise therefore that their guest book is filled with the highest praise and lavish compliments – all richly deserved!
While Sri Lanka will remain for me a place of lush vegetation and greenery, tea plantations and windy roads, I do believe the Max Wadiya will always represent the epitome of luxury and excellence that I was privileged to enjoy.
Highly recommended for a total R and R vacation.

Room Tip: all the rooms face the sea. the hotel is located on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Paradise. Heaven. Nirvana. When it comes to Max Wadiya, it’s easy to run out of superlatives that haven’t been used up in all the other reviews. We stayed for two weeks and every second of our time there was perfect. Wonderful from the moment we arrived and were greeted with mango juice, inviting staff, including the super friendly dog Ginger (Ginger is so polite and sensitive that I am sure he will leave non-dog lovers alone.) The owners even called from Amsterdam to make sure everything was to our satisfaction (it was). Every meal was a culinary experience. Leave yourself in Ranjan’s hands, and, trust me, you won’t be disappointed. I’ve never seen anything like this level of service and I’ve been to over 70 countries as a journalist and private traveller and stayed in every kind of accommodation imaginable. The staff and the place were so genuine, nothing slick or rehearsed about this hospitality. “The boys” were always there when you needed something, but were never intrusive. The accommodations (we had the blue suite) were just what we wanted, with a sitting group, a small kitchen to keep our beer and white wine cold and our tea hot plus a great bathroom. We loved the antique furniture and being able to dine on our own large veranda overlooking the ocean. (You can hear the roar of crashing ocean waves from bed, so if you’re a light sleeper, bring earplugs as we did.) After our morning swim in the ocean, we found ourselves chatting with friendly Sri Lankan fishermen or kicking a soccer ball around with local children. We’d swim laps in the pool each day (you have to do something to work off all the great food) and then find one coconut drink treat waiting for us at poolside.
Ok. So here I am trying to think of things to say that might be different: 1) My wife is a senior executive who has been extremely stressed and busy for the past two years. I had not seen her succeed in putting her job aside, even on vacation, until we got to Max Wadiya. It took about two minutes for her to say, “What job?” 2) We left for a couple nights to explore other parts of Sri Lanka with the help of the great driver Ranjan found, it was only a matter of hours before we started feeling homesick for Max Wadiya.
There is only one bad thing about staying at Max Wadiya. You will be ruined, spoiled forever, and may never find anything to measure up.

We will be back. Again and again and again.

Thanks!
Doug (This text has been vetted and approved by Eva)

Room Tip: One of the suites for couples, the villa for famlies or groups of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambalangoda
10.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
2.9 mi away
The River House
The River House
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Wadiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Wadiya

Address: 147, Galle road | Madampe, Ambalangoda 0351, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ambalangoda
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Price Range: $260 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Wadiya is an award-winning select boutique hotel that offers an authentic Sri Lankan experience beyond 5-star. With a verdant garden opening onto a sweeping unspoiled beach, it offers a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity, a kitchen that rivals the best on the island and a professional and caring staff who will attend to your every need. Two luxury suites provide intimacy and privacy. A connected 3-bedroom villa, rented as a single unit, is just right for a family or group of friends. The entire 10-bed property, which can be expanded with extra beds for children, is perfect for reunions or gatherings of far-flung families. All rooms are en-suite with terraces overlooking the Indian Ocean. A secluded 40-foot infinity pool is a watery alternative to the sea, and ayurvedic treatments and massages are available on request. Tariffs are inclusive of three full meals, taxes, service charge and extras like coffee or afternoon tea. The Wadiya does not serve alcohol but guests are welcome to bring their own, without a corkage fee. The concept: your temporary home on the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Max Wadiya Hotel Ambalangoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing