We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Max Wadiya - Paradise in the Sun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Max Wadiya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambalangoda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Max Wadiya
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Max Wadiya - Paradise in the Sun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I just spent an absolutely fabulous 3 nights at Max Wadiya (17-20 April 2013). We were so completely amazed by the warm and gracious welcome of Rajan and his staff and the beautifully serene beachside paradise that waited for us. The Max Wadiya resort had been so enthusiastically recommended by a friend that we decided we would take a few days off to try the experience ourselves. We are so glad we did! We had a fantastic 3 days and hope to visit again soon and book the entire resort (5 suites) with friends. We felt so very spoiled by everyone at Max Wadiya. We stayed in the Tangerine Suite which was perfect. We relaxed by the pool daily and so enjoyed having fresh coconut milk served to us while taking a dip! The yoga and massages were an added bonus of relaxation.

The Max Wadiya Chef - trained by Rajan, the resident manager - is remarkable! Every dish was delicious and served family style with so many choices. The first dinner (served seaside) was truly one of the most delicious meals we have experienced anywhere. The Sri Lankan specialties were a new adventure for us. Each meal was a culinary surprise! The roti was so yummy at breakfast as were the "bulls eye" sunny side up eggs in the middle! The crabs were the best we have ever had! I was raised on the coast of Georgia in the US and we pride ourselves on the cooking of blue crabs, so I know good crabs and these truly were the best! Every curry was so yummy! Ranjan was so very kind and attentive in explaining what each dish was and how it was prepared. Having all of our meals generously served outside in a beautiful tiled roof cabana by such outstanding wait staff made us feel as if we were royalty! On our last evening, Ranjan prepared a lovely anniversary dinner for us complete with Chocolate Cake served on the beach. We will always remember how special and kind we were treated by everyone at Max Wadiya!

Mid morning and afternoon tea and coconut and tropical fruit juice drinks were so refreshing. The papaya and lime juice is not to be missed. The large salt water pool protected by a sunburst of tall slender palm tress was heavenly. Hammocks softly swaying in the tropical breezes always beckoned invitingly. The sound of the rolling surf only a few meters away was perfect for poolside or hammock naps!

I have to say a few words about Ginger - the warm and friendly mixed breed dog who was the first to greet us inside the gate. He is so sweet and we felt his love and loyalty as he watched over us during our stay. We are dog lovers and he seemed to sense that... Affectionate, immaculate manners, constant wagging tail. A perfect Max Wadiya treat.

We do not hesitate to give our highest and most enthusiastic recommendation to this magical getaway in the Indian Ocean. Idyllic is an understatement.

Room Tip: The Tangerine Suite in the new building is ground level with easy access to the beach. The shower is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSR622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
65
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in the blue suite at the end of March for 3 days. The room is large with separate living and bed areas both of which are very comfortable. Typical of the extraordinary attention to detail in this hotel, every light globe and every electrical appliance worked, the DVDs and books in the room were clearly carefully selected and everything was spotlessly clean. The large garden and the pool are immaculately kept. As others have mentioned, the food was superb and Rajan very quickly worked out our preferences. What I liked most about the hotel was that it is completely lacking in the self-importance and over design that you sometimes find in hotels these days. Here the focus is on the guest’s experience and the cheerful, friendly and unobtrusive staff achieves a very high standard. There are a few places of interest to visit locally if you can drag yourself away and it is interesting to watch the fishing boats arrive and leave along the beach. We had the added good fortune of being able to help the release of newly hatched turtles which the hotel had been protecting and incubating. This is a wonderful place to stay and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The blue suite has the greatest privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are looking for fantastic service, splendid food and total relaxation in an beautiful environment you have come to the right place! We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed every minute!
We were taken care of by Ranjan and his team in a perfect way, relaxed, took a swim in the pool, walking on the empty beach, reading books in the hammock and had fantastic food experince every meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sectowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

II have never written a review before, but I feel compelled to share my experience at Max Wadiya because it was so ideal! My goal was to get away from the stress of work and this island paradise was everything I was looking for: being pampered, eating phenomenally well, staying in an authentic, non-touristy place and having everything be so easy and relaxing. I loved running on the beach and swimming every day in the Indian Ocean, which was right outside my door. I could have stayed at the hotel the entire time, but exploring was easy and fun. I think the highlight was snorkeling and swimming with the turtles around the coral reef. The staff, headed by Ranjan, was amazing and treated me like family. As a single traveler, I felt completely safe and comfortable; but I can totally see bringing a family. I loved it, and I can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the beach, so it's hard to go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyB294009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobrich Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We are a group of friends from Bulgaria who like traveling around the world and last choice we made was to come to Max Wadiya. We are delighted by the nature of the country and its people. The past 14 days were like being in the paradise, thanks to Radjan and everyone else who were taking care of us. We will never forget the couisine and the desert, ohhh great. At Max Wadiya we came throught expected and unexpected emotions like the big turtle we saw that was delivering eggs front of us. Our friend's birthday that we were celebrating was turned into a great party with baloons and local dancers thanks to the "crew" in the house :). We are absolutely satisfied from Max Wadiya villa and because of that we feel it as our home :). We want to say many thanks to Ranjan and people who were helping us. Off course, we don't have to forget our four legs friend-Djindji-was always with us. Thank you very much! We will miss you and we will come back one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgijelev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very different Christmas for us from the UK - to bask in the hot sunshine and enjoy the peaceful delights of Max Wadiya. It was a great Christmas holiday in so many ways - for our family to be together in one place in such gorgeous surroundings and to be looked after so splendidly by Ranjan and his excellent staff. We thank them all for their kind attentiveness and especially Ranjan who made such an impact with his attention to detail and imaginative contribution to the enjoyment of our time at Max Wadiya. He was not daunted by any request and provided everything needed for our three-generation party. As well as the beautiful situation of the house itself and the loyal friendship of "Ginger", Ranjan's cooking demonstration and his sumptuous meals, tuk-tuk rides to neighbouring towns, opportunity for sketching in the garden, and the exciting firework display on Christmas night were among the highlights of our memorable holiday. It was the start of our Sri Lankan experience - and made a very happy impression on us all. I hope we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaepBeckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a an amazing week staying at Max Wadiya. Ranjan and his team were attentive to every request and just made the holiday memorable in every way. The hotel is located less that 3 hours from Colombo and is a quite haven away from the bustle of the big city. As well as direct beachfront access It has an in-ground salt water swimming pool so caters well for families with young children.

The accommodation is all you can expect in a boutique establishment, with quality fittings and decorative artwork always in evidence. There is sufficient space to ensure all guests are able to take full advantage of the facilities available in the hotel to rest and relax.

The quality of the food is outstanding, with a large menu selection from around the world that cater for all tastes. There is even children friendly meal options available, and an abundance of seafood and vegetarian choices. All meals are prepared fresh - no buffets or recycling of leftovers - using locally sourced produce that is purchased daily as required.

We had a wonderful time, made even more memorable on the last night where a surprise birthday dinner was prepared for my wife that was just exceptional. Anyone visiting Sri Lanka for a holiday should plan on spending a few days at the Max Wadiya. You will not regret doing so.

Room Tip: Book ahead as their are only a limited number of rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambalangoda
11.0 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
14.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
14.3 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
8.5 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Wadiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Wadiya

Property: Max Wadiya
Address: 147, Galle road | Madampe, Ambalangoda 0351, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ambalangoda
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Wadiya is an award-winning select boutique hotel that offers an authentic Sri Lankan experience beyond 5-star. With a verdant garden opening onto a sweeping unspoiled beach, it offers a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity, a kitchen that rivals the best on the island and a professional and caring staff who will attend to your every need. Two luxury suites provide intimacy and privacy. A connected 3-bedroom villa, rented as a single unit, is just right for a family or group of friends. The entire 10-bed property, which can be expanded with extra beds for children, is perfect for reunions or gatherings of far-flung families. All rooms are en-suite with terraces overlooking the Indian Ocean. A secluded 40-foot infinity pool is a watery alternative to the sea, and ayurvedic treatments and massages are available on request. Tariffs are inclusive of three full meals, taxes, service charge and extras like coffee or afternoon tea. The Wadiya does not serve alcohol but guests are welcome to bring their own, without a corkage fee. The concept: your temporary home on the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Max Wadiya Hotel Ambalangoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing