We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have more easy access from airport n seoul to Nice Snow village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Should have more easy access from airport n seoul to Nice Snow village”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is a quaint snow village hotel. Nice comfy room. Pretty ok breakfast . Lots lots of snow during my last Dec visit . Hope transport can be improved n more easy access from Airport n Seoul.

Not crowded in ski field. Quite a few restaurants in this snow village. My room comes with a queen bed n a big single bed. There is a reasonable size balcony which can be opened , we actually view the snowing scenery at the balcony which is very beautiful moment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloyt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    85
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
42
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the host hotel for 2018 Winter Olympics. The room is great. No complaints. Please note that most hotels do not provide tooth brush so be prepared. The fried chicken is great nd you can order it from room service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AXA-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Walk out of the hotel and on the slopes. This hotel and surrounding area has everything you need for a complete vacation. Skiing, water park, plenty of shops and restaurants (all types), coffee shops, and fast food. Right outside the door are the ski jumps and cross country skiing for the 2108 Winter Olympics. Hotel offers great discounts for lift tickets, water park, and ski rental. Yongpyong (Dragon Valley) ski resort is right around the corner as well for great winter activities. Parking is convenient, safe and dry. Highly recommend either the Resort or Suites for a great family ski trip.

Room Tip: Facing the slopes will cost a few extra dollars - all rooms have a good view or the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crockpot96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Holiday Inn Resort is right by the slopes, while some apartment blocks of Suites are very near the slopes. Intercontinental is slightly away. Website in English is user friendly and we booked our rooms there.

The hotel can call a cab to take you to YongPyong Ski and Yongpyong staff at ski lodge or hotel can help call a cab to take you back. Cost 10000-12000W for 7-10min ride.

Rooms are spacious, functional, we enjoyed the Korean style ondol rooms as there was more space to dry out our gear. Hotel can keep your skis for the night saving a bit of carrying. WLAN is chargeable so you see lots of people in the lobby using the free wifi.

The concierge team is very helpful with transport bookings, local information etc.

Downside is the food - expensive, poor service and not fresh - at least in the western restaurant. One bad breakfast for our family cost as much as us eating all 3 meals in the varied restaurants near the hotel or at Alpensia itself.

Tips:
Free wifi in the excellent cafe at the top of Alpensia ski
Great meals and service in the cafe on top of Alpensia, we loved night skiing and having our dinner there as well. Non skiers can take the chairlift down.
Locals call it Holiday Inn Hotel so if resort causes a blank stare, say hotel.
Some nearby food outlets will deliver to your hotel room, ask!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ayy_wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After a disappointing ski trip at Hilton Niseko Japan, we, then decided to try Korea, and what a good choice we made. Holiday Inn Alpensia is perfectly located near the lift, all facilities are close by. We stay in the hotel part, not the suites. The hotel is new, clean, service is excellent. The only weak point is the food, they only have buffet once a week on Saturday vevening, the rest of teh week is very basic. But if you walk further for 10 min you will find the Intercontinental hotel and the Flavor restaurant which serves descent food. Otherwise outside there are plenty of Korean food if you are up to it. Ski wise, the snow is good though artficially made, we had only one day of freshly fallen snow, otherwise blue sky almost every day for 8 days.
Yes we will be back to Korea, to Alpensia or else where as it seems to have plenty other nice resorts around; it is cheaper than Japan which has left us disappointed, mostly linked to the Hilton service, sad to say.

Room Tip: We were in the "kid room" which is big enough with a small corner for kids bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilwhoever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for the World Special Olympic Games for 9 nights - we had a "kids" suite which had two full size beds and a separate room with bunk beds for kids, huge bathroom, and a separate changing room - plus a deck that overlooked the parking lot - room #359 - the hotel is fairly new and well appointed. Full size towels, good breakfast, and all the perks of an American hotel. Staff was very friendly and the resort is in the middle of all the activity - Alpensia ski Resort is directly behind the hotel - the entire resort is within walking distance. We had daily maid service and the beds are super comfortable - a great choice!

Room Tip: Make sure to double check that the room you book has a bed! Many of the rooms are Korean style with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A nice and spacious room with plenty of space for luggage & ski gear. Uncomfortable seating group with small round table. Room should have had a sofa. Nice balcony and views of the ski slopes. Comfortable bed.

30% discount for hotel guests at Alpensia Ski Resort (not Yong Pyong) and the Ocean 700 indoor waterpark.

The Alpensia "village" has a lot of low-end restaurants and several "G25" convenience stores. It was a busy period, but the ski village seemed like a ghost town. Nothing fancy or appealing so we got takeout at Dominos Pizza 2 nights in a row. The walkways were very poorly maintained and covered with slippery ice. It was too cold to really explore the village area and walk to the nearby Intercontinental hotel.

Skiing in the area is nothing to write home about. Yong Pyong was much better than Alpensia. Good for beginners. Icy conditions, very little snow - despite being very cold, only fenced trails (no off-piste skiiing). Gondola ride took about 45 minutes.

Ocean 700 waterpark was good for 2-3 hours with my 5 and 6-year olds. The waterslides do not open until 12:30pm. They make you rent swim caps and wear life jackets in the wave pool.

2pm checkout for Priority Club members was nice.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ski slopes. The hotel has a strange policy of only allowing 2 people in each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asia_Lodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Asia_Lodger,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room.

However, We’re sorry about the lack of seating area in the room. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyeongchang-gun
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeong...
#3 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia ...
#2 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
#5 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
SEAMARQ Hotel
SEAMARQ Hotel
#1 of 26 in Gangneung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.0 mi away
YongPyong Resort Dragon Valley Hotel
YongPyong Resort Dragon Valley H...
#4 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
19.7 mi away
Elf Pension
Elf Pension
#2 of 56 in Pyeongchang-gun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang
Address: 325, Solbong-ro, Daegwallyeong-myeon, Pyeongchang-gun, Gangwon-do 232-952, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Pyeongchang-gun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang South Korea/Pyeongchang-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing