We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Booking.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
eDreams$86
Priceline$86
Travelocity$86
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
10
32
33
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
32
33
8
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 84 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

the sauna is big and very clean. Huge water theme park too. If you like sauna, hot spring water, this is the best place.

Room tip: choose high floor, view is really nice. Walking distance has bowling too. I love this place.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desmond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I don't know if I would recommend this hotel to foreign travelers looking for modern accommodations. It is a mediocre hotel that is probably adequate for a weekend getaway for locals or groups that cannot afford fancier accommodations. I'd recommend looking into a better hotel in the area if you can afford it. The knob on my faucet in my bathroom fell apart. The paint was peeling off the walls. The sheets and blankets were not thick enough to really feel warm and cozy on a cold winter night. The fixtures and decorations seem to be from the 80s. A lot of renovations and updates are needed before the 2018 Olympics. Otherwise, visitors who are already traveling from afar and will have a very long commute from Incheon Airport will be quite unsatisfied when they finally arrive to Pyeongchang. I will say that I am not a skier and I went to Pyeonchang at the worst possible time - in late November - when it was very cold but not snowy enough to really enjoy the area for its winter sports.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarmenSandiego30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I recently visited Phoenix Park, Pyeongchang, South Korea for a long weekend of skiing with a fairly large group of friends over the Lunar New Year Holiday. Understandably, the resort was quite crowded during this national holiday, but I found all facilities to be adequate.

Accommodations:
We stayed in the youth hostel with eight bunkbeds per room (see photo). Linens were provided and the room was spacious and clean with an excellent view of the slopes. (Rooms on the other side of the hall had a view of the parking lot). There were two problems with the room: a) we could hear the music and announcements blaring from the loudspeakers all day and well into the night (but as most of us were on the slopes during this time, it was not a huge problem), and b) the ondol (floor heat) was turned up very high and we could not adjust the temperature. We ended up sleeping with a window open just to make the room temperature tolerable and it was about -15 C outside!

Rental Facilities:
The resort had a wide array of rental facilities, but a limited number of sizes. The majority of our group were westerners and many of the men had trouble renting boots large enough. I am a fairly tall woman and very experienced skiier, but was given very short skis. No questions were asked regarding my height or my skiing ability, both important factors when sizing skis. It seems they "eyeballed" my height and assumed my ability, as a result, my skis were much too short.

Slopes:
The slopes were decent, but nothing overly special. I was expecting more, given that this resort will host some of the 2018 Olympic Skiing events, but was disappointed. They had a wide variety of beginner slopes, which I tried out with a less experienced friend and a fair number of intermediate and advanced slopes, including a ski/snowboard jump run and an extreme park with a halfpipe for snowboarders. I was hoping for more varied runs on advanced slopes, but found most of them to simply be of a steep grade. There are plenty of lifts though and the gondola (included in the lift ticket price) provides a beautiful view of the mountain and resort. LIft tickets prices were quite reasonable and the hours were wonderful. You could ski all night, with the slopes only closing at 4 am for grooming and reopening at 8 am. They did overgroom (in my opinion), grooming 3 times a day. The grooming left the slopes a little icy in the immediate after grooming time but the quality of the powder soon remedied that situation. There was very little blown snow from what I could tell. One thing I didn't like was they only had pay ski storage on the resort. To keep your skis while you ate or stepped off the slopes, it cost 1,000 won. The storage is unlocked, however, so many people just put their skis there without locking/paying, especially if they were only going to be leaving them for a little while.

Dining:
The on site Cafeteria is delicious and there are many restaurants and snack shops within the facility. Because all parts of the facility are connected by a series of underground tunnels, it is very easy to travel within the resort. One of my favorite features was a series of snack shops immediately at the bottom of the slopes with picnic tables. That way you could grab a quick snack or hot drink and get back on the slopes without having to remove your gear! The Cafeteria serves a variety of Korean dishes and provides several varieties of kimchi. There is also a delicious Asian restaurant on the first floor of the Hotel...if you go there, definitely try the salmon sushi, it was some of the best I've ever eaten! There are also a number of restaurants across the street from the resort, including a delicious galbi/bulgogi restaurant.

Entertainment:
Phoenix Park is very much a "family oriented" park and you can have trouble finding alcohol on the resort. There is only one convenience store on site that sells it (beer and soju only) and many of the entertainment facilities do not serve it. In the Center Plaza area, there are many attractions including bowling, a games arcade, shopping, ice cream, and noraebong (karaoke). The attractions were very crowded and there was about a 3 hour wait for bowling, but we were there on a holiday weekend.

Water Park:
The Blue Canyon Water Park was disappointing by Western standards and overpriced. We did get a significant discount (regular price is 65,000 won, I think) because of our group size, our Korean translator guide, and the fact we only planned to be there for a few hours so it made it worth it. There are only two waterslides open in the winter and they are very simple slides. There is a wave pool for kids and several hot tubs, along with an indoor/outdoor lazy river section and spa like tubs. The best part of this experience was using the VERY strong jets in the spa tubs to relax the muscles after three days of skiing. Some of them were strong to the point of almost painful, but they did work out the kinks! The main part of the park is co-ed and bathing suits are required, but within each same-sex locker area was a jimjabong section (nude) that included a traditional hot tub, three dipping pools of varying temperatures with infusions (rose, chrysanthimum, and iris), a steam room, and sauna. Ample lockers, dressing space, and vanity mirrors are provided, as are blow dryers and towels. If you can get a discount, I highly recommend Blue Canyon.

Overall, we had a great trip! The travel time from BuPyeong (near Incheon) was reasonable and the experience was worth the trip. I will be back soon!

8  Thank Area W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed in the Blue Condo (in Korea, "condo" or "condominium" is an unserviced apartment type of accommodation) of this resort for 6 nights in January 2011. We found the ski slopes, ski lifts, safety on the slopes etc excellent and there was beautiful powder snow on the slopes. We enjoyed the skiing aspect very much.

However, we experienced some difficulties with the accommodation aspect of the Resort. First of all, we sent an inquiry to the email address listed on the Resort's English website n December 2010 but never received a reply. Then we tried ringing the Resort's number listed on the English website again in December 2010, but the number was incorrect. We had to obtain the correct number from someone we knew in Korea.

On arrival, we were told that the room rates we were quoted, and on which we based our reservation were incorrect, and we had to pay more. It is possible that this was based on a misunderstanding as there were language issues. I would recommend obtaining an email confirmation of the reservation to avoid any misunderstanding.

The room we were given smelled badly of grilled fish (people are able to cook in the condominium rooms) so we requested a change of room which was much better. There was a lot of unpleasant cooking odours floating around the corridors, lifts etc

Buffet breakfast was included and was average from a foreigner's point of view. The scrambled eggs were watery and a bit green here and there. The pile of boiled eggs were extremely hard boiled and the egg yolks were greyish. Sausages were the very processed type etc Cereal choice was very limited and there were only sugary types. There was a good selection of Korean food though.

Another inconvenience was that although we were skiing 5 days straight, we had to rent and ski equipment and return them every single day. This really undermined the whole reason for coming to a ski in/ski out resort. Apparently this was because our accommodation was based on a particular package which didn't allow us to keep the ski equipment overnight in the lockers. This should have, at the very least, been mentioned when we booked the room as we would have never picked this package then. In any case, it really doesn't make any sense to require people to rent and return equipment everyday for 5 days straight!!!

Another inconvenience was that there was no free Wi Fi which works on foreign iPhones in most of the resort. Apparently "Nespot" works for Korean mobile phones but not for foreign iPhones. The only place where I found free Wi Fi was in the Cafeteria in the Ski Centre and it was called "dLink" or something like that.

Would I recommend the Resort to people? I would because of the beautiful slopes which were not as crowded as expected. However, it is best to be prepared for the above pitfalls.

Date of stay: January 2011
Trip type: Traveled with family
5  Thank Sydneyfamily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Phoenix park is about 4 hours journey from the Seoul International Airport. First you have to come to Samsong-dom from the airport, then change to Phoenix Park route. Ask someone if you can't find the bus stop.

This place is only for skiing. Nothing else. I came for a conference in the hotel during winter. The hotel was full of young couples trying ski day and night. The slopes are right behind the hotel. You can see them over the window.

Hotel is average, rooms are OK, buffet breakfast is so so. You must go for breakfast early else there will be huge rush.

Returning from Phoenix Park will require you to book your bus reservation early. There is a counter near the hotel for booking.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voltu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews