We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the basics of home at the foot of the ski hill.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All the basics of home at the foot of the ski hill.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Holiday Inn Suites is a larger complex of 1 and 2 bedroom kicthenettes at the bottom of the Alpensia Ski Resort. They were quite busy on the last weekend in December. We were unable to get a room next to our friends but were still able to quickly chekcin and go skiing at Alpensia that night. It was awesome to walk three minutes to ski rentals and tickets. They had a variety of resturants and coffee shops in the community courtyard as well. It felt a little like Whistler in B.C. We received a 30% discount on skiing for staying at the Holiday Inn. Our room was on the second floor above the dreaded bar so we thumped and thumped to techno music until 2AM. A call to the front desk the next day resolved the issue for the next night and we felt we were heard. We felt the management really tried to work with us in resolving the issues, which isn't always true at every hotel. We would stay again at this Holiday Inn. It was so convenient to ski Alpensia and also drive 5 minutes to YongPyong.

Room Tip: Get the ski discount at Alpensia for staying at the Holiday Inn. Also, at YongPyong as if your credi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2tzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnNamhyeokKim, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear 2tzimmer,

Warm Greetings from Holiday Inn & Suites Pyeongchang!
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us.
We are much appreciating with your positive feedback and we will try constantly to improve our service quality for guests’ satisfaction.
Moreover we do apologize for the noisy above your room. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team once again and take actions accordingly.
Thank you for your comment once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn & Suites Pyeongchangin the nearest future.

With best regards,
Front Office Manager,
Sang Ho Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    101
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
144
19
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed during 15-18 Dec.. have a 2 rooms at Holiday Inn Suites, one with King Bed and a Ondol room. We stayed at block 201 (think they have 201 to 205 if I am correct)... 201 was great as it is the same block as the check-in main building, so bringing your big luggage up will be most convenient. It is also conveniently located near the ski slopes. Note that Inter-Continental is actually across the street and a slightly (3-5mins more) off from the ski slopes.

We tried to ask for a ski slope view but they mentioned it is only for their members (probably Holiday Inn members). However we were given 5th floor, which has like 3/4 view of the ski slope! which was Good enough!!

Room was pretty big, 2 toilets (each attached to the 2 rooms), kitchen and living area is comfortably wide, so are the toilets and rooms. Would definitely stay in Holiday Inn Suites again.

Room Tip: Blk 201 is great, ask for 5th floor (highest floor).. has partial (>50%) view of the ski slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment at Holiday Inn Suites Alpensia. It was very spacious and consisted of 2 rooms with regular beds and 1 with traditional korean bedding, which is really not too comfortable. The room doesn't get serviced fully daily and you are expected to clean up after yourself. I would have preferred full service but maybe to be expected given the inexpensive rates. The surrounding ski village offered quite a few dining options - generally reasonably priced and surroundings was quite pictureques esp after a night of snowfall. One other nice thing is the ski slopes are really close,barely a 5 min walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eweebg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Booked a 2 bedroom unit with a King bed and an Ondol room. Check-in was a breeze, although the taxi brought us to the wrong Holiday Inn (the Holiday Inn Resort). Room was modern and clean, with a fully equipped kitchen and all the necessary utensils and cutleries provided. Daily cleaning was done with fresh towels replenished. The heated floor and electric fireplace was useful and much appreciated.

We got the room at Block 203 which was directly above the Ski Centre. Plus point is, very convenient when we went skiing, but the downside is, it can get a bit noisy in the mornings when large groups of ski students starts getting ready for their lessons. Ski centre staff was helpful and pleasant, but lack English speaking skills. Can be challenging at times for those who do not speak Korean. As a ski resort, the facilities could not be faulted, everything was made convenient for all skiers, beginners or advance.

Food choices are rather limited with restaurants closing as early as 5:30pm. Several convenience stores (GS25) located around the establishment fills up that gap.

Recommended for families as the rooms are self-catering units. Do take note, weekends can be very busy with the locals as well as tourist visiting the resort.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in Block 202 or 203 to be near the ski centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My family had a wonderful and comfortable stay at Holiday Inn Suites for 2 nights. Having stayed at Phoenix Park and Yong Pyong before, I personally prefer Holiday Inn Suites.

The receptionist who did my check-in was very polite and she listened to my queries attentively. She tried her best to explain to me in English regarding my check-in and transportation back to airport.

The one-bedroom suite which my family stayed was clean and spacious. Cutleries and utensils were provided for light cooking in the suite. The management was very thoughtful to provide a bottle of air refreshener and a bottle of Febrezee for hotel guests to musk out any food odour. TV channels are a good-mix of international and local channels.

Ski slopes and taboggan slope are just a stone-throw. Hotel guests get to enjoy discounts for ski equipment rental, ski lift and taboggan ride. Remember to flash your hotel key pass when making payment. We forgot to flash it on our first day for my son's unlimited taboggan rides.

There is also a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. Prices are comparable to Seoul's. Convenient store, GS25 has a few outlets there. So, you may buy instant noodles or microwaveable food from there; not a huge variety though.

To sum up, Holiday Inn Suites is a self-contained ski resort which is suitable for beginner skiiers and families with young children. My family is definitely going back again and we will be staying there longer.:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHUAjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We just returned from a Winter trip from Korea. Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. I would recommend it, it's clean and very beautiful. Not much activities at all at night, it's strictly for skiing lovers. You can walk outside the Alpensia resorts, there are coffee house and restaurants but they close early at 6pm. The rooms are nice and well maintained. Nothing much to do and hardly any activities within the hotels. During winter, it's very cold outside, so what one can do it basically buy some tid bits around Alpensia area and enjoy the cool weather inside the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Wished we had stayed longer at this beautiful ski resort...

Chose Alpensia Ski Resort because it's going to be one of the 2018 Winter Olympics venue and Holiday Inn and Suites has 3-bedroom suite since we are a family of 10. The configuration of the suite fits us very nicely, 1 room with a King-size bed, 1 room with 2 Queen-size bed and 1 room with 2 Single Korean mattress there are also 2 bathrooms which is sufficient for us. The entire ski resort has 3 accommodation options - Holiday Inn Hotel, InterContinental Hotel, Holiday Inn Suite, which is the one we stayed in.

Booking of suite:
I booked directly through the Holiday Inn website, www.ihg.com, and it’s the cheapest rate I found. 3 Bedroom suite KRW230,450/night (including their 10% tax called VAT). In fact, there is no 3-bedroom suite on the 3rd party booking agent such as Agoda…

General Comments:
Our tour specialist from "This Is Korea" has no problem finding and reaching this resort. It's pretty near town but yet tucked away on the quiet and peaceful mountain side.
Having read some not so good reviews, I have lowered my expectations. But it turned out to be way above what I've expected. Yes, the sofa cover may be a bit dated but that really didn't bother us. The suite has a very modern design with a touch of cottage feel. An artificial fire place really adds the feeling of warmth amidst the winter feel of the ski resort.

Check-in Process:
Most of the counter personnel at the resort do not converse in English. So we were really thankful that our Tour Specialist from “This Is Korea” was with us during the check-in process. PLEASE note that DO NOT unload your luggage at the building called “Welcome Center”. This is only the place for you to check-in and your apartment/suite room could be few hundred metres away. We were not aware about this and moved all our 11+ luggage down, took them up a flight of stairs and then realized that we have to move them all down again and load them into our vehicles. It was freezing cold that night and you can definitely imagine the agony we went through. Thank God that our Tour Specialist from “This Is Korea” stayed with us throughout. You may want to check out “This Is Korea” private tour specialist and my reviews of them at:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g294197-d4504787-Reviews-This_is_KOREA_Private_Day_Tour-Seoul.html

Highly recommended!!

The suite (31405):
Very spacious with a large living room and good sized bedrooms. There is also a fully-equipped kitchen with utensils and a big dining area. The suite comes with 2 big bathrooms with one of them serves as the master-bedroom bathroom.

Sleep quality:
We can tell that they use good quality mattress and pillows. The floor is heated to keep us warm. Temperature is controlled individually in each room. 2 sets of Korean style mattress and blanket are provided for free in the suite. They even provided Korean style pillow that's stuffed with bean shell. Very comfortable...

Location and proximity to convenience stores:
There are literally 4 to 5 Korean convenient stores (GS25) around the entire resort and each is within 2 to 3 minutes of walk from any of the resort building. Restaurants that serves local Korean meals, pizzas, burgers, Japanese food are abundant as well. Price of food is reasonable too. The entire ski resort is pretty self-contained. You can get almost any daily necessities from the GS25 over there, which includes very delicious bread, eggs, milk, ham, marinated pork and beef... You can choose to cook up a meal in the suite and get all groceries easily.

Skiing/Sledding:
Ok, we are there mainly for the kids to sled so can’t comment much on the skiing. We do see a few ski slope that’s of various height and chair lift that’s next to each slope. There were already many skier in the early morning.

There’s one slope that’s dedicated to sledding and there’s also an automatic travelator that brings you from the bottom of the slope to the starting point of the sledding slope. My children absolutely enjoyed it. But keep in mind that there’s a minimum age of 4 years to sled. Cost of sledding: 10,000krw for once, 15,000krw for 5 times and 20,000krw unlimited times between 9 to 1pm. Hotel guests get a 20% discount.

Overall, it’s a very nice resort for family to experience skiing or sledding. I would choose definitely this resort again. Think there’s shuttle bus that ferry guests from Seoul…

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyeongchang-gun
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeo...
#1 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeong...
#2 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
300 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
#5 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
SEAMARQ Hotel
SEAMARQ Hotel
#1 of 27 in Gangneung
45 reviews
23.1 mi away
Benikea Premier Donghae Medical Spa Convention Hotel
1.0 mi away
YongPyong Resort Dragon Valley Hotel
YongPyong Resort Dragon Valley H...
#4 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite

Property: Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
Address: 225-3 Yongsan-ri, Daegwallyeong-myeon, Pyeongchang-gun, Gangwon-do 232-952, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Pyeongchang-gun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Hotel Pyeongchang-Gun
Holiday Inn And Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite South Korea/Pyeongchang-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing