We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Ski Resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in Holiday Inn & Suites Alpensia 3-rooms Apartment (Room 14514, Blk 104) for 2 nights and it was fabulous in every single detail.
Check in counter is a bit far from our apartment block (blk 104) but it wasn't a problem for us as our driver dropped us off right in front of our apartment block, but for those without vehicle, be prepared a 10-15 minutes walking distance to your apartment from the check-in counter, it will be tough if it's snowing and with huge luggage.
The 3-rooms apartment is huge in size with 2 king-bed rooms and 1 ondol room (korean style heated floor). One ensuite bathroom and 1 common bathroom. 2 sets of single blanket set was provided in the ondol room and we actually requested for extra set of blanket and bath tower and it was delivered to us in no time (but bear in mind that it is not customary to give tips in Korea). Both the king-bed rooms's balcony overlooking the ski slopes.
Living area is big and come with an artificial fireplace. A fully-equipped kithchen, you can find all kind of utensils as well as kitchen equipment which you need to prepare a decent meal, for eg. cooking hob & hood, kettle, microwave, rice cooker, fridge. (but be sure to clean all the utensils after used before check out or extra charges will be imposed)
There are many eateries, coffee shops and convenient stores (GS25) within the ski resort, so eating is absolutely not a problem at all, only set back is that you can't find bread & eggs in the convenient stores so for those who prefer continental breakfast, it'll be better if your could stock up some in town before check-into the ski resort.
The ski house is just around the corner in approximately 3-5 minutes walking distance, hotel guest enjoy discount on ski rental by showing the room key card.
During my visit in early December, not all ski slopes are ready and night ski is also not available yet. Alpine Coaster also closed during winter. But for us as a beginner, 1 or 2 ski slopes was good enough. Ski slopes was not crowded as compared with other ski resort which usually packed with tour groups and this was one of the reason i choose Alpensia over other ski resort. Some of the comments here mentioned that the hotel staff is not well-verse in English, but through my experience, i've no problem in communicating with the front deck staff in english, they can speak proper english and understand well.
In overall, Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia is fabulous in every detail, I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ng_angie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 216 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family and another travelled here from Seoul for some skiing. We each booked a 2-bedroom apartment which turned out to be pretty comfortable despite what we had seen in the photos. Check-in was strictly adhered to 2pm even though the resort wasn't at full capacity. Our rooms were in Block 301 which was quite a walk away and we almost had to lug all our bags there had we not found one of the hotel staff to agreed to help us (Front Desk told us they had no bellhops). The resort itself has quite a number of restaurants though most are Korean. Overall, not too bad a stay considering the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CripTic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

It was our first time in a ski resort and its very memorable for us. Took a bus from the airport which stops in front of the welcome centre. It was tough to bring our big luggages up the steps to check in and there is no porter to help.

We love the room though. We booked the 2 bedroom suite and it is like an apartment with fully equipped kitchen. Lots of plugs around. There are lots of restaurants and convenience store around. We bought instant noodles, pizza and fried chicken back to the room. Our room is very near the ski slopes.

Down side is that you need to arrange your own transport or take public transport here. The hotel will not do it for you. They told me to check and book online. They can only help you call for a taxi to get to hoenggye bus terminal where you can take a bus back to Seoul. Quite easy actually. Also, wifi is not included.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cckkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Suite is nice and spacious. Location is great - lots of eateries all around so within walking distance, 7x24 grocery within walking distance and the ski slope is just a block behind.
Main grouses :
1. welcome center is elevated so tendency is to climb up with one's luggages. Should have signboards (in English too) to instruct guests on luggages.
2. when my family entered our suite, there was a strong 'stench' - must be the cooking smell from earlier guests. Hotel should fumigate the rooms first.
3. Floors were not cleaned well
4. Bath towels are tiny sized - almost like a face towel.
5. Receptionists are all very friendly but almost all cannot speak English well, beyond the 'standard' vocab which are are familiar with. So speak simply and try not to ask too complex questions.

Since there is a kitchen in the suites, worth bringing along your packet noodles.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our family (3 adults and 2 children) stayed in the master suite. During booking, I put in a remark to request for a room facing the ski slopes and they actually fulfilled it. Stayed at block 102, room 608 with the living room and 2 bedrooms all facing the ski slopes!

Getting there from Seoul was really easy and cheap. We took the green line 2 to Gangbyeon station and crossed the street to reach the Dong seoul bus station. Bought tickets to Hoengye at 14,500won for adults (kids at hard this price). You do not need to do any advance booking as buses leave every half an hour (too frequent I would say as the buses were definitely underutilized). You can store your big luggage at the luggage compartment.

2.5hour journey. At Hoengye, you will see many taxis there. Just give them the hotel address and they will bring you there in 10mins on metered fare, around 10,000won only. So you see, it is really easy.

At the hotel (I should say serviced apartment), the suite is really big. We really liked the apartment. Just a few tips:

Forget about paying for breakfast - it is about 30,000won per person! We simply bought bread, cakes and instant noodles from the easily accessible convenience stores. You can even cook a simple meal as the suite is fully equipped with pots and pans, plates, bowls, etc.

Do not expect to have great room service since it is technically not a hotel. For the 3 days and 2 nights there, I did not see any chambermaid. I had to call the front desk to request for fresh change of bathing towels (and yes, they are tiny, looked more like face towels)

For dinner, quite a lot of guests patronized the japanese restaurant at block 102. We had it for 2 nights - inexpensive with decent portions eg pork cutlet with rice and a bowl of noodles at around 9,000won.

There is a medical station on site. My son had a nasty throat and we went there to seek treatment. Guess what, the medical person gave us medical tablets for free.

Yes, as another reviewer has mentioned, alpensia is not for the expert skiers but it is great for beginners and those from south East Asian nations that do not have the benefit of experiencing snow and skiing.

If you get tired of the coldness, head to ocean 700 to experience the water slides. Heated water of course. Though the price may be on the high side (holiday inn gives a 35% discount during my visit). The thing that I did not like was that you have to pay for the compulsory life jackets (cost us about 16,000 won).

Bottomline is, if you can live with the imperfections like us, you will enjoy your stay in Alpensia Holiday Inn Suites. Go ahead and book, sans breakfast option.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Thaddydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The place is clean and spacious. Lots of food options around but nothing great. The resort itself is like a self contained little town with all the amenities. Main attraction is the ski slopes. Good for first timers. There's convenience stalls, shops selling ski wear and lots of food stalls. Don't worry if you haven't got your ski gear yet cause here you can find lots of cheap options.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank j_trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several times last ski season and we will stay there again this coming season as well. Its a basic hotel with a kitchen and living room, which is perfect for our family. Towels are an issue, but you just need to hunt down the cleaning staff and get extras. Overall a very comfortable place to stay with family.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank gooing99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyeongchang-gun
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeo...
#1 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeong...
#2 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
311 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
#5 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hong C Hotel
Hong C Hotel
#3 of 28 in Gangneung
17 reviews
16.5 mi away
SEAMARQ Hotel
SEAMARQ Hotel
#1 of 28 in Gangneung
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atrium Pyeongchang
Hotel Atrium Pyeongchang
#7 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite

Address: 225-3 Yongsan-ri, Daegwallyeong-myeon, Pyeongchang-gun, Gangwon-do 232-952, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Pyeongchang-gun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Price Range: $81 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Hotel Pyeongchang-Gun
Holiday Inn And Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite South Korea/Pyeongchang-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing