We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
eDreams
$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
ZenHotels.com
$72
View deal
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
114
117
16
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
114
117
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski resort family suite suite room skiing winter december
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 250 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We got a room with 2 bedrooms (King size bed and ensuite and an onden room) that looked over the ski hills. The scenery at night and early morning is brilliant! The room was relatively clean though we found that the drawers in the main bedroom were not cleaned out properly as we found an orange juice bottle with cigarette butts inside. The room also has a kitchen and the hotel provides kitchen utensils and bowls so you can cook if you feel. The room also has towels and pillows though we found that if you want extra you have to pay for it. Nevertheless, the bedding was still very comfortable. As for laundry, It would have also been nice to have self-serve laundry and driers.

The resort has courses for beginners (like us) and intermediates. You can hire the equipment for skis and snowboarding from the ski house as well as ski jackets and pants. Gloves and goggles you will have to bring yourself or buy from the multiple ski stores around the village. There are a lot of food options around the village including Japanese, Korean or fast food from Lotteria though we found that they were slightly more expensive than in Seoul.

Overall, a good experience so come here next time you're looking to hit the slopes.

Room tip: Request a room looking over the slopes
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tezza91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The location was excellent simply for the fact that it is right at the ski slopes. You'd be staying here because skiing, primarily. It is also nicely located if you plan to visit the other areas around Pyeongchang. Attractions such as the Trout Festival & Mt Odaesan National park. You could even take a drive to Gangneung (east coast). All within good driving time.
The rooms were sufficiently spacious with kitchenette but it's not a full serviced apartment style. They only come by daily to dispose off your rubbish. Cleaning services needed request. Don't expect your beds to be made up.
The view we had was good, looking out to the hills (not the ski slope). Rooms with ski slopes are the larger ones & also those belonging to Holiday Inn Resort or the InterContinental Hotel.
You get discounts for ski equipment & lift rentals for being hotel guests. There are numerous restaurants in the area. Food was decent, there's a restaurant selling chicken wings that's very good, for snack.
Ski slopes was excellent, well managed. Younger kids can have a great time on the snow sleds, which has its own escalator going up the sledding slopes.
The beginners ski slope was gentle enough and great for 1st timers or those after their 1st lesson. There's also a training slope but without any lift or escalator.
The best thing about this place is the lack of crowds. We stayed 6 days up here & not a day was without activity.
Other than the snow fun, there's an indoor water park, Ocean 700 which would a good relief from all that cold & snow. Just a short drive away is the Peak Island, another water park which has many outdoor hot spas.
Rent a 4x4 with snow chains & take a scenic drive to Mt Odaesan National Park. Lots of snow and the scenery up in the hills, at the temple was simply breathtaking & tranquil.
If you're driving from Seoul, do take a stop at Yeoju premium outlet for some great value shopping and you might want to stop by the town just outside of the resort, which has more restaurant options & snow equipment rental.
This was our best holiday destination for 2012.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice Resort
Great ski slope which will be using for the 2018 Winter Olympic Games.
The hotel gave a discount coupon for the skiing or to enter the water theme park resort near the hotel.
Lots of great restaurant options.
Tourist can take the bus from the hotel to the Seoul city area with the reasonable prices. Book seat at the hotel.
Hotel Staff were really helpful.

Need to take a taxi to go to YongPyong Ski Resort. About 10minutes ride

How To Go – Take a bus from Air Port to Dong Seoul Bus Terminal
1 way KRW 15000 won.

Transportation to reach them is not too difficult, you can take a bus from Dong Seoul bus Station, the bus is going to Gangneun, you should stop at Hoengye bus station (it's about 3 station from Jongpyong), it takes 2 - 2 1/2 hours, the bus fare to Hoengye is 13.800 won, from Hoengye bus station you take taxi to Alpensia , the cost is around 8000 - 10000 won.
and for return you can take shuttle bus to Jamsil or sinchon from Hotel , the cost is 15000 won .

Room tip: Try to ski here. Even for the 1st timer, it's awesome.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank affarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We are 2 adults and one 8 year old child. Checking in was trouble free as we are following a group tour and the agent has taken care everything relating to the hotel. Even our request for an extra bed for our child was taken care of without any hassle to us. Also because our room was pre-allocated by the agent, our room was not facing the ski slopes. If we had known, we would have requested for it.

The room was pleasant, modern and clean. However, they could have provided a heated toilet seat in this freezing weather. Other than that, we were more than satisfied with the room. TV Channels were abundant and I do notice that there are a lot of input for you to plug in your own devices (USB and HDMI) which are conveniently located in the wall. I did not try though because I didn't bring any devices for use here. Obviously they require you to bring your own cables as there was only the input jacks but no cables provided. But who comes here and watch TV the whole day anyway?!

The location of this hotel was everything. It is right next to the ski slopes and if you are here for skiing, it is the best place to stay! Its basically a 2 minutes walk from the hotel to the slops (4 mins if you are in your ski boots!). The ski rentals are all right there too. We couldn't be happier.

As for finding food, there are a dozen of restaurants scattered around the hotel, ranging from Korean, Japanese, and Western outlets. In the two nights we were there, we had Japanese sushi the first night and Shabu-shabu the next. I would go on writing about the food but that's for another review.

Room tip: Ask for a room which faces the ski slopes. You will get a breathtaking view.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights from Dec 25 in a terrace suite at the Holiday Inn Resort (the hotel, not the condos). I booked it in October as an alternative to a condo as i was told at the time that it was not possible to reserve a condo during that period because priority was given to Koreans. I was first directed to the website but there was no room available (and even now in Jan i see it is not possible to book online a condo around Xmas 2013), and then they explained they kept rooms until late November for Korean "members", but when i called the first day after that period i heard they were full. It appeared the buildings were far from full when we were there, not surprisingly since the week after Christmas is not a school holiday in Korea and the resort is very much designed as a family place. I think this kind of practice is disappointing.

The room was great, very modern and new, with a fantastic view, comfortable beds and a wide choice of pillows, but at USD600 per night, i have certain expectations. Including room cleaning without having to ask for it when we come back after a full day out. When i booked they said the room was 200sqm, but it was probably half that size. This is ok, but even in such a huge room they could not give us beds for 4, and the two children shared a single bed. For USD600 excluding tax, breakfast and also excluding internet ! Breakfast is very average (esp. if you pay USD30 per adult when you don't come early enough the day before to have the package rate), with bad quality juices, coffee, bread..., even kimchi was made with chinese cabbage. Restaurant choices in the resort include a couple of good Korean restaurants, but otherwise most of them serve sub-par unhealthy processed food (eg Domino's pizzas, which even my 7-year old didn't like..., or even the popular Japanese restaurant which serves the worst soba i ever had), and convenience stores have, well, lots of choices for instant noodles. We found the room service from the hotel for dinner very good though, with a delicious bulgogi, kimchi chigge or even sandwiches. They are just twice the price of the outside places.

Fortunately the slope area is great for beginners, very efficient and all well organised, not cheap though (half a day equipt+lift at eq $250 for 2 adults/2children, don't forget the resort coupons!). The water park is interesting but don't expect to be able to swim there (and there is no swimming pool in the hotels), rather to be walking with a life vest with water at mid-thigh in a wave pool after the guards whistled to get you to pay extra to rent the compulsory life vest, and then later on whistled again to get you to pay further extra for a bathing cap, even if you already paid the equivalent of a theme park entrance.

I really wanted to like Alpensia, also being (ironically) of Korean origin myself, but i was very disappointed by the inaccurate communication, the lack of transparency in the commercial practices, the average quality of food, and all the extras all the time.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Natalie R,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room and view.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and breakfast selection. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews