We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Although we followed a tour group, never once did we dream of staying at this ski resort! The resort is clean, modern and comfortable....will house tourists coming for the Olympics in 2018. Other resorts of the same stature like Intercontinental are located within the same vicinity. We were lucky to experience the autumn season; the days are cool and the nights extremely cold for some of us. Lots of eating outlets nearby. There's also a convenience store which sells snacks and necessities. However, being Muslims, we had to be selective esp. during breakfast. But no fret, there's lots to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessKlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 216 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have spent 2 days in this hotel last week. This resort is mainly designed for ski vacation. This is autumn time, no snow yet. Therefore, not much activities available. Only a few restaurants are opened. And no shopping mall too.

However, if you want to relax, this is just the place for you. Fresh air, great view, not many people. You can enjoy walking around, drink a cup of coffee, and do some reading. There's an Ocean 700 waterpark and hotspring in the resort area. It's new and clean. Not a huge waterpark but you can spend at least half day in there. Since it's autumn time, the temperature is between 0 and 10 celsius most of the time. It's great to have such nice hotspring facility.

The hotel is very nice. European style and great room. The room is clean and very large. And it has a nice balcony with chairs and table.

May be it's not hot season like winter time. Not too many people working in the hotel. But they are polite and able to communicate in English.

One minor draw back. There's no toothbush and toothpaste in the bathroom. And there's no bathtub. Only shower is available. It would be nice if there's a bathtub so that guest can take a hot bath during autumn and winter. Also, there's no free WIFI in room. If you need WIFI, you need to go to the lobby.

And there are only limited choices for food.

Room Tip: This is a nice hotel. Any room should be just fine. If you have a large group and need several roo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KL03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The village in the complex has all the needed amenities. There is plenty to do for families. I have stayed in several condo type resorts in Korea, this is top class. Will be back for ski season.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrazierSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Was there just for 1 night as a transit point to another part. Because it was the off-peak season, we literally had the whole resort to ourselves.. The air was fresh, autumn leaves were everywhere and the staff try their very best to help in anyway they can. The resort has some interesting activities even for visiting during non-ski season, which makes it ideal for a family vacation.
I really have to praise them for their service! I left my cellphone in the room and realised it only when I have travelled 4 hours to another town. Upon calling them, they told me housekeeping has found it and they will arrange for express delivery to return my phone. Needless to say, I'm extremely thankful for their help!

Room Tip: Do note that towels are not provided. But since it came with a kitchen, you could visit the convenie...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Location is just under the ski facilities which makes it easy to access. Rooms were ok. But smell strongly with kimchi in the rooms and corridor. Need to get used to it. Not much service is needed over all ok. The room is nice and can fit a family of 4 easily. Enjoy

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went to South Korea with my wife and two kids for the summer. Was told by colleagues that Korea is great to visit in June and we were not disappointed. Went along with a tour group composed mostly of older retirees and young couples. We were the only family with young kids (mine were 7 and 5).
Pyeongchang will be the host of the 2018 Winter Games and it may be 6 years away but the town especially Alpensia resort looks ready for it right now with a lot of the infrastructure already built.
Alpensia is a huge resort which features ski slopes, a cluster of hotels, water park and ski jump tower, and more features that we didn't even get to see during our very short visit there.
The rooms were huge, and way bigger than we expected. We expected perhaps a king-size bed with one double bed but got two king-size beds instead. Room also had a spacious balcony, instantaneous hot water, free mineral water, coffee and tea, nice wardrobe, 42" (I think) flatscreen TV with an incredible number of Korean channels. Outside, the resort also offers a number of restaurants to fit your taste and budget, plus a convenience store and a place to rent bikes and other kiddie rides. Overall a fantastic place to stay and for a very reasonable rate too as part of the package. If I could choose one place to stay in Korea, this would be it. I would not have minded to spend our entire week in Korea in this one place, and I think the kids would have been quite happy too.

Room Tip: A double room can fit 4 people easily.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mpua66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Coming from Australia, we were able to find little information about skiing in Korea, which we opted for rather than Japan. On a wing and a prayer we found great flights with China Southern Airlines direct from Brisbane, got a great deal for 10 nights at the Holiday Inn Suites, booked a car to meet us at Incheon airport and crossed our fingers! Well, all of our wishes and more came true. As we landed at Incheon the first snowfall in weeks began, as we walked out of the airport to our waiting car, the kids squealed in delight, never having experienced a snowfall and the magic began.
My husband's suggestion that we arrive to Alpensia comfortably was a little indulgent but an absolute winner. We arrived at Alpensia in the late afternoon and were quickly processed and given keys to our beautiful 2 br apartment overlooking the Intercontinental Hotel and surrounding fields. The front desk staff are super friendly and helpful, with reasonable English. The apartment was perfect for our family of 4, well appointed with all the modern conveniences and spacious enough that we all had room to spread out. A quick trip into the village and we were able to pick up some provisions to tide us over til the next day. Dinner options were abundant, although we were partial to the Korean and Japanese restaurants closest to our block (across from the ticket office) and not a day went by without a visit to Angel-In-Us, where we would hook up with the free wi-fi. Oh, and for a treat, do breakfast at the Intercontinental - just wonderful.
Our first morning we tripped into Hoengye, the local town, by taxi (AUD$8 one way) and went shopping at one of the groceries stores. Language barriers aside, we stocked up on fresh fruit, local vegetables and staples (we enjoy cooking) and managed to find a ski shop with an English speaking assistant, who had lived in Brisbane for 1 year on an exchange (small world). People were so accommodating and so friendly, it blew us away. Once all geared up, the ski shop people gave us a lift back to Alpensia and helped us with our gear and shopping!!!
As the only skier in the family, I had a fun time rediscovering my skills and passion for the slopes in an afternoon session on the Alpensia slopes (Aussies think Smiggin Holes) while the boys (snow virgins) all had boarding lessons with English speaking instructors. Day 2 I skipped over to Yongpyong, home of 2018 Winter Olympics, and skied the gorgeous Dragon Peak run over and over until my ticket ran out. World class run, world class facilities and gorgeous surrounds - I was blown away (despite the -13C temp). Be careful of the free shuttle bus times or you might get caught waiting and hailing a taxi in the snow can be a little tricky!
The days rolled on with blue skies and sun, and lots of fun in the snow. Queues were non-existent so by lunchtime we were all stuffed. Good tip - buy a Morning Pass (8.30am - 1pm), ski non-stop then rest up for the afternoon - we found this worked well as the boys (10 and 12) would tire after lunch. We had a couple of non-ski days and went to Alpensia Ocean 700, the indoor waterpark, and had an absolutely fantastic afternoon including sauna time for the adults! Check out the outdoor spa, it's a hoot! Another day we booked a taxi and visited the Buddhist temples in the national park, including Woljeongsa (stunning) and on the return went up the ski jump tower and had afternoon hot chocolates (must do)! Oh, and did I mention the hang gliding ride and sledding - do it all as it is so much fun!
The snow was perfect perfect perfect each day and there was little to complain about our location - a five minute walk to everything, including the ski lift! All the food we ate out was fantastic, enjoyed our meals in our cosy apartment (serviced every day) and soaked it all in. The only negative is the absence of a self-serve laundry facility - 10 days of washing in the sink got a little trying and the laundry service prices were expensive.
On our last day the family skied at Yongpyong and we all had superb runs - so many options! Alas, our 10 day holiday came to an end, with a snowfall on our last evening as it had all begun. The morning we were due to leave, the boys couldn't help themselves and skied the last morning as snow continued to fall. We were so sad to leave...
We returned to Seoul on the bus, which was more than comfortable and negotiated our way through the subway to our next destination, the Metrol Hotel.
Our boys are still raving about this holiday and we are planning our return in January 2013 - can't wait!

Room Tip: Ask for 30 Block
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank MSE_BrisVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyeongchang-gun
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeo...
#1 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeong...
#2 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
309 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
#5 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
SEAMARQ Hotel
SEAMARQ Hotel
#1 of 28 in Gangneung
49 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hong C Hotel
Hong C Hotel
#3 of 28 in Gangneung
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atrium Pyeongchang
Hotel Atrium Pyeongchang
#7 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite

Address: 225-3 Yongsan-ri, Daegwallyeong-myeon, Pyeongchang-gun, Gangwon-do 232-952, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Pyeongchang-gun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Price Range: $86 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, IHG, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Hotel Pyeongchang-Gun
Holiday Inn And Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite South Korea/Pyeongchang-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing