We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
179
143
35
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
179
143
35
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday inn winter olympics breakfast buffet beautiful snow flavours restaurant korean beef beautiful hotel ski jump convenience store hotel is clean the bus rooms are large restaurants and shops sitting area water park noodles domino's pizza
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 383 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2018 via mobile

Awesome hotel friendly staff very help full very cold weather but we enjoyed the warm room hotel have beautiful snow view near by many activities I loved the experience specially first time in Korea concierge team are very helpful always ready very friendly as well as reception team , room was clean very big have nice view

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sherif76m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018

Comfortable, friendly staff, clean hotel. Rooms are large and can comfortably fit family of 4 with 2 kids , 10yrs and 12 yrs. we stayed 3 nights. Most days spent skiing (kids are about 44000 kRW for ski lifts and skis after discount) We had discounts being guests of hotel in Alpensia gets discounts. Including water theme park. Some eateries within the hotel vacinity. Also convenient stores. We didnt go out to the town as it was too cold and there was enough to occupy the family in the resort.
It was quite easy for us to travel to and from the resort from Seoul. We took the KTX train from Seoul station ( we bought train ticket online) at 11 am to Jinbu station . Ride was 1 hr 40 min. When arrive there was a public bus to Alpensia (free of charge) to take those going to the resort area. Need to look at the bus schedule. Otherwise there are also taxis available at the train station. The public bus stops at the welcome area infront of holiday inn . A few meters walk to intercontinental. May need to ask hotel for help if you need extra hands for bags , strollers or wheel chair.
We had a spectacular firework show on the Saturday which we could watch from the comfort of our room.
Overall a wonderful experience . Will recommend friends and families

Date of stay: December 2018
2  Thank lynsl2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel at alpensia ski resort in Pyeongchang. Rooms are pretty standard. Hotel is a short walk to the slopes and hotel guest have a 30% discount for ski pass and equipment rental. Breakfast is so so. Saving grace is the view from the room with a view of the slopes.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank KennethSeet1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

The Intercontinental at Alpensia is a great property. Grand, high ceilings in the lobby, warm wooden furnishings, and large glass windows that provide the perfect setting for a winter holiday. We stayed 11-15 Dec 2018.

We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite, perfect for our family of four, and can comfortably accommodate a fifth. The room comes with a small kitchenette with a full size fridge. No cooking facilities. The two balconies overlooked the Alpensia village and ski slopes - very picturesque. Clean and well maintained, each bedroom comes with its own ensuite bathrooms, each with a bath tub and a shower. Shower water pressure was great, and I loved the shower heads that shot very fine jets of water that I imagine really cleans the pores on the skin. Each bedroom also has its own walk in wardrobe with a safe.

Here’s what would have made our stay a 5-Star experience:

1. More responsive and helpful pre-arrival English support. The hotel responded within the same day with options for getting from Seoul to Alpensia, but when we tried to book the shuttle bus from Myeong Dong station to Alpensia, the hotel replied saying that the concierge will get back to us, and we never heard from the concierge, until we called the hotel. When we got in touch with the hotel, I found it strange that the concierge wouldn’t help us make shuttle reservations, and insisted that we contact them again no earlier than 2 weeks before our shuttle date. It turned out that the 3rd party shuttle operator only accepted online bookings (and payments) up to 2 weeks before shuttle date. I guess it made sense for us to book the and pay for the shuttle online directly ourselves, but they could have communicated the process and reasons more clearly. They can even provide value-added service of booking for confirmed guests.

2. More consistent and friendly service. Not just within the Intercontinental, but generally in Seoul and Pyeongchang, we found service staff to be surly. There were a few who did offer friendly smiles and eye-contact, but it wasn’t what we could look forward to within the hotel and around Alpensia.

3. International power sockets around the entire room. All the power sockets in the room were the 2-round pins Type F sockets. Most international hotel brands already provide the multi-type sockets, so it was disappointing to find only Type F sockets. Nonetheless the concierge readily lent us adaptors. Unfortunately, the 1st adaptor they provided was a low quality one that melted when in use! Fortunately, no accidents, and the subsequent ones they provided worked well.

4. Rounded edges for shower gel / shampoo / conditioner / body lotion bottle flip-caps. The 2-BR suites come with generously sized bottles of toiletries from Agraria San Francisco. Unfortunately, the flip caps on the bottles have sharp edges, and in cold dry weather like in Pyeongchang, the edges cut into the skin. I’m happy with the quality of Agraria toiletries, but maybe Intercontinental should get Agraria to use flip caps with better designed (rounded edges!) flip caps.

5. Netflix enabled Smart TVs. The Samsung TVs in the rooms are kinda old school. The hotel provides a blue ray player and has a decent library of DVD movies (some fairly recent) that you can borrow, but in this day and age, where most AirBnBs that I’ve been to come equipped with Netflix enabled SmartTVs, isn’t it about time for IHG to catch up with the times?

6. Wider selection of vegetarian and vegan options in the hotel and around Alpensia. The only restaurant in the hotel, Flavours, has limited vegan options: minestrone soup (very tasty, but small portions), steamed vegetables and grilled vegetables (on the room service menu, and you can ask for it in the restaurant), which had broccoli, asparagus, bell peppers, zucchini, button mushrooms, and potatoes. For vegetarians, there is also risotto, and egg-cheese-tomatoes-potato frittata, and pasta. It would have been nice to have vegan / vegetarian options of Korean dishes.

Now on to vegetarian and vegan options around Alpensia (outside Intercontinental). As in the rest of Korea, it is challenging to find vegetarian or vegan food options. Here’re what we found in Alpensia:

A. The Teriyaki Japanese Family restaurant in Blk 102 were happy to convert their Fried Shrimp & Vegetable Set into a purely vegetable tempura set, and swop out the seafood sushi for rice (still 18,000 KRW). I think they deducted 2000 KRW from the tempura set because they couldn’t fully replace all items in the set, but I can’t be sure what the 2000 KRW rebate was for. They could also do a soba set (Buckwheat Noodles set, 11,000 KRW) with inari (tofu skin) sushi pieces. The soba is cold so not great for cold weather, and it’s not clear if the hot soup that comes with the soba set is made from vegetarian stock (unlikely). They were also happy to do a vegetables fried rice (9,000 KRW) for us - mostly rice, with bits and pieces of carrots, mushrooms, and bell peppers. I’m sure you can ask for eggs too if you eat eggs.

B. The Yong Woo Dong Korean eatery in Blk 103 has 2 options for vegetarians. The first is the “Mixed Various Vegetables with Rice in Bowl” (7500 KRW), which is like a bibimbap with raw vegetables, cooked bean sprouts, and a fried egg (runny yolk) over hot rice in a metal bowl. This is usually served with a sweet spicy red bibimbap sauce, and the Chef was kind enough to warn us that the bibimbap sauce contains meat extracts, so he offered soy sauce as an alternate favouring instead. The second option is “Kimchi and Roe with Rice in a stone bowl” (8500 KRW), which is a hot dolsot bibimbap wth kimchi as one of the ingredients, and they swop our the roe for firm tofu cubes. I love dolsot bibimbap, especially in cold weather, because the hot stone bowl keeps the food hot, and slightly chars the rice into crispy pieces. You can also drop the kimchi, because kimchi in Korea is almost always made with fish sauce (except in dedicated vegetarian / vegan restaurants or temple food places), and flavour the rice with soy sauce instead. We really enjoyed the hot stone dish, with and without the kimchi.

C. If you plan to do your own cooking, the GS25 convince store next to Domino’s has the widest range of produce. We travelled with a small electric cooking pot, perfect for instant noodles and soups, and were able to buy the following from the said GS25 shop: fresh fruits (bananas, grapes, oranges, persimmons), fresh assorted vegetable leaves (which is typically used to wrap barbecued Korean beef), tofu, vacuum-packed cooked corn on the cob, and bean sprouts. We couldn’t read Korean, but I don’t think the GS25 shops carried any instant noodles that are vegetarian friendly. Of course you can just throw away the animal-based seasonings, and just consume the noodles, but why not just pack your own vegetarian carbs and seasoning?

It’s challening to find and communicate vegetarian / vegan needs to the restaurant staff, but not impossible. Good luck!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchanmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

Last week of November 2018. It was low season with hardly anyone in the hotel. I must say staff were probably not busy. However despite that, the staff were not very friendly, hardly smile. It gives us the “cold” feeling which should not be the case for a holiday resort.

We were disappointed too that the front staff had not provided us with the neccessary tax refund forms knowing that we are foreigners. As such we were not able to claim tax refund at the airport. We spend Krw400,000 for just 2 nights.

Luckily conceige staff were slightly friendlier. He arrange for our taxis to the Yongpyong resort & to the train station as shuttle services has not started for the ski season. No activities around Alpensia except for a children’s playground. I would not recoomend this resort if you looking for buzzling activities.

For us we like the tranquility so the quietness was rather nice & the resort was super “clean”. Room & toilet were very well maintained too. Good job to house keeping!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 88Eunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews