We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - but not at all a 5-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location - but not at all a 5-star hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a weekend for skiing. Good location 5 min walk from the lift. However the hotel operations is not what you'd expect. Some examples of what we experienced:

1) no bathrobes in the suite
2) the club lounge was closed - they couldn't tell us why this was the case
3) we were asked to rush our breakfast in a very rude manner despite arriving before closing time
4) we asked for a change to another suite because the first one was smelling terribly
5) they lost out luggage at check out and took 20 min to find it
6) they have only 1 restaurant "one size fits all" uninspiring food

Generally there is no atmosphere and the staff appears uninterested in going the extra mile. Will come back but only for the skiing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vvli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear vvli,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. It good to know our location suited your needs. I apologize for any inconvenience the unsatisfactory service you received. I assure you that we take every comment seriously. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    118
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
132
61
16
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Overall, i enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is nice, overlooking the ski slopes.
The room is quite ok, not as i expected though, but it was clean.

The staffs' English were so limited. It was hard to ask them anything in the area. They really tried to explain anyway, i appreciate it.

The breakfast was good, many choices.

The best thing of this hotel is the ground itself. It is a nice complex, with the Holiday Inn next to it, and so many restaurants and eateries near to the Ski House.
The Ski House is excellent. Pretty good equipment, well maintain slopes and great ski lifts.

I had a great time here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suryo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We really liked this hotel as it was very convenient location, beautiful surroundings, good rooms.
It is very well located to walk to the lifts and ski rental area. We are gold ambassadors for intercontinental so we got an upgrade and the room was superb. Only let down was the service at the restaurant and the limited food options. We met the general manager of the hotel and he is a very good professional gm. I am sure he will greatly improve this hotel. Would go there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank persson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangzhou
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

First the good points. It's a fairly new hotel, nicely decorated rooms, bathroom with shower and separate bath, staff are excellent, English was spoken and they were fabulous at providing service. Rooms are hot, we visited during the winter season, but you are able to open the balcony doors which soon cools things down, it's quiet, even on new years eve we didn't hear a thing. And there is an ATM in the hotel which was very useful. We arranged transport from the airport to the hotel, via the hotel and this was very good. Mark, the driver, was at the airport and drove us safely to the resort, the car was very comfortable, but pricey. W350k one way, but looking at other reviews, the buses seem difficult to book.
The hotel is a few minutes walk to the skiing area, which is a new facility, with lockers, ski hire, ski shops and some restaurants, but all are best described as fast food. There is lots of choice, domino's pizza, Korean BBQ, Japanese, food Capitol etc, but all are low prices/ low quality, which is great for a few days, but we did start to crave more choice. The resort area also has mini-marts and also the holiday inn. The Alpensia ski area is ok, 6 slopes in total, but 4 of those I would class advanced, so if you are intermeduate then you only really have 2 slopes, and one of those is the nursery slope where the real beginners are. As with the food, great for a couple if days, but if you are staying any longer, it is worth taking a taxi over to Yongpyong, which is 5 mins away and provides much more choice for skiing.
The not so good about the hotel, the room housekeeping. We had an extra bed in the room, at an extra charge, but we never got 3 bath towel or an extra bottle of water without calling and requesting it. Cups weren't always washed up and one day our room service plate was left on the side, alobg with the maids cloth! All small things, but for 5 star hotel, not really what you expect.
The breakfast was ok, but again, for this type of hotel, you expect more. Only one type of bread, sliced white, was available. Sugar cereals only so more attention needed from the restaurant managers.
The sauna area can only be used if you pay and there is no swimming pool area, so after a day skiing you then have to pay extra to take advantage if the hot-tub which I thought was a bit cheeky.
Another moan, the resort, including the hotel, didn't go enough up keep the paths free of snow. There were some guys out there but more attention to this is needed especially during the winter, as those paths are like ice rinks.
So overall, it was Good, certainly the best accommodation in Alpensia and Yongpyong as far as we could see, but not to the usual high standards that IHG usually provide. If we come back again, I would probably stay in the holiday inn suites as the extra cost to stay in the Intercontinental hotel in my view, for the amount of time you spend in your room, is not worth it

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonibellaGuangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this 3-year old resort.

1. The location is superb for families- a short walk from the family lifts and sledding slope. There is a "food capital" here with food stalls selling noodles/ rice/ hot drinks, and a ski shop/ rental place selling all the equipment you need to kit out for some fun in the snow, including snow sleds. You can also rent sleds from them if your kid doesn't ski. A little expensive ($20 for 3 hours per adult, $15 per child).

2. The rooms were spacious and clean and comfortable- we had a one bedroom suite with very new furnishings, and a firm, comfortable bed. There was ample space for a rollaway and a cot. Everything was kept to the usual 5 star cleanliness level.

3. The hotel was family-oriented. The children were able to simply step out and play in front of the hotel, and made friends with other children easily there. There were many young families there with small children like ours and the hotel clearly is a family-oriented place with easy stroller access, children's menus and baby seats. The small lobby shop sold little toys, sleds and winter hats/ gloves if you need them.

4. The staff spoke good English and were service oriented. We left an expensive camera in the restaurant overnight and it was kept and returned to us. The staff was polite and eager to please...although we had trouble when we asked for extra bottled water.


The downside was-

1. There was no free wifi. Wifi costs about US$15 for a day.

2. There was only 1 restaurant (apart from the lobby lounge), and this was a mass-catering cafetaria style place with loads of tourists heaping food onto their plates. Half the food was local spicy food. The same food was served almost everyday, and the morning coffee was dire (weak, watered down). Room service was very very limited.

3. There is no hotel car.
Unless you drive or want to take a bus, book a "Jumbo Taxi" to take you back to Seoul, which is about 2.5-3 hours away depending on traffic conditions.


We stayed for only 2 nights and were sad to leave this beautiful snow-covered place.... but we were running out of food ideas onsite. There is a Dominos Pizza across the road at the Holiday Inn and I suppose one could always walk across to try their restaurant too....

All in, a great stay for a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor (out of 7 floors in the hotel) and it was easy to access the elevator fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaltattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The surroundings of the hotel is beautiful, and so is its interior, which has a cosy fireplace in the coffe hourse. Arrived early from Seoul and was checked in without any fuss or questions asked. Compared with the significantly busier Yongpyong ski resort, the Alpensia is tranquil. Food options are aplenty in the main complex, which is 3 mins walk from Intercon's back door and sufficient for a 1 to 2 night stay, though the quality may not be the best. The standard of food at the Intercon is also a mite disappointing for the brand. Nevertheless, compliments to the few young gentlemen who manned the bell desk. They were polite, always on hand to assist with luggage and very proactive. A quick query on return transport options to Seoul was met with a suggestion to assist with bus reservations. Thumbs up.

Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: call for a cab (seems standard that it is 10,000 won per way) to Yongpyong ski resort a mere 5 mins away, and take the gondola/ cable car up to Dragon's Peak even if you do not ski. The scenary in winter is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the store/ service area which can be nosier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kohal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I made the booking directly in the hotel website 3 months prior to my stay. i didn't expect that i would be allocated to the worst room. It's of the lowest floor and facing the carpark entrance. I am really disappointted.... For the service, when i check in, they told me that i don't need a coupon for the breakfast, but the real case was i was chased for the breakfast coupon when i was in the restaurant. I asked about the bus service, they hard to find me the bus schedule... and i need to go to the welcome centre to book the bus myself... that's all i experience in this 5 star hotel...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyeongchang-gun
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeo...
#1 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia ...
#2 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
216 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
#5 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
SEAMARQ Hotel
SEAMARQ Hotel
#1 of 27 in Gangneung
47 reviews
23.3 mi away
Benikea Premier Donghae Medical Spa Convention Hotel
16.9 mi away
Hotel Atrium Pyeongchang
Hotel Atrium Pyeongchang
#7 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort

Property: InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
Address: 325, Solbong-ro, Yongsan-ri, Daegwallyeong-myeon, Pyeongchang-gun, Gangwon-do 25351, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Pyeongchang-gun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Pyeongchang Resort Alpensia is located in Pyeongchang County, Gangwon province which is the third largest county in South Korea. It s about 2 hours drive away from Korea s capital Seoul and well connected through public transport. The hotel is part of Alpensia, Korea s premier all-year resort, a purpose built, alpine-style village in the Taebaek Mountain region, only 20 minutes drive away from the east coast of Korea is set in the midst of beautiful, unspoiled nature. World-class facilities for all-year leisure, meetings and incentives make Alpensia the perfect choice for a relaxing weekend away as well as for workshops, team-building activities and product presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Hotel Pyeongchang-Gun
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort South Korea/Pyeongchang-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing