We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed there between 2-4 Jan 2012. Upon check in, the staff that served us seems to know little English but she communicate to us quite effectively through writing. When we wanted to check out more information on the later dates as well as to reserve bus seats back to Seoul, we were served by very nice front desk receptionist who speaks and understand fluent English. The bell boy or even the manager were very initiative in both check in and check out as they simply offer to carry my luggage for me even if it's for a short distance. The room was huge and the place was really beautiful with the snow! We sat at the Oxy Lounge one of the nights and simply watch the snow. It's really romantic and more perfect if it was Christmas! Except for the second day where most of the toiletry stuffs were not replenished, the hotel was really perfect. We had a balcony with seats that look out to the snow but it's really too cold to sit outside except for spring to autumn?

There were alot of restaurants around the place. However, since we were in Korea, we just wanted to stick to Korean food. There was only two Korean restaurants in the area and one could easily dine at less than 30kwn for 2 person. We had mushroom and pork hot pot soup for all three nights at the same restaurant. If you are a fan of Korean food, please remember to try it while you are over there.

Skiing was good and we took a 4h lesson with the Ski House. We could sort of grasp it by the third hour and was already using the lift for the beginner slope by then. It was sufficient for us to be able to ski ourselves on the beginner slope on the second day. So try to go for a longer hour lesson to gain more confidence if you can. Skiing gears are expensive over there, so try to rent if you can especially if it's your first few time skiing. The instructors can be very young but they were helpful and those schooling in the universities spoke little English. But they will use drawings on the snow or body actions to help you understand them better. If you wanted the more experienced oldies, i don't think they speak any English.

All other play stuffs such as the coaster and para skiing was closed during winter. So except for skiing and ocean 700, there isn't other activities for you. Personally i really find the place good for skiing as it comes with 3 different slopes for different levels, unlike other countries where you have a one for all. Even if you really are afraid of falling from skiing, you can try snow sledding, really, there isn't much fear of accidents over there. Oh ya, there's a huge backyard filled with snow if you want to build a snowman over there. i didn't manage to do it but you can try?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    118
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
133
61
16
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

OK, so it's Korea and you can't really figure out anything for certain by reading what's there, and calling the hotel is even less help. Sound familiar? So, here's the actual detail on Alpensia, and this hotel:

o Alpensia is NOT Yongpyong. What you are reading is the only place on earth that will tell you that clearly. Yongpyong is located behind the Alpensia ski hill and is visible off the back from the summit of the lift. It is about 15 minutes away by car and they have a shuttle 3 times a day from the Intercon Alpensia over to it.

o Alpensia is brand new, small, and lovely for what it is. The lifts and base of the runs are a 5 minute walk from the Intercon lobby. There are only 6 runs. 1 beginner, 1 intermediate, 1 upper intermediate, and 3 advanced. There are no trail maps and no rating system. This is the only place you can find this info. It is a great place to take beginners or to teach people to ski. After that, you will need to go over to Yongpyong for real variety. There is none here.

o The lift tickets and the lift lines are both very reasonable. Even though it was peak season Xmas, the place was not full at all. The longest lift line was about 7 mins. If they managed the lines better and ensured all chairs went up full, it would be about half that. They don't, of course, but as it is, they don't really need to. I wonder how long it will last as undiscovered.

o Rental equipment is brand new (as is the whole place) and nice. Cheapish, too.

o Food options are very limited outside the hotel although they have a Domino's(?), a few small Korean places, a very unfriendly Japanese place, and an inedible fast food curiosity called Lotteria. There is zero apres-ski scene apart from a Korean beer bar called Hite Max where you can get 4L (yes, four liters) jugs of sweet beer and local snacks. Please smoke.

o There are 3 or 4 ski shops right in the retail village offering soft goods for skiing at good prices. They don't rape you. No real equipment per se, but the nature of this place suggests most people would rent.

o The hotel is very nice but has a lot of "new hotel run by clueless people" type of problems. I am guessing it's hard to get decent experienced staff to work in such a remote place. Only two people spoke English that we could find during our entire stay although they did seem to have one of them on the premises most of the time. I would expect better for a US$400 Intercontinental Hotel room. This is after all the flagship of ICH.

o The breakfast buffet is completely disappointing and identical day in and day out. Zero service apart from a dour older manager who did nothing except make sure you got your bill.

o The views from the hotel are breathtaking, and the bedding and all is luxurious and nice. Rooms are big.

o The drive from Seoul was a very uneventful and pleasant 2 hours exactly.

In all, I would return, although it does have the potential to get super crowded if they let it. Thankfully it isn't yet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank HKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed at intercontinental for 2 nights. N I LOVE IT. It is like a mini village. 5min walk to ski area, eatery and convenience store. And less than 10min walk to the water park.

Holiday inn is right next to the ski area however I would still choose Intercontinental as it is definitely more luxe. The lobby with a fireplace was an excellent place to chill n to admire the view :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaede_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Spacious, well equipped and very clean rooms. Great location, gorgeous view. The room temperature control works like a charm. Big comfy bed too.

Room service is good. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and warm; however, they do need to really improve their English.

Excellent breakfast selection.

Very cheap wifi. Speed is good enough.

Great location. The shops within walking distance has most of what you would need.

Would I stay here again? Of course.

Room Tip: Face the ski slope/mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Pros

(1) Big, modern and new rooms with nice decor
(2) Free wifi
(3) Good buffet breakfast
(4) Really cheap considering quality
(5) Good skiing for beginners
(6) Indoor water park nearby
(7) Supermarket, shops and restaurants nearby in Holiday inn complex
(8) 50% discount coupons for skiing and indoor waterpark

Cons
(1) Most staff cannot speak English
(2) Holiday inn is next to slopes but rooms here nicer
(3) Alpensia only has about 5 slopes. Advanced skiers have to take a short cab ride to Yongpyong slopes.
(4) Not much dining choice at hotel itself.
(5) Alpensia has no baby ski lift or escalator for beginners. They have to walk up the slope.
(6) Loads of tour groups at beginner slope being given their first lessons by their tour group leader.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridge_didge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The lobby is beautiful and was decorated ready for christmas when we were there, staff are happy for you to just sit in the lobby chatting or you can order food, wine or, as we did, yummy cocktails while looking out onto the mountain and very pretty village. Our room on the 2nd floor (non smoking floor) was fine, the view spectacular and the bathroom had a deep bath and a huge shower head. The staff were great and even before helped us via email with bus timetables ect (there are 2 buses per day from Seoul airport at 9:30 and 4:30 leaving from 9c). Didn't try the restaurant the breakfast is 25000 and the dinner menu did look good (local specialties) but we ate in town. They have a gym and massage place on site also. There is wifi available in your room which gets a good strength and costs 13000 for 24 hours. They also give you discount vouchers for 30% of lift/rental which brings a half day lift ticket with snowboard rental down to about 50000 per person and they also give you a 50% off ocean 700 which brings it down to 21000 per person. The alpensia ski fields are quite small but you could easily take a cab to yongpyong. There is a cafe at the top of the ski jump tower but you need a car to get there and the cheese making course will not tale people that don't speak Korean. There is quite a few food options in town ranging fro 3000 spicy rice cakes at a tent at the bottom of the runs to Japanese at about 20000 to dinner at ic restaurant which cost a bit more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ridge_didge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel is part of Alpensia resort, the location for 2018 winter olympics. It's a stunning hotel with a great mountain resort atmosphere and delicious food. There was a log fire in the lobby area, very comfortable room, good sauna and gym, very good service and all round, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyeongchang-gun
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeongchang
Holiday Inn Resort Alpensia Pyeo...
#1 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia ...
#3 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
216 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
Kensington Flora Pyeongchang
#5 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
SEAMARQ Hotel
SEAMARQ Hotel
#1 of 27 in Gangneung
47 reviews
23.3 mi away
Benikea Premier Donghae Medical Spa Convention Hotel
16.9 mi away
Hotel Atrium Pyeongchang
Hotel Atrium Pyeongchang
#7 of 10 in Pyeongchang-gun
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort

Property: InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort
Address: 325, Solbong-ro, Yongsan-ri, Daegwallyeong-myeon, Pyeongchang-gun, Gangwon-do 25351, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Pyeongchang-gun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Pyeongchang Resort Alpensia is located in Pyeongchang County, Gangwon province which is the third largest county in South Korea. It s about 2 hours drive away from Korea s capital Seoul and well connected through public transport. The hotel is part of Alpensia, Korea s premier all-year resort, a purpose built, alpine-style village in the Taebaek Mountain region, only 20 minutes drive away from the east coast of Korea is set in the midst of beautiful, unspoiled nature. World-class facilities for all-year leisure, meetings and incentives make Alpensia the perfect choice for a relaxing weekend away as well as for workshops, team-building activities and product presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Hotel Pyeongchang-Gun
InterContinental Alpensia Pyeongchang Resort South Korea/Pyeongchang-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing