We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than other Laoag hotels”
Review of Java Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Java Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Better than other Laoag hotels”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This Indonesian inspired hotel may be one of the better hotels in Laoag. It is located near the downtown and is easily accessible by local transportation (tricycle) if you want to explore the city. It is also a good jump off point if you want to go to the famous Pagudpod. Staying a night or two in this hotel to explore the city before you go to Pagudpod is recommended. The only set back is its facade from the main road. It is fronted by a gasoline station that somehow affects its aesthetic look. The hotel lobby has a good design though it is not airconditioned and can be very humid and hot during summer. The hallways are unique in design. The rooms are relatively larger than the rooms in other Laoag hotels. The room balcony is facing a ricefield at the back of the hotel and can be relaxing during afternoons. The beds are so..so.. in terms of comfort but is big enough to accomodate 2 persons. The room lighting is somewhat dim and can be improved. The fixtures inside the room is a little bit old but still gives the effect of its inspired theme. The hotel staff are relatively courteous except for one instance that my sleep was bothered by continuous knocking of a staff that was tasked to clean the room. Their staff should somehow know the whereabouts of their guest specially if there were arrangements made for transportation service. I've waited for almost 2 hours in the hotel lobby waiting for my transport service en route to another hotel for a meeting, unknowingly the receptionist already told my supposed to be service that I've already left thus making me wait for that long - that almost ruined my day. A must try is their restaurant Eagles Nest, serving authentic Ilocano food, much better than the other restos in the city. It offers good ambience and friendly resto staff. Overall, my stay here is quite good. I will still come back and stay at this hotel. Im hoping that improvement will be made.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almlkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    110
    55
    10
    17
See reviews for
103
44
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bacolor, Philippines
Level Contributor
300 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was welcomed with a beautifully designed Indonesian inspired hotel that i came to like instantly,very distinct and i appreciate it that it combined local material even if its concretized. The receptionists were friendly though we spent more time deciding and computing for our room fees and patiently they accomodated us. They honored a senior citizen card and they provide 10% discount for corporate accounts. Our room at 2nd level is the standard one but very spacious that it could accomodate 2 extra queen beds if you want it maximized for a price of 2400 per night. It has thermos, complimentary coffee, a small ref with drinks, a Cable TV and a balcony overviewing the pool on the ground level which is included for use plus a gym. Breakfast is also included. Eagle's nest resto and bar beside is an add on for those who want to chill out during the night. There's a wall climbing ( 100 per hour ) and basketball court at the back. For improvement, the service during the breakfast is disgusting.We ordered for coffee and

Room Tip: sine, there are no elevators, choose rooms at the ground level as much as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaizen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked the Dorm 402 and it was just right for the 13 of us. There were 2 bathrooms, 3 comfort rooms, 6 bunk beds, 4 single beds put as one, and 1 small table. It's no luxury at all but good thing is it's air conditioned and with hot water.

No elevator... so get those legs ready to climb up. Breakfast is not included for dorm rooms. There was a pool but it's small. The staff were ok. Exterior of the hotel was very nice compared to the other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy_Rosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Driving up to the hotel, one should be suspicious of this hotel. The parking lot in front of the hotel is also a gas station. The lobby is cute, Javanese style. Hotel, the good news stops there. there is no elevator (three floors). They advertise free in-room Wi-Fi, but it didn't work in the room, in the lobby or anywhere on the premises. Breakfast is included, but it, too is not worth it. You have the choice between, continental, American or Filipino breakfast. Extra charge for brewed coffee and the service matches the food....horrible. At best this is a 2 star hotel, but is to be avoided.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDiamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laoag hotels

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I planned to tour Laoag and Vigan after our surgical mission in Apayao. As recommended by Trip Advisor members, I booked a deluxe room with a view of the paddy fields at the back. The reviews were not WRONG!

The thatched roof hotel is located behind a gasoline station, away from the city center and with a nearby convenience store. The front desk staffs were pleasant and very helpful.

Our room was clean and equipped with hotel amenities, namely, air conditioner, TV, refrigerator, cabinet, coffee with cream/sugar, and bathroom with hot/cold water - a LUXURY after 9 days in Apayao! Complimentary plated breakfast (American, Continental, or Filipino) and a cup of instant coffee is included with the booking, served at Java’s Eagle’s Nest restaurant. We ate dinner at the restaurant, offers a range of food, Ilocano cuisine, Japanese, etc. My only suggestion is to have 2 persons servings to the soup menu (i.e. sinigang na bangus, etc., currently it is set for 4 persons servings).

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PepenPilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here 2 years in a row on holiday and both stays have been wonderful. Absolutely clean rooms and fresh sheets. Breakfast were great. Staff were friendly and helpful! Xx Will be coming back again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VhelandChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

@

we been there only for a short stop but the room we booked ( junior suite ) was not really a suite room as expected from us . A size like a "normal" room but still Ok . The Minus point is the Room needs a renovation or at least a new paint job . You can see very clear that this wasn t done for very long already . The bathroom has a bath tube what is no longer needed this days . The modern traveler wants a shower ....and it could also be a bit cleaner ....

The restaurant was ok for dinner but for breakfast ( included ) was really pity ....no juice and the fruits they forget to serve ....no pls d ont get up ...better sleep a little bit longer .

The staff was very kind and helpful ...maybe except in the restaurant . There been to many and no work at all ...so just fooling around and forgetting the guests ....pinoy style ..:)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
1.4 mi away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
16.2 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
46.3 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
3.1 mi away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.7 mi away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#4 of 12 in Laoag
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Java Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Java Hotel

Property: Java Hotel
Address: Brgy # 55-B Salet | Gen. Segundo Avenue, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Java Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Java Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Java Hotel Laoag, Ilocos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing