We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Java Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
169 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Java Hotel, Laoag is well located. It is along the national highway that leads north to other interesting destinations north of Laoag. The architecture is interestingly Balinese and could have been a landmark except that its frontage is blocked by a gasoline station. But nevertheless, it is a good hotel with nice big rooms, veranda, tennis court and swimming pool. The room is clean and provided with hot and cold shower, spacious toilet and bath, very comfortable beds, good linens and towels, hot pot and complementary hot drinks The lobby with lanai and sitting room is open and breezy. The hotel and restaurant are simply decorated and yet elegant. Its restaurant has a good choice of filling breakfast. The service is very good both at the hotel and restaurant. Most of all it is reasonably priced. It is my choice of hotel in this part of the country.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back should have better view of the surrounding rice fields,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    106
    53
    9
    16
See reviews for
98
44
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I found the Balinese inspired architecture of the hotel very interesting.

Good value for money. The room we occupied was very spacious and had two full sized beds w so that the room can comfortably accommodate four people. (we were three in our room).
The balcony with 2 chairs and a table outside our room was an added bonus.

What I did not like about the hotel was that the free breakfast that came with our room was quite inflexible. One of us ordered corned beef which came with bread and coffee. When she requested if the bread could be replaced by rice instead, we were told that the rice would cost extra, I also read the same complaint in one of the reviews of the hotel so it seems that the hotel staff or owners do not read the reviews because this inflexibility is still a problem. The service also takes too long. When we had our dinner in the the hotel restaurant, it took more that 30 minutes for our orders to be served and it was only when one of us called the attention of the waiter, that our orders were served.

Also, as a senior citizen, I Am entitled to get 20% discount on the room rate and when the front desk clerk computed the discount, it was less than 20%. But I did not bother to argue my point

But value for money, the place is OK.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariloureyes2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The only drawbacks to this hotel is a petrol station right in front of it and a lorry park at the back. Both swimming pools were empty except for muddy rainwater. And wifi is only available in reception area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanstacey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Java hotel for 2 nights everything is good but i suggest that they be more accomodating to the vegetarian guest that they cater... we asked for an egg replacement in their continental breakfast but it was not approved according ro the waiter breakfast are fix and connot be inter changed :(... slippers are for sale... it should have been added to the room rates so that the hotel will have a 5 star feel... over all it wasfine but it could have been better :))

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeromeluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

It's my second time to stay in the hotel. No doubt the place is cool and the food was ok. Staff were polite except for one of the receptionists who was so slow in reconciling our bill. Had a body massage and I realized the one who attended to me was the same girl who gave me a lousy massage...grrrrrrr...she simply doesn't know where to concentrate....the guys at the concierge were great in packing our longanisa. Keep it up guys...

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gijane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed there last September 25 to 27, back again September 28, everything is great except some staff didn't put our longganisa inside their freezer. Before buying we even confirm if it's ok for us to leave our longganisa in their freezer, the guy's answer is there will be no problem. It was left outside overnight. They did'nt even bother to inform us that there were no more space inside their freezer. When we try to talk to their manager, they just answer he is not yet here because his duty time will be 10am of which we will not be around because our flight was early. How disappointing because uncooked food spoils easily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jens-trip888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here from sept 25-27, 2012. We were 2 families and occupied 2 rooms ( deluxe and junior suite). The deluxe room was very spacious with 2 double beds which could 4 or 5 at most, with extra mattress. The room was clean and the staff was very courteous and helpful.

However, the pool was not clean at the time we were there so the kids weren't able to swim. But since, when in Ilocos, hotel stays are actuallyjustplaces to sleep in because of the numerous places you can tour, we were alright with it.

Some comments for our room though:
1. The TV remote needs repair
2. The A/C needs some improvement...it was not as cool but since me and my mom didn't like the temp to be too cool, we didn't complain

Overall, it was a really good stay. I'd recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaiLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
16.2 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
46.3 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#6 of 12 in Laoag
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#8 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Java Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Java Hotel

Property: Java Hotel
Address: Brgy # 55-B Salet | Gen. Segundo Avenue, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Java Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Java Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Java Hotel Laoag, Ilocos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing