We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homiest Place to Stay in Laoag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Grande de Laoag Resort and Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homiest Place to Stay in Laoag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I'm usually very picky with the place I choose to stay in during vacations. Not necessarily grand, I'm more on comfort and quality service. Rio offered just that and even went over and beyond. The room we stayed in was clean, with a tub and hot shower, complete with towels and toiletries and a hotwater pot (that I'm sooo thankful about since I'm a coffee addict). The staff were so pleasant, very accommodating, took care of all our needs with genuine eagerness to serve. We never, even once during our two-day stay, felt neglected. Everything has a personal touch. The driver/tourguide made sure our tour would turn out unforgettable.The sweet lady who gave us a massage upon arrival soothed, not just our aching feet, but also our tired minds by her warm welcoming chat. The two ladies who served us both breakfast and dinner made each meal super special, the candle-lit dinner during day 2 being the best one. The meals were served in abundant servings and tasted Ilocano in all levels. And the owner herself, Ms. Gloria, who showed up the next morning, gave me a welcoming hug and personally checked that we had a great time in the hotel and the tour. Not one of the grandest, maybe, but staying in Rio sure will make you feel at home, away from home. We'll sure be coming back! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Fee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bacoor, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

All staffs are friendly even the owner, very accommodating. The foods in the hotel are so good. They will make sure you would have a great stay with them and will have an unforgettable adventure in Ilocos. God bless!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank switB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

During our check-in, katiwalas are not aware of the date change of our arrival. In short, rooms are not ready. The family room doesn't even have a shower curtain nor can you locked the front door. There's a deposit of P1000 per room that was another surprise. The breakfast was like a "military rationing" - was very matipid! I only saw the manager once when I was paying my balance.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianikeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riogrande_laoag, General Manager at Rio Grande de Laoag Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your sincere and honest review on your stay at Rio Grande Resort Hotel. I have checked with the housekeeping and front desk department about the issue on their non preparedness on your reserved room. Nonetheless, they reported that you requested for a different room/another room because you did not want the room prepared for you. And they even allowed you to choose which room you want. And it so happened that the room you wanted was not yet prepared because another guest just checked out from that room. On the issue of the breakfast, I was also informed that breakfast at that time was managed buffet set up, which means you can go back and get more food as many times as you want. On the case of the shower curtain, the bathroom of that particular room was actually designed with no shower curtain. And last but not the least, on the case of the P1,000. room deposit upon checked in was intended for breakage or extra food orders in the restaurant and unused amount is refundable upon check out. Nonetheless, we are always trying to be of good service to all our guests as much as we can. And we appreciate your efforts of reminding us on our shortcomings and for us to be better next time. Once again thank you and will see you again in your next visit in Ilocos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laoag hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the bad hotel I ever stay in my whole life. Food is not good and the staff and owner are not friendly. They only like what they want and they did not ask the side of the clients.

This is a warning to traveller, better not book to this hotel. If you want to enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: dont book to this hotel because its not nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Keith7883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We met the Rio Grande Resort's gracious owner, Tita Glo Caluya. Tita Glo, thank you very much for accommodating us, the laughters and the GOOD Food that you prepared will be remembered. Until our next visit :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselle_Interior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Food is great, services is superb, very humble owner, and She really wanted to please all her Guest! with Swimming pool for adult and Kids, Restaurant is OVER LOOKING the river which make this a MUST to VISIT in Laoag,The view from the Deck is PICTURE PERFECT
Room is ok,
everthing is ok except

1 NO WIFI
2.NO CABLE TV
3. TV is old school

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Me and my family availed the Ilocandia tour package which I saw in the website of Rio Grande Resort Hotel. We were 5, my husband and my 3 kids. We stayed in the Family room. The room was big enough for the 5 of us. They served us big breakfast everyday. The Pagudpud tour was unforgettable when we hiked to "kabigan" falls. We had lunch by the beach which was prepared by Rio Grande Resort which is part of the tour package. We had inihaw na fish, pinakbet which was the best, their Ilocos pansit guisado was perfect, you should try this, vegetable salad was just right for the meal. Staff of the resort were very friendly and helpful. The resort itself was clean, we'll maintained and the ambiance is a mix of Tagaytay and Baguio. You should visit Ilocos and stay in this resort. You will get your money's worth.

Room Tip: Rooms at the first floor is better specially if you have kids and senior citizen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
3.3 mi away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.4 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#6 of 12 in Laoag
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#8 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Grande de Laoag Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Grande de Laoag Resort and Hotel

Property: Rio Grande de Laoag Resort and Hotel
Address: Rizal Street | Brgy. Suyo, Laoag, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Grande de laoag Resort and Nature Park is an ideal jump-off point to the white sand beaches of Pagudpud and to the many heritage sights in Ilocos Norte and Vigan. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with hot and cold shower, with private balcony/terrace and all by the pool. It is also the City's new venue for convention, team-building seminars, and other similar events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rio Grande de Laoag Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Grande De Laoag Resort And Hotel Ilocos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing