We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but service needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Octagon Resort
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenient location but service needs improvement”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Overall, good value for the price. Rooms are nothing fancy and the shower only let out hot steaming water. However, the room, pool and public areas were clean. Greatly appreciated that they accepted pets. The food was ok. However, service needs work.

As stated above, only extremely hot water came out of the shower. We informed them regarding this and they checked it but nothing was fixed. They kept insisting that we booked only for 2 people -- from check-in, to using the pool, to the complimentary breakfast -- even though it was clearly stated in the booking form that the reservation was for 3. Breakfast was a nightmare. We were one of the first people to arrive for breakfast. The waiter took our order. But then returned 30 minutes later to take our order AGAIN. Take note that this was just a simple -silog meal. We patiently waited but nothing came. We finally gave up when all the other groups, even those who came much later than us, already finished their breakfasts and ours hadn't even arrived yet. We decided to just checkout and ask for a refund from the front desk. They refused to give us the refund. What ensued was a blaming rant and pointing fingers from the manager to her staff. This really spoiled an otherwise pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to bring your reservation confirmation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeismelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you iasp for sharing your experience with us.

I am constantly in contact with the manager and I am aware of what has transpired throughout your stay. I appreciate several concerns that you have pointed out.

a). Accommodation & Reservation, It was recorded on our booking system that it was ONLY TWO occupants for the room that was reserved for you and it was noted that there was more than TWO who stayed in your room.

b). Facilities, (Hot&Cold shower) I clearly understand that this was only reported on your check out day. We would have appreciated if this was raised right at the very first hours or your stay. (Pool) Usage of the pool is free for the allocated guest, however additional friends and family will be charged as it is clearly stated in our House Rules provided in every room.

c). Breakfast, It happened that the resort was fully booked. I hear you that you "were one of the people" who arrived for breakfast. I was told that our staff was not aware that you were there until you called their attention. I was also told that the manager came to speak to you and eventually had and ate your breakfast.

d). Refunds, unfortunately WE cannot justify to give a refund after which most request was accommodated since the start of your stay.

I understand clearly that you are unhappy and I appreciate that you have vented your frustration despite we have tried to exhaust to accommodate most of your request.

Grand Octagon and its team is very genuine in providing a pleasant stay to our guest.

Thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
6
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We checked in here along with my officemates as we have a convention in Laoag last August 2013. The room is ok, it's equipped with the things that you just need for a night stay. The water in the faucet has a funky smell, I recommend that you buy a liter of water outside for your dental hygiene. I do like their garden though but you should apply mosquito repellant during the afternoon. The price is just right for the service and amenities that you'll get. They have a dily supply of newspaper which is great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
MyGillian, thank you for your time and getting back to us since your last stay which was August 2013.

We are pleased to hear about your experience that it was "OK" and enjoyed the sprawling garden of the resort.

The water from the tap/faucet, we are not aware of this. However, we are going to immediately check and monitor our water system. Please accept our apologies. We would be most grateful if this was said earlier during your stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed our daily Newspaper as well!

We are hoping to welcome you back and to be recommended to your friends, family and business partners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I booked our stay through Asiatravel.com. It was an overnight stay for April 16. When we arrived at around 9PM, the reception was surprised to see our party of 19pax. He said that we were booked for the previous day. I don't know who made the mistake, either Asiatravel or their reception. It was good that they have the rooms available. We reserved for 4 dorm rooms. They still have to prepare the rooms. When the rooms were opened for us, the bunkbeds don't have ladders to the upper bed. It took them so long to look for the missing ladders and when they finally came, there were cracks on the steps. The ladders may break anytime...very dangerous. If they were expecting us the day before, the rooms should have been prepared already. The room is very basic, which we were expecting but our room stinks. Aircon is cold enough though. The food served in their restaurant is good but took so long to prepare. I would still recommend this hotel to my friends if only to stay for the night. Their room rate is cheap and includes breakfast.

Room Tip: If booking through a third party site, better call the hotel to confirm too just to make sure they g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syimeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you Syimeem for taking your time in giving us your feedback.

I hear your concerns clearly that there was a confusion with your booking. The agent and our team at Grand Octagon would like to apologise for this. We are currently investigating and dealing this matter. Both parties aim to provide a smooth service delivery to our customers. This will not happen again.

Since it was the peak season and the demand of rooms were highly needed, some amenities was broken. The tap/faucet needed to be fixed ASAP. The ladders provided, was unacceptable. All of these faults was caused by the customer that just left the room. However, this was an unacceptable standard of service. We greatly apologise for these.

Apart from all of these inconveniences that you have expressed, I am glad that you enjoyed the cooked breakfast despite the wait. Also, thank you for recommending the place to your friends and family.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Grand Octagon with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Actually its not what I expected, but I am happy for choosing this hotel to stay for 2 nights and 3 days...

Thanks to Ms. Jean for patiently answering and giving me advices during the time I was preparing everything for our stay. They also arrange our tour in laoag and pagupud.

The thing we like the most during our stay In the hotel was the quiet and peaceful surrounding for us to have a really goodnight sleep.

Down side... no ilocos VINEGAR during our breakfast... :-(

Thanks again for the hassle free stay in LAOAG!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your time to share your experience Jane A.

Am glad that you had a restful night which we continue to aim and maintain to deliver to our customers.

My apologies for a disappointment for not providing the ILOCOS Vinegar with your breakfast, this should have not happened. And thank you for flagging this up.

Ms Jean and our team, is always happy to help and to give the best advise for your Ilocos experience. Looking forward to your next booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

To start the year with family time we decided to have a tour of luzon on the 1st day of January visiting friends and relatives along the way. Upon reaching Laoag,we decided to stay in Grand Octagon with 9 adults and 2 kids. We were given the family suite and much as to compare with the cozy place you'll find in any beach resort. The room was big enough to accomodate the whole family and should i say food was even great served veggies at its best not to mention the "LABANOS" (rabanos in ilokano) sprout and KATURAY prepared. Though you wont find a typical resto with high class fine dine-in ambiance but you'll surely love the fresh air while having your meal. Staff service was A-ok with the owner on the frontline for some chit chat. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for those family bonding time, married couple, barkadas, and business purposes travelling up north.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robustus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your review Robustus D.

I am so pleased that you have chosen Grand Octagon Resort to spend your "Family Time".
In addition, I am happy that that you were comfortable and cozy with the room that you stayed in. We aim to provide the food (Local Vegetable) that you desired at the restaurant when given enough time specially if it is not in the menu - glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends, family and to other businesses.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,571 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,276 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Due to a change in our Cebu Pacific flight to a late flight from Manila we decided to spend a night in Laoag before heading off to Vigan. Used the airport pickup service offered by the hotel for 300 Php which was reliable.

We stayed in the hotel matrimonial room. Room was small and very basic. Very rustic style Accomodation. No toiletries supplied. Breakfast included is also very basic and appeared to have been prepared the night before. Located across the road from the local hospital and very near town. There are better options around.

Does have well maintained gardens and a pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review tommomelbourne.

First of all, I am delighted for you to have chosen our resort and thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience with us.

Apologies if toiletries were not supplied as you and I have expected. I have been constantly supervising this particular area of our service and this should have not happened-again and this will be addressed accordingly. Food, apologies if it did not look freshly prepared.

Thank you for giving us a well deserved score in cleanliness and service and we strive to give our best.

We hope to welcome you again and recommend us to your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Check in is fast and ok, we opted to take lunch at their restaurant as soon as we arrived but the food they have is almost no stock at all, we waited for atleast an hour to get it served and settled on what is available. The next time we just went outside and find other nearby restaurants nearby this hotel. Bfast is included in the room rate so we took our bfast in the hotel, not very appealing though. Room is fine but no toiletries, no soap no napkins. We stayed 3 days and our room were never cleaned up, a bit disappointing. I am a travel agent, i didnt bother to ask, i just observed and see what they have so i know if i will recommend this hotel to our future clients. Oh one more thing, we wanted to take a city tour so i called up the front desk, we were being charged 2k for the car, 500 hundred for the driver, and additional for the gasoline, i declined. I called up another hotel and availed the same service, we were charged only 2thousand for the entire thing. Good i was able to check and visit the other hotel to avail this service.

Room Tip: to enjoy dining, try to visit nearby hotel (northview hotel) or at the city ( la preciosa) , they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience at Grand Octagon resort.

I would like to apologise for the service that you have experienced in ordering your food. We aim to provide a selection of food available for guest to enjoy. The unavailability of stocks is being investigated, and we do not want this to happen again. Food that we serve at the resort are fresh and we aim to convey it with lustre of taste despite the long wait.

I hear you that your room was not attended as you have expected. Our staff does not enter rooms occupied unless we are instructed to do so. The lack of toiletries should have not happened, as we could have provided this service promptly. However, we would have appreciated if you have communicated to our Front Office staff of your dissatisfaction in your room stay for the 1st day if not the 2nd day.

For the City tour that you have pointed out, please accept our apologies as we aim to have a very competitive price and service.

To sum it up, we aim to provide a good service. Your comments will help to develop and improve on our services. We hope to welcome you back with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
3.1 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
1.8 mi away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
3.4 mi away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#4 of 12 in Laoag
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#8 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Octagon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Octagon Resort

Property: Grand Octagon Resort
Address: Along Airport Avenue | Barangay 50, Buttong, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Octagon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Grand Octagon Resort as an invigorating place to retreat from the chaotic city. Walk around the lush tropical gardens, camp on the well-manicured lawns, cement beautiful relationships at the cottage by the pool, appreciate the beauty of greenfields at the sentry like cottages built on century old trees and reflect on how greatly blessed you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Grand Octagon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Octagon Hotel Laoag
Grand Octagon Resort Laoag, Ilocos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing